Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 11, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Decent, but nothing special

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
The Rothaus was a decent hotel, but nothing special. The drapes in the room looked like they hadn't been changed since the 70s and the restaurant and lobby smelt like smoke (though there is no smoking now). The breakfast buffet was pretty chaotic, but it was a plentiful spread. The location was the best feature, directly across from the lovely historic streets of the old town.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Raymond from Florida

Near the Chapel Bridge

Posted Jun 28, 2016 on Hotels
Rothaus with no A/C had to have the windows open for ventilation. There was a Lucerne Gest going on with fireworks and car honking and partying. So we had little sleep although no fault of the hotel.
1 out of 5
by Sumant from Mumbai

Posted Jun 19, 2016 on Hotels
Please dont book this hotel. Its has v tiny rooms. Its right on the road if you opean window too much of noise pollution. Without opeaning you cant sleep because theres no ac or fan
4 out of 5
by kati

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 17, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Brian from Perth, Western Australia, Australia

Great place to stay in Luzern

Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Hotels
My wife and I stayed for 2 nights as part of a European holiday from Australia and found it great. The staff were helpful and polite and it was a lvely place to stay. The restaurant served some marvellous food. We would recommend it as a place to stay if coming to Luzern.
1 out of 5
by Ashleigh from Australia

Book elsewhere

Posted Jun 4, 2016 on Hotels
Very dissapointing stay at Hotel Rothaus. The WiFi in the room was non existent with all guests having to sit in the lobby to connect to the Internet, not acceptable for a hotel that advertising complimentary in room wifi. When dining at breakfast the first morning the male breakfast attendant was extremely rude and unwelcoming. When we requestEd 2 cappuccinos he said he didn't have enough cups? We could clearly see more than 20 cups sitting on the machine and he was more than happy to make coffee for other guests, I don't understand why he would blatantly lie? After numerous calls to reception we gave up on the WiFi and upon check out there was no apology for any inconvenience during our stay. The hotel is located about 10 minutes walk from the centre so the location is good, but if you are looking for a decent hotel with basic amenities such as wifi, tea and coffee facilties and a fridge in the room, this is not the place
5 out of 5
by Geeta from Tampa, FL

Excellent location

Posted Jun 3, 2016 on Hotels
I was looking for the least expensive hotel, close to the train station and with parking. This was it! We arrived before check in time. Our room wasn't ready but we were still able to drop off our luggage and park our car. It was 22CHF extra to park it in a lot close by. The hotel is in an excellent location close to the train station and lots of bars and restaurants. It's also a nice walk to Chapel Bridge. The only downside I can think of is the walls are thin. I'd recommend bringing ear plugs.