Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Old World Charm.., but the Service stumbled.

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros: Location & View (after the first night).
Cons: The Parking situation should be explained better at booking time.
Location: Walk along the Reuss River, Chapel Bridge, ride gondola up Mt. Pilatus, cogwheel train down, boat cruise back.
GOOD: Location was GREAT. Just walk out into Old Town & explore. Free Bus Pass provided too. Restaurant was good. Staff was friendly. BAD: 1. Hotel is in a "Restricted to Pedestrians Zone". If you're in a taxi, no problem. BUT... Check-In/Out is a nightmare if you have a CAR, as there is NO onsite Parking. We parked a few blocks away & walked our luggage over. Found out afterwards that although you can't PARK onsite - you CAN drop off your luggage. The staff should have mentioned THAT when we called about where to park! 2. Our first night they put us in a Single room by mistake, which was cramped. We asked to move the next morning & they upgraded us (for a fee) to a larger room with a nice river view. Since I paid for a double both nights, they should have "comped" the upgrade. Bottom Line: If you don't have a car, I'd recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, Florida

Great Hotel - Great Location

Posted May 5, 2017
This was a great choice for us. Hotel was beautiful, staff were all very helpful, and location was awesome right on the river overlooking the old town wooden bridge. I highly recommend Hotel Des Alpes!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Beautiful Lake View Hotel

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: The view and location were unbeatable!
Location: Located right along the lake and very close to several restaurants, a gelato shop, some local stores, and a Starbucks.
We had an amazing lake view room with a balcony overlooking the covered bridge with the mountains in the background. Very convenient location to little cafes, restaurants and shops, and just a 5-7 minute walk to the Lucerne train station. We were pleasantly surprised that breakfast was included and they had a delicious buffet each morning. The staff was very helpful and pleasant as well. The room was very nice and had all the basic amenities. The only minor issues were the hair dryer in the bathroom didn't seem to work, and the shower stall was very tiny though that is pretty typical throughout Europe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small room and shower

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Helpful staff and nice breakfast, convenient location near bridges and train station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lai

The room is excellent, with the view to the river!

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Staffs are very friendly and helpful, room is clean and tidy, equipment is in good condition.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent option

Posted Jan 31, 2017 on Hotels
We loved our 2nd floor balcony room! The room and bathroom were small but clean and well decorated. We had a tiny little balcony to sit and enjoy the wonderful view, which was well worth the extra price. Reception was always friendly and helpful. The location is ideal and can't be beat. We would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel spoilt by the service

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
Great location and amazing views, spoilt only by the 'eviction' process from a horrible receptionist Guilia
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Hotels
Fantastic location and the hotel was great. We stayed one night and had the river view room. It was fab. The breakfast was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely staff and great views

Posted Dec 5, 2016
We stayed here for two nights and were given a free upgrade to a river view room with balcony. The views were fantastic! The room itself was fine, no frills but clean and comfortable; it had everything we needed. The location was great and was made this hotel such a great choice. Overall it is great value for money, for the location and views alone. Staff were also really friendly and helpful and breakfast was nice.