Ratings based on 1,999 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisville

Great find!

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Cons: Don't advertise that you have board games when you have little to none at all (Explorer restaurant).
Rooms were well heated and the staff was friendly. The Explorers lounge was awesome! Best steak sandwich I have had in a while! I also recommend the poutine (unreal!). The 3 hot tubs were set to different temperatures which was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2018 by Scott - Assistant Front Office Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Curt, Thanks for the feedback on your recent stay with us. We're glad you had an enjoyable time here and found good value in your stay. We do have a variety of board games down in Explorer's as well as here at the Front Desk so I apologize this wasn't relayed to you. We appreciate your review and we hope we can welcome you back for another stay in the near future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No elevator

Posted Jan 7, 2018
We had to pay 8 dollars extra per room because it is supposed to be a resort. The main building was nice, but the buildings where the rooms were located did not have elevators. For elderly people carrying suitcases it is terrible. Our rooms were old looking and to go to the pool you have to walk through the snow. I was embarrassed with the guests that were traveling with me.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from alberta, on

Very basic and dated

Posted Jan 6, 2018
We were really looking forward to staying here after reading reviews and seeing photos, however were a bit disappointed once we got here. The rooms were clean, however they were very dated and not upkept. The washroom was very outdated and smelled of urine constantly. The tiles on the floor were cracked and shifted, and the wallpaper was peeling off the wall. Our shower drain was quite slow so the tub was filling during our showers. Overall, we just felt that the inn did not live up to the expectation we had.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2018 by Scott - Assistant Front Office Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, We're very sorry to hear that your recent visit did not meet the expectations you had when you reserved with us. We truly apologize that the room you were assigned at check-in was in that condition for your stay. That is far from the standard we strive to provide here and we will certainly be following up with our housekeeping and maintenance departments and address this right away. Had we of known, we certainly would've done everything possible to find you a suitable and comfortable alternative for the rest of the stay. We truly appreciate you bringing this to our attention as we use feedback like this to follow up and improve our operations as a whole moving forward. Thanks for taking the time to provide a review and I hope you'll reconsider staying with us next time you're visiting the area. We'd love another opportunity to showcase what an enjoyable overnight visit we can provide.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Lake Louise Inn

Posted Jan 4, 2018
A great location - very close to Lake Louise but you would need to drive. 5 mins from the ski fields. Hotel room was small and very basic amenities. We loved the variety of games available at Explorer's Lounge for dinner.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2018 by Scott - Assistant Front Office Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Anh, Thanks for the positive review on your recent overnight visit. We're happy the central location helped you take advantage of the slopes nearby and you were able to utilize the games for some nighttime fun in Explorer's. We appreciate your comments and we hope you'll consider staying with us again next time you're skiing in the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Basic accommodations. Nothing fancy. Dated.

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Well used, due for a makeover. Thin walls.Close to everything. Good parking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2018 by Scott - Assistant Front Office Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Scott, Thanks for the feedback on the recent visit at our hotel. We certainly are an older hotel, however we are doing our best to constantly update and improve our property. We appreciate comments like this as it helps us improve our operations as a whole moving forward. Thanks for your time and we hope you'll consider staying with us again next time you're visiting Lake Louise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from salisbury

The stay was fantastic,

Posted Jan 1, 2018
Please read part of email I sent you on 22/12/17 Dear Sir/Madam I feel compelled to complain about the treatment we received on arriving at Calgary for the start of our once in a life time Christmas trip to Canada. After a very long trip across the seas we arrived in Calgary ready to collect our luggage. The flights though long were very well organised and we had developed great faith in the air crew. Thank you. After almost 24 hours of travel and a huge time zone change we needed to collect our car rental and make the last two hour trip to our destination. We had made contact before to check that the car was suitable for the weather. We come from an almost snow free part of the UK and relied heavily on your expertise in sorting that for us this end without any nasty hidden costs were were not aware of. We headed off to Budget to collect our car hire tired but so relieved that the end of the journey was almost within touching distance. The receptionist at Budget was not helpful. She told us that the car we had been allocated was now not suitable but the needed upgrade would cost us a further 1000 cad, I went for an in between option which still cost an extra 440 cad inclusive of other costs ie driver and passenger cover (would have thought this was a standard incl’ cover).This was not something we could afford. At the end of an exhausting journey we felt vulnerable and not very welcomed. This was our introduction to Canada and it was not very pleasant. Not complete
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2018 by Scott - Assistant Front Office Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Nigel, Thanks for the 5 star review on your recent stay with us. We're certainly sorry to hear about the rough start of the trip but happy to hear that once you arrived everything was as expected and more. We appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback and we hope you'll stay with us again next time you're visiting the area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Disappointing

Posted Dec 30, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Lighting, heat, locks
Location: ski, ski, ski
1st night we checked in our heat was not working it was minus 20 F. They changed us to another room and gave us a gift card. New room same layout as previous room. Small for 2 double beds. Lighting almost nonexistent. Bathroom updated but very small. Last night there we returned to find our keys didn't work. Lock was broken. Maintenance man called and fixed issue. Again minus 20 F out. Workers nice but will try somewhere else next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2018 by Scott - Assistant Front Office Manager , Hotel Management
Dear JT, We're very sorry to hear that your recent stay with us left a disappointing impression. We certainly apologize for the issues experienced in the room. What you experienced is definitely far from the norm here but we will look into it and do our very best to correct these mishaps for our future guests. We truly appreciate your feedback and we hope you'll consider us again next time you're in the area as we'd love another opportunity to showcase what a comfortable stay we can provide. Thanks so much for your time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome service!

Posted Dec 29, 2017
The service was excellent And it was a beautiful place!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 1, 2018 by Scott - Assistant Front Office Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thanks for the great feedback on our hotel and the service provided! We truly appreciate the review and we hope you'll join us for another visit next time you're travelling in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Nice hotel, close to all attractions

Posted Dec 27, 2017
Great aesthetics of the hotel. Nice, competent staff. Room got cold overnight - no heater in bedroom.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2017 by Scott - Assistant Front Office Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Chris, Thanks for the feedback on the recent visit at our hotel. We appreciate the positive review, however we certainly apologize for the heat issues experienced in the room. We do have heating throughout the hotel as well as space heaters for some extra warmth, we will be sure to follow up with our maintenance team about this. Thanks for your time and we hope you'll join us for another visit next time you're in the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 25, 2017
It is comfortable but a liitle expendsive which can be related to the location! However not having a fridge is kind of disappointing!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 25, 2017 by Scott - Assistant Front Office Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent visit. We're glad you had a comfortable stay in our standard room type. We do have a few different room type options, some that are equipped with mini fridges and kitchenettes so we might recommend an alternative for the next visit. We appreciate your review and hope you'll stay with us again next time you're in the area.