Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brunnen, switzerland

Nice classy hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Nice, classy hotel surrounded by mountain and lake views. Beautiful on a sunny day! A little piece of heaven!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, Minnesota

Excellence!

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Excellent experience! Highly pleasant & memorable!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Excellent and luxury hotel with amazing lake view.

Posted Feb 20, 2015
We stayed 5 nights in the hotel. Love our room with the lake view and great breakfast every morning. Enjoy the morden spa facility - the sauna room has the view to the mountains and lake. Very quiet and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful view of lake and mountains

Posted Aug 8, 2013
Pros: Location and view
Sensational position facing up the Urnersee, that is the limb of the system of lakes known as Lake Luzern, which has the highest mountains around and beyond it. Hotel takes full advantage of the breathtaking view with extensive terrace dining. Also with a small grassed area from which to swim in the clear waters. Restaurants no more expensive than in similar establishments. It is the lakefront location and view which doubtless drew Queen Victoria and Winston Churchill and makes even a short stay memorable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Joe and Ellen. from Windsor

Waldstaetterhof Swiss Q Seehot

Posted Sep 18, 2010
An excellent hotel in an ideal location for exploring Lake Luzern and the surrounding villages. The room was clean and comfortable if not luxurious, the staff were helpful, friendly and spoke excellent English. The buffet breakfast was satisfactory with a range of hot and cold food. It seems that you are not always guaranteed to get a space in the car park when you arrive. I had to park in a local pay car park until a space became available in the hotel car park. Once I had a space I left my car in the hotel car park for the duration of my stay. I found that the best way to explore Lake Luzern and the surrounding villages was to use the boat service. This is very convenient since the boat terminal is immediately adjacent to the hotel. However, travelling by boat can be expensive, the return trip from Brunnen to Vitznau cost FR36.00. It is probably a good idea to purchase a “Tell Pass” to allow multiple boat trips on the lake. The passes can be purchased from the Tourist Office in Brunnen.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Why 5 stars?

Posted Feb 18, 2009
We stayed in February, when the hotel was almost empty. Our room was very cold on arrival and the central heating was inadequate even when set to full. The room was otherwise clean and comfortable but none of the luxury one associates with a top rating. Very good breakfast served by very pleasant staff. Hotel functions entirely in Swiss German. Reception staff had very limited English. OK but not worth 5 star rating in my opinion.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Frankfurt, Deutschland

Super netter Empfang, Spitzenlage, gutes Frühstück, insgesamt preiswert, aber leider keine 5 Sterne.

Posted Aug 11, 2010
Sehr freundlicher Empfang. Alles war wie erwartet vorbereitet, obwohl die Online-Buchung extrem kurzfristig - in der Nacht zuvor- erfolgte. Die Lage des Hotels ist einmalig (direkt am See, kein Durchgangsverkehr, ausreichend hoteleigene Parkplätze, Einzelgarage gegen Gebühr vorhanden). Das Frühstücksbuffet war mehr als ausreichend, jedoch Punktabzug wg. miesen Kaffes aus Vollautomaten (In fünf Sterne Hotels habe ich jedoch auch schon üppigere Frühstückbuffets gesehen). Wie so oft in schweizerischen fünf Sterne Hotels, drängt sich auch hier die Vermutung auf, daß dieses Hotel schon länger keine fünf Sterne mehr verdient hat (Das Bad/WC z.B. hatte keine Türe, was sehr gewöhnungsbedürftig ist, wenn der Zimmerservice trotz "Bitte nicht stören Schild" hereinkommt). Aber die super Lage macht den fehlenden Komfort bzw. den nicht ganz perfekten Service wieder wett. Die beiden Einzelzimmer hatten eine -dem Preis angemessene- Größe und Ausstattung. Bei der Abreise wollte man mir zwei Garagenstellplätze berechnen, obwohl ich nur einen Garagen-Schlüssel bekommen hatte. Naja, war wohl ein Versehen, was sich dann auch schnell aufklärte.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Dr. Goldenballs from Zürich, CH

Sehr schöne Lage, schönes Hotel, aber kleine Betten

Posted Sep 18, 2009
Das Waldstätterhof hat eine hervorragende Lage, ist ein sehr schönes Hotel, hat aber recht schmale Betten für Einzelzimmer. Diese könnten ruhig 140 cm Breite haben, Platz genug in den Zimmern ist ja. Ansonsten fünf Sterne wie man sie aus der Schweiz kennt. Freundlich, gut, sauber, angenehm. Perfekte Lage.