Ratings based on 416 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Olga

Fantastic!

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent hotel. Extremely attentive staff. Tasty breakfast, very nice room. Liked the comforter! The building is from the 17th century, but modern inside. Close to the lake and the train station. Enjoyed everything about my stay. Would stay there again in a heartbeat, and would highly recommend it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing staff. Very friendly and helpful. Particularly Oliver Grimm who went out of his way to resolve a tourist conflict. The rest of the desk staff was also extremely friendly; helping with luggage and tourist related questions. Really a nice non-chain hotel with local color. No two rooms are alike. Bells from the nearby church were no problem during sleeping hours. Neighboring sister hotel (Reeboc?) also provided a really nice pub and restaurant to compliment the restaurant at the Hofgarten.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, spacious rooms

Posted Oct 4, 2016
We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Hofgarten. The rooms were huge (compared to the rest of Europe) and the location was convenient (in a quiet part of town, but walkable to everything). The staff were excellent, and the breakfast was really good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel is clean and close to the old town

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
The bed was way too soft and very low to the ground. It was actually two twin beds set side-by-side and it was not comfortable at all. The bathroom was poorly arranged and there was very little counter space to set anything. The shower was so small, I could barely fit inside the shower stall, much less move around. The restaurant was very good and had a nice garden patio area for dining.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Chic hotel in the city centre

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Good location within walkable distance to a number of attractions. Helpful staff. Nice breakfast.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2016 on Hotels
Great location and very good bathroom
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide, Australia

Lovely hotel with more character than most

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Excellent meals, service and location. Very clean, good room size and great shower pressure.
Cons: Air-conditioning or better fans in the old part of the hotel would be nice.
Location: Excellent location, close to all major attractions and only a small walk to the main area/ waterfront.
Greeted by lovely friendly staff (not always the case in Switzerland). Very well looked after during our entire stay. The restaurant was excellent for both breakfast and dinner (we were out for lunch but i'm sure it too would have been great) and plenty of gluten free options for coeliacs such as ourselves. It was quite warm, Europe was having a heat wave while we were there and we had the room right at the top in the old part of the building with no air-conditioning. We managed, but having to have the windows open at night did mean it was noisier. Worth it for a unique stay in an interesting hotel, though the art work in our room was a little disturbing and certainly would not be to everyones taste! Location is really excellent, easy walking distance to all the main areas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queensland, Australia

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Comfort, style, position, staff assistance.
Cons: Have mentioned the steps but these cannot be changed because of the nature of the building.
We enjoyed the hotel, very helpful staff, most accommodating. Lovely walk to the station, fifteen minutes at most, beside the lake. Good breakfast. Steps might be an issue. Spacious rooms, wonderful to be able to make an early morning cup of proper tea. Dinner in the restaurant was very good. Beautiful courtyard entrance. The church bells did sound often, I liked them but they may not be to all tastes.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly, helpful staff

Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
Great location. Convienient for train station and trips to pilatus etc