Ratings based on 368 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth West Australia

Luxury

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: The location was ideal. Room's outstanding. Decor was impressive. Staff very friendly. Close to the lion monument which is a must see for tourists.
Cons: The only thing I think could be improved is the mattress. It was very hard for my taste but it's only my opinion.
This hotel is in an excellent location. On the banks of the Lucerne river. The decor is so beautiful and the rooms are very spacious. If you can afford it book the rooms on the river side. The views are magnificent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful hotel but quite noisy

Posted Dec 28, 2016
The hotel is centrally located and within a short walking distance from the train station. The inside of the hotel is beautiful, very nicely decorated for Christmas and with a great swimming pool and sauna. The room was clean and quite spacious and we were provided with nice toiletries, bathrobes and slippers. On arrival we found a bowl of fruits on our table and throughout our stay we were given chocolates which was a nice touch. When I made the booking I asked for a quite room but unfortunately was given a very noisy one. The window was facing the main road and was located right opposite a nightclub which stayed open until 5am. The person at the reception offered to give us a different room the following day. That was sightly better as no music could be heard from the nightclub but it was still facing the main road so I was disturbed by the traffic noise. I also felt quite cold at night as the the central heating is controlled by the hotel. The person at the reception provided 2 electric heaters which was great but the room felt a bit cluttered and certainly not something I would expect to experience in a 5 star hotel. Overall, this is a great hotel with beautiful surroundings but the city rooms are quite noisy thus impacting on the sleep quality.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classic old style with very warm staff service

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Hotel service
Cons: Shuttle service to train station
Location: Plenty very convinient
Excellent location and service best money can buy highly recommend
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Nice hotel, subpar service

Posted Oct 16, 2016
When you stay at a 5-star hotel you except fantastic accommodations and service. While the former was true and we enjoyed the hotel accommodations very much, I'm unable to say the same about the service. My now fiancé, who was at the time my boyfriend, had been planning to propose to me while in Lucerne for months. As part of the proposal plan, he reached out to the hotel concierge via phone and email to plan the proposal find a photographer to capture it. Upon check in, the woman at the front desk asked him while I was standing there about the photographer he called about to take pictures of the both of us. My then boyfriend said he didn't know what she was referring to, but she continued to insist he had contacted the hotel about this and she wasn't making a mistake. When I was upstairs, my boyfriend went to the front desk and told them he couldn't believe a hotel at this status could be so unorganized and could say something that could ruin the surprise of the proposal he had been planning. Instead of apologizing or making amends, they continued to be defensive and say he should have communicated better. Even after this incident and after he did propose, the hotel management didn't once contact us to apologize about the juvenile behavior they displayed nor apologized upon check out. It was very disappointing to stay at a hotel that you can't rely on for concierge services nor stands behind the integrity of its customer service.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Naples, Fl

Never again! This is not a 5 star. Awful service!

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything but the location.
Location: Casino and shopping all near by
No sound proofing and terrible management! The bed had zero support and wasn't clean. Don't waste your money unless they offer it for $50 a night.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel in a perfect location!

Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Hotels
My husband and I recently had the pleasure of staying 2 nights at this property. We opted for a lake view room and couldn't have been happier. It was beautifully decorated just as the photos show on the website and tbe view from the balcony was breathtaking. It was both a pleasant and short walk to the old town and central train station.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2016 on Hotels
This was my second stay at Grand National and although only staying one night, this is always a premiere experience. Great staff, facility, location and an unbelievable breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and clean hotel and fantastic location.

Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Hotels
Our stay was amazing , I advice my friends to visit this nice city and excellent hotel.