Ratings based on 315 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Lovely hotel, great location.

Posted Dec 27, 2015
Lovely hotel in a great location. Nice view from room over Lake Lucerne. Good Wifi. Staff courteous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from The Woodlands, Texas

Most beautiful spot on Lake Lucerne

Posted Dec 26, 2015
Pros: The rooms were beautifully decorated, roomy balcony to enjoy the lake with all of the people watching you want, Quite, great resturant and great staf
Cons: Nothing
Location: Just a short walk to the train, lots of shopping, the famous bridge, and a great Chinese Restruant right across the street
The staff at the hotel began to fix our trip the day we were to arrive as our flight from Houston was cancelled causing us to miss our connection in Boston and arrive a day late in Zurich. The hotel took great care when I called and we arrived to a truely beautiful lake front room with snow covered mountains, the beautiful lake, large swans swimming and the people of Lucerne busy along the lake, snow and started our vacation with the help of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cardiff UK

Excellent Hotel on the shore of lake Lucerne

Posted Dec 16, 2015
Pros: The whole thing
Cons: The bed was perhaps a bit hard
Location: Inner city location with lake facilities on hand
A short (6 day) stay in a very lovely city the hotel was on the shore of the lake. we enjoyed it very much
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 16, 2015
Clean, very elegant, gorgeous room, great location, quiet, very helpful staff. Had a wonderful stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 5, 2015
Nice Hotel with luxurious spacious rooms and great lake view Walking distance from the train station (7 Min.)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel , quite and close to the lake .

Posted Dec 3, 2015
It was wonderful stay at the hotel, so close from everything , like old town .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Posted Nov 22, 2015
Well maintained hotel with friendly, helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey, USA

Stunning view to enjoy.

Posted Nov 16, 2015
Upgraded to a junior suite with lake view with two balconies from booking mistake at hotel. Three slept in this room with twin bed at end of main bed still exceptional space. Nice walk from train station and to town. Bar atmosphere was inviting with lovely food. Didn't visit actual restaurant. Pillows were extra soft was only sadness.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Monika from Zurich

Romantischer Aufenthalt am See

Posted Nov 13, 2015 on Hotels
Sehr schönes klassisch eingerichtetes Hotel direkt an der Seepromenade mit Aussicht auf den Pilatus
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta,Ga.

Beautiful setting,Great Hotel

Posted Nov 5, 2015
Pros: Everything was excellent except for the horrible service, food and outrageous charge of 70 Euros for THE WORST BREAKFAST of our two and a half weeks
Cons: The prices were not posted on the breakfast menu we were given ! It was the worst experience in food service in our 2 1/2 weeks in Europe!
Location: Great location great hotel,centrally located ! Tons of things to do ! But go to Hotel Montana nearby for the best dining experience we had !
We were greeted as we checked in by fabulous front office crew! So professional and polished. Great concierge service ! The hotel is truly lavishly restored in a beautiful picture post card setting! Our balcony over beautiful Lake Lucerne was more than we expected ! We loved the accommodations and the staff of the hotel was wonderful! We waited for our room to be ready by having lunch on the outdoor patio area that is served by Cafe Cesar. The food was reasonably priced,delicious and fresh! Drinks were served with lunch and the proprietor was very nice! We relaxed ,enjoyed the sun and people,- watched until our room was ready! We loved everything about our 3 night 4 day stay at Grand Hotel National,except for our breakfast on Sunday, 25.10.2015 ! We did not want to participate in Sunday Brunch Buffet so at 9:45am we entered the Restaurant 1871 three employees were present setting up tables for the Sunday Brunch and basically ignored us! No one greeted us....just kept on setting tables ! My husband asked very politely if we could be seated for breakfast and received a shrug of the shoulder from a dark haired woman who seemed to be on charge! One of the three approached our table and took our order for Two eggs, over easy,sausage and croissant s and my husband ordered French Toast and coffee. WE waited over 25 min. For 1 egg cooked hard 2 sausages and 2 pancakes nothing else and were charged to our room. At check out 2 days later we were told our bk'fast chg was 70.00 euros!