Ratings based on 171 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Nice hotel very close to the train station and main attractions in the town. Beautiful room, beautiful and clean bath room. A little bit hot when taking shower. No gym in the building.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Hot water available at level 4.
Cons: Drinking water and wine glasses are provided, but no drinks and cups/spoons in the room.
Everything is good as we booked a big room. Except that the breakfast is only American style, so didn't try.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Great location, right next to train station (but quiet) and close to everything happening in Lucerne. Would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas Texas

Excellent Location

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: Location
The hotel location is excellent, the train station is right across the street. Easy access to public transportation, and you can easily walk everywhere within the city. We had arrived early and our room was not yet ready. The friendly staff at the front desk secured our bags for us and we went out exploring the town. When we arrived back at the hotel our room was ready and our bags had been delivered to our room. The room was very spacious, clean, and quiet. There is some construction going on however we were not affected by this. We had a nice breakfast the next morning with a variety of items to select.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Not a 4* hotel!

Posted Jan 19, 2017 on Hotels
Great location for the train station but that's where the positives end... Old, outdated decor, no air-conditioning, poor soundproofing from the busy street below, poor quality breakfast, inadequate curtains not shielding the 2 huge spot lights that shine in and poor customer service on arrival. Avoid!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your stay in our hotel **** MONOPOL Lucerne and taking the time to give us your valuable feedback. Every comments are very important for us. We are very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincere apologies. Our hotel MONOPOL Lucerne is a real 4-star hotel. We have the certificate from Euro star and Hotelier Suisse. Both companies have expressed to us the certificate that we are a true 4 star hotel. Thank you very much for your kind feedback about our location. Our very nice location directly next to the train station (no taxi), in the middle of the centre of Lucerne, close to the lake, famous Chapel Bridge, old town and at the most interesting place of Lucerne. It is absolutely normally that it can’t be very quiet with this location. We do not have air-conditioning but we have central heater in each Hotel room. And if you feel too cold, just ask at the reception for an extra heater. We have curtains in every room. If it is too light, you can lower the blinds. Then it is quite dark. We are very surprised that you will not be satisfied with our delicious breakfast buffet. We have a total of 55 different food and 25 different drinks in our offer. On your arrival day, you checked-in after midnight. During the day is our reception occupied with our reception staff. During the night is our Night-Auditor. Our Night-Auditor have to know all basics and if you need more information about the town or excursions, so you have to ask our reception staff during the day. Possible between 6.30 am and 11 pm. Once again, we are very sorry that we could not meet your expectations and therefore offer our sincere apologies. We hope you had a safe journey home. Warmest regards, Brigitte Heller, General Manager and the whole Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Very close to main station

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: None
Much better than couple years ago. Bathroom renovated, very clean. Perfect location right in front of main train station. Starbucks and McDonalds on 1st floor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 5, 2017 by Brigitte Heller, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We thank you very much for your stay at the hotel **** MONOPOL Lucerne and for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel MONOPOL Lucerne, located directly next to the train station, KKL, museum, supermarket, Lake Lucerne and the old town. We have a big variety of restaurants around and in our hotel. Starbucks, McDonalds The mexican Restaurant or bar & lounge Suite and more. Thank you as well for your feedback about the spacious hotel room, bathroom and the cleanliness. Also for our Reception Staff. We appreciate that very much. It would be great to welcome you back again in our hotel MONOPOL Lucerne and we hope you had a safe journey home. Warmest regards, Brigitte Heller General Manager and the whole team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel.

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Great view, great location near attraction and shopping, nice services.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 5, 2017 by Brigitte Heller, Hotel Management
Dear Pete We thank you very much for your stay at the hotel **** MONOPOL Lucerne and for taking the time to give us your Feedback by Expedia. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel MONOPOL Lucerne, located directly next to the train station, KKL, museum, supermarket, Shopping, Lake Lucerne and the old town. It would be great to welcome you back again in our hotel MONOPOL Lucerne and we hope you had a safe journey home. Warmest regards, Brigitte Heller General Manager and the whole team
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel. But not amazing.

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
Was asked to hand over a 50chf deposit when checking in. House keeping came into the room at 8am when check out was at 11. This was not a good start to my Saturday morning. Breakfast was ok.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was right across from train station so very convenient. The room was large and clean.