Ratings based on 600 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good inexpensive hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Hotel was inexpensive. I stayed in the single person room and it was nice. Breakfast could have had hot food but it was ok
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Very impressed

Posted Feb 22, 2017
This hotel was easy to get to - a short walk from the train station, in a beautiful cobblestone square in the Altstadt. Room was spotlessly clean, comfortable and well laid out. Breakfast available from 7 - 10:30am (11 on weekends), fresh and good selection. Staff were all genuinely friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WA, Australia

Good value for Lucerne's Old Town

Posted Jan 17, 2017
After doing a bit of research, we chose to stay at this hotel for two main reasons: 1) location and 2) value for money. Based on these two criteria, Hotel Krone met the mark and did not disappoint at all. The location of this hotel is one of its biggest plusses - perfectly situated in Old Town with plenty of restaurants / cafes / shops nearby. Rooms were small (to be expected) but very well-equipped considering it is only a 3-star hotel. Breakfasts were fine and staff were friendly. If you are looking for absolute peace and quiet, then this may not be the right hotel for you as we could hear doors slamming in the floor above us and noises from the breakfast room downstairs whilst in our rooms. However, if you are simply looking for a comfortable, well-equipped hotel in the middle of Old Town at a good price (for Lucerne), then you can't really get much better than Hotel Krone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Turin, Italy

Incredible hotel in awesome location

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Pros: Location, design, room size, cleanliness
A great hotel located in a quiet square in the old town. Walkable to anything. Large, modern and clean rooms. Great beds and a huge tv.
5 out of 5
by Carol

Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic location and beautiful, comfortable room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Nice hotel, centrally located

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pros: Great location, helpful and courteous staff. Breakfast (cold) and Wi-fi included in price. The breakfast had a decent selection.
Location: Centrally located in the historic part of Lucerne, less than half mile from the railway station.
Great hotel, centrally located in the historic part of Lucerne. Less than half a mile from from railway station, and close to attractions and restaurants. The room was nice and clean, and we received great service from the hotel staff. The only surprise was a $3.60 /day/ person service charge that we were not aware of at the time of booking. Irregardless, we will stay at this hotel again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel and friendly staff

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly staff and convenient location. Free silver pendant for all lady guests too! Nice gesture!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
Out of all the hotels I stayed in while traveling in Switzerland, the bed at this hotel was the best! We stayed in the triple room which was clean and modern. It was spacious and we actually had plenty of room to move around even with our luggages on the floor. There were USB outlets which was convenient. I didn't like the shower too much as there was no door or tub and I kept worrying about water leaking to the floor if I wasn't careful. It also felt a bit claustrophobic. Other than that, it was peaceful, no crazy loud noises and soundproof walls. The location is wonderful and the hotel is located right in front of a fountain, making it not too hard to find with the help of google maps. It's also not too far from their metro, so shopping for water and bringing it back home wasn't an arduous journey. It also helps that the scenery and views of the city are so gorgeous walking back to the hotel. My only complaint about this hotel was the breakfast. The dining area is small, which is fine when it is not packed. It seems like they only have one lady who takes care of everything, so once it gets busy, she tends to forget your coffee and she's not that friendly anymore. Then there is the matter of food. You get the basics which is more than enough to start your morning. However, all was fine until I lifted up one of the cheese slices and saw fruit flies in them. Not just one, but A LOT, flying around. Needless to say, I only ate the excellent croissant and boiled egg.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Staff is friendly. Location is a bit far away from station but with walkable distance
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In the heart of a beautiful city!

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
Very comfortable hotel, excellent breakfast, and great location. We used the trains during our stay and train station was walking distance even with luggage.