Ratings based on 186 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

Great location and friendly staff

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: Location and room decor.
Cons: The entrance.
Location: Very close to the train station and a bridge away from Old Town, plenty of eateries and restaurants around. Shopping and Lucerne Museum is nearly.
Hotel is currently under constructions so the entrance is a bit awkward. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Hotel is about a block away from the train station and just a bit away from Lucerne Old Town. Room is modern and clean, elevator is small.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 5, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We thank you very much for your stay at the hotel *** ALPINA Lucerne and for taking the time to give us your great feedback. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel ALPINA Lucerne, located directly next to the train station, KKL, museum, supermarket, Lake Lucerne and the old town. It would be great to welcome you back again in our hotel ALPINA Lucerne and we hope you had a safe journey home. Best regards, Brigitte Heller General Manager and the whole Team
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely Hotel with great convenience to the Railway

Posted Jun 15, 2016 on Hotels
Very Agreeable inspite of the weather !
4 out of 5
by Becky from Ann Arbor, Michigan

Nice hotel and good location

Posted May 22, 2016 on Hotels
I just needed a spot for one night, and this was perfect. It's a block from the central train station, and an easy walk to the old city center.
3 out of 5
by Simon from Australia

A long way to go for a cup of tea

Posted Apr 29, 2016 on Hotels
We found that the hotel was expensive in comparison to ones in Italy France and Germany. We found it ridiculous that we had to go to the 4th floor in the Monopol hotel 100 metres down the road to boil water for a cup of tea. We also had to provide our own tea and cups. My wife burnt her hand when carrying boiling water down stairs and then in the elevator when returning to our room. We also found that the walls were thin and it sounded like someone was moving furniture around upstairs at midnight. The room had a balcony and there was a nice view of a snow covered mountain.
4 out of 5
by Moosa

great hotel at affordable rate

Posted Mar 10, 2016 on Hotels
Extra friendly staff. Courteous and helpful in every way. Will gladly recommend and stay there in future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

upgraded to metropol

Posted Feb 19, 2016
It's hard to give an accurate rating because we were upgraded to the Metropol hotel. Lovely hotel and staff. Great location
3 out of 5
by Aw from Singapore

Uncomfortable and congested room layout

Posted Feb 16, 2016 on Hotels
The bathroom is too small and toilet arrangement is very congested with low false ceiling. Also,the front office registration were changed to Monopol Hotel without informing the guest during booking on line which we had to carry our luggage from the original side entrance to the front entrance.
5 out of 5
by Teresa from Indianapolis, IN

Posted Oct 4, 2015 on Hotels
Beds were comfortable, bathroom was great. Breakfast at sister hotel is well worth the 10 euros, especially in Lucerne, where food can be pricey. Very close to train station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from ottawa

Posted Sep 30, 2015
Cons: Noise curfew imposed at 9:0pm
Location: Great
Generally very good But noisy room above us till 11:00 pm