Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel with nice restaurant and bar

Posted Apr 25, 2017
The hotel was authentic and nice. There was a direct cable car which brings you from the bottom of the hill. They had Michelin stared restaurant and a very great bar.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2017 by ART DECO HOTEL MONTANA, Hotel Management
Thank you so much, dear guest!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Europe

Nice hotel but a little out of the way

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Bar, cable car to street level from hill
Cons: Front desk staff - add more
Location: A little far - you have to walk into town for most things.
The hotel is definitely accommodating but just isn't in the heart of Luzern. Since Luzern is so cold so much of the time, the walk can sometimes be daunting. They are located on top of a hill but provide a cable car down to street level which was great and we took advantage of all the time. The front desk was helpful depending on who was working. The bar was great and actually a spot frequented by locals, which was super nice to have so close. Didn't try the restaurant but it seemed nice/fancy. Rooms do not come with conditioner!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
Just wish I stayed on "lake view" side. Utterly spectacular view and well worth the add'l cost
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel and view...but beware of parking

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
The room and view was awesome and the bar downstairs had a live band which was awesome. The restaurant was expensive but the food was delicious. A downside is parking!!! The garage had only 6 spaces for parking and when I got to the garage, they were all full even though they told me they had a spot reserved for me. I ended up parking in the street in front of the hotel (where numerous other cars were parked) and got up the next morning to a parking ticket. So word to the wise, let the hotel park your car no matter what the cost as the ticket was a lot more than the cost of parking ($25). Also, you have to buy a window sticker to drive in Switzerland (which I didn't know) so the parking ticket also cost me the fine for not having a window sticker. It was a very expensive overnight stay with the fines on top of the hotel room and dinner.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Hotels
Lucerne opens its arms to you, the staff of Hotel Montana couldn't have been more accommodating . From the reception desk to room attendant one feels very welcome. It would be a pleasure to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from melbourne Australia

Lovely Hotel

Posted Sep 29, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Lovely older style hotel updated with modern facilities. Room was very comfortable and spacious and overlooked the lake.
Cons: We found the bedding too warm but otherwise comfortable
Location: Great location, easy walk along the lake side to centre of old town and to the transport museum which my wife and I both enjoyed.
Stayed 3 nights. Very comfortable although no aircon, Could however safely leave balcony door open at night. Dining on the balcony was very enjoyable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Will Stay Again

Posted Sep 28, 2016
It was the perfect location with an excellent chef and staff. View was beautiful. Restful and peaceful. I will come see them again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 23, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lucerne Vacation

Posted Sep 23, 2016 on Hotels
Had a wonderful time in Luzerne Beautiful city!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel with view of Lucerne

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: View, food, tram car to street below.
Hotel room was excellent with stunning view over Lucerne and Mount Pilatus. A distance from the hustle and bustle of the city but within a pleasant walk of the old town. Lovely views from the restaurant and breakfast room. Breakfast buffer was excellent.