Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Overall very good.

Posted Oct 19, 2007
Breakfast a little disappointing, food not replaced in later periods, leaving little choice, and hot food dried out
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

A Business and Group Travel Hotel

Posted Sep 7, 2007
Perfectly good food, comfort and location, but as a family we felt almost ignored as the hotel went about its business of handling business conventions and large travel groups (who got thir own, better, dining room!) If you're going as part of one of those groups, it's fine, but if it's a private visit or a holiday, you can do better.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Not worth the money spent!

Posted Aug 29, 2007
The hotel room was very mediocre, and was not at all worth the money I had spent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, OH

Great place in a great city

Posted Aug 12, 2007
We requested a room with a balcony and had no problem getting it. There was no air conditioning, but even in mid July, it wasn't that bad. They brought up a fan right after we requested it. It's nice to open the window and the balcony and get some cool lake air moving in. This hotel was actually a four star in Switzerland, not a three like Expedia says. The breakfast was plentiful, and the staff was helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

great location

Posted Jul 25, 2007
We stayed at this hotel as it was a little further away from the old city which lent to a quieter stay at night. It is easily accessible by a romantic walk by the lake - maybe 10 min from the east side of the old city. Room and view were great (we had a balcony overlooking the lake). Checking in and out was incredible easy and fast. The only complaint we had is generalized to most of Switzerland - they just don't use screens. As we were visiting during a unusually hot spell, there was no air conditioning and no way to open the windows due to the lack of screen - however, the occupants before us choose to open the windows anyway and we arrived to a room with about 20-30 mosquitos. I was never so happy to see a spider in my room. Overall the price was excellent for our experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from South East England

Well worth a visit if you don't need the town on your doorstep

Posted Jun 8, 2007
Stayed May 2007, double room on first floor facing lake. I was looking for a quieter location out of the town which this fulfilled admirably. Occasional traffic noise from road outside but not excessive. Only downside of room at front was that it gets the sun in afternoon, which with no aircon means room gets a bit warm/stuffy if you don't return until the evening. Room appeared recently decorated and generally hotel appeared in good order. About 20-25 min walk to town, but very pleasant stroll alongside lake, or 5-10 min on frequent bus which stops virtually outside. Didn't have dinner in hotel so can't comment on that, but breakfast if not outstanding was perfectly adequate. Large proportion of other guests were tour groups of varying nationalities but personally I've got no problem with that as I don't really go to places to spend time in the hotel itself. (Not that I had the problem, but it does mean that if you get noisy neighbours in the room next door, they tend to be only there for one night!) This is the third different hotel I've used in Lucerne over the last few years and definately the best to date. I would certainly use it again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Fantastic Views

Posted Jun 5, 2007
This is a very nice hotel, except that the older parts of the building have no air conditioning (if you are lucky, they may be able to furnish a fan). Try to get a room on the lake side with a balcony (but this may put you in the non-air-conditioned area); the view is fantastic! Breakfast was good, but sometimes crowded with group tours. Easy bus transportation to and from the railroad station and center of town (bus 6 or 8); they stop within a half block of the hotel, and they run about every 5 minutes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

We had a lovely time would stay there again if we went back

Posted May 18, 2007
The hotel,rooms and breakfast were excellent
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Harry Singh from London

Nice Hotel, so so food !!!

Posted May 13, 2007
Hotel was impressive, food in hotel was poor. Room was nice, no aircon but what a view !!! would definately love to stay again just for the view. Breakfast was nothing special, dinner al a carte menu was terrible!! excellent location for town centre and transport. All in all, not tooo bad !!!!
3 out of 5
by Pavel from Switzerland

Very expensive, service moderate

Posted May 9, 2007
Service was not what could be expected for that price. Room was not very clean.