Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WPB FL

Not really a place you would want to stay

Posted Nov 13, 2015
This is not reallly a hotel ... or even motel... it is more of like barracks. Compared to other local hotels ... this place was not worth the money. If you want to be secluded from everything and have everything awkwardly quite... then this is the place for you
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Columbia,SC

Weekend trip to mountains

Posted Oct 27, 2015
Pros: the outside amenities of the lake and grounds was very nice with plenty of activities if you could stay there awhile.
Cons: Better signage on check in. Updating Lakeside Lodge with better heating equipment and modernizing the TV and décor there.
Location: Close to Maggie valley and Blue Ridge Parkway. Lake Junaluska is there and beautiful as well as fun golf course close by.
Very difficult to figure out where to check in. Poor girl at check in was obviously haggled. room number was missing. room was musty and heater was noisy and did not work.We stayed at Lakeside Lodge which is a noisy motel like facility on campus. It was cheap for a busy weekend night. However I recommend if staying here choose another facility in the complex either the Inn or Terrace.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 27, 2015
Great campus. Room was small but did not spend much time there
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Very nice hotel, great view of the Lake

Posted Oct 27, 2015
Pros: Very spiritual
Cons: N/A
Location: Very close to Maggieville, Waynsville, Cherokee and the Great Smokey Mountains State Park, the Blue Ridge Prkwy. Great shopping, and dining. Fun all a
We had a very nice time at Lake Junaluska. very nice surroundings. Made us feel even closer to God than we feel we already are.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel overlooking lake

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Our North Carolina Better Marrriages Organization is planning the NC state conference/retreat for couples at Lake Junalaska--first weekend in April. What a wonderful setting! Lovely linens, quality mattress in a super clean spacious comfortable room. The surroundings are lovely with a four mile paved walk around the lake. Lots to do in this lovely mountain area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from florida

Very good and nice place

Posted Dec 30, 2014
There is very nice hotel for family trip. Our family just stoped by that place without expectation. But we found very good place for family resting.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

2014 The Room had a broken 19inch old square TV.

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: Price and plenty of towels.
Cons: The need to buy new furniture and update the room.
The room is OLD. Concrete block walls and furniture from the 1970's. The TV was an old square 19 inch TV that was not plugged up. There was no remote and the buttons to change the TV were broken, so we could only watch the Weather Channel. The room was fairly clean with newer carpet, but there were dust bunnies on the sink in the bathroom. For a total change, they had SIX bath towels for a room that slept 4. Check in was not in the building, we had to go to the nice hotel to get the old keys to the room and then drive back to the building. The shower head was so low it was at my chin, and I am only 5'10" tall.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

heat would be a good idea

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: I did not like the feel of the place or the fact that the heat didn't work and was told that the heat doesn't come on until its 40 degrees outside.
The heat didn't work and the staff seemed helpless at the mercy of a mantenance crew that was nonexistant. This is a christian based community and training / conference center so its rather austier and geared toward conferences and training not resort or busness traveler, which is certainly ok, but just sort of weird.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Surprised

Posted Oct 27, 2014
I did not realize this was a religious campus. That wasn't a problem I just didn't expect it from the Expedia website. Sort of felt like years ago at church camp.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location!

Posted Sep 22, 2014
When we got to the "campus" the building with the address on the reservation was empty, locked. We called one phone number on the reservation could get no human response. After several tries, found out our reservation was at the Terrace Hotel. A name that appeared nowhere on the reservation. The address was different than what we had. The room we got was minimal, small, exposed plumbing, no fridge, micro-wave, or hair dryer. Another $20 if we wanted breakfast. The bed was comfortable, towels nice. The view from the room was incredibly beautiful!! What a fantastic setting! Two of our four window panes were clouded, which cut down on our enjoyment of the great location.