Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Pretty much spot on

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Located in the "new" part of town, but it doesn't really matter - the old town, where most of the bars and restaurants are, is no more than a few minutes stroll across the river. The hotel has an ambient and welcoming lobby, clean modern rooms..... but for some reason the common areas resemble a cell block. Uncarpeted stairs, grim walls and heavy grey steel doors. I really didn't get it, they've clearly put a lot of time and thought into the theme and vibe of the rest of the hotel. Anyway, the rooms each feature a movie decor, which is interesting. You can actually open the windows. An excellent coffee machine. A large TV with UK channels. A large selection of essentials, not just soaps and shampoos. In short, a very thoughtful hotel. We only had one meal there, but it was truly excellent. We skipped breakfast as it was 30CHF each, and for that I'd prefer to wander around and look for a bakery. Very helpful staff, always pleasant. Turndown service left a weather forecast for the next day on the pillow - again, a thoughtful touch. Just a shame about the cell doors....!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dunstable

Good location but bring a torch!

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Great spot, easy walking distance from station, kappelbrucke, old town, sleeping lion etc. The whole hotel is in a state of constant darkness and we had excellent sunshine whilst there. If you our your partner like to blow dry your hair, apply makeup, shave etc you will need to bring a torch. They don't appear to have duvets for the double beds so you end up with 2 separate ones - could be a good thing if your partner's a quilt thief! The ceiling decoration in our room was a bit odd, obviously something taken from a film, but sleeping under the image of a young woman undressing whilst having a gun held to her head may not appeal to everyone. Finally be aware when booking through Expedia it will tell you that "Taxes" are included but, according to the hotel, this is just VAT so you will be charged tourist/resort tax - it is only CHF3.55 per night, not much but the information is misleading at best.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seattle

Should be a good hotel but wasn't

Posted Aug 26, 2016
The rooms walls were black, the lighting inadequate and much of it didn't work .We couldn't get out of there fast enough .
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2016 by Dominik Zurbruegg, Hotel Management
Dear Jennifer It is with great regret that we learned you did not enjoy the design of The Hotel - Autograph Collection. We hope to welcoming you back to Lucerne anyway, maybe in one of our more classic sister hotels Renaissance or Astoria. Best regards, Dominik
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Posted Oct 30, 2015
Beautiful, modern hotel. Very comfortable. Extremely helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from alharmoodi

Posted Sep 2, 2015
The hotel is the best in luzern ... Everything were great especially the staff , they were very very very kind and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Modern design, unique concept, excellent location

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Very good treatment by staff. The suite was stations and had a very nice view
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Istanbul

unique hotel close to all facilities

Posted Sep 14, 2014
very nice hotel, nice stuff and elegant restaurant close to train station, restaurants and with unique design. Good choice for business trips
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Great location with above average service. I was expecting more from a five star hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Great Central Location in a Chic Hotel

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: Great location. Great staff. Beautiful city. Close to the main train station. Basically in the center of it all.
Cons: The shower situation. Even on vacation, you don't always have time for a bath. A little on the pricey side...but so is everything else in the region.
Location: Mt. Pilatus - worth the price of admission. Old city area...once you look past the tourist trap it is and focus on the architecture of years gone by.
Was looking for a last minute hotel near the train station. The arrival was a pleasure, we were clearly expected. Very convenient to the main train station (3 blocks). Great staff. We arrived early and they let us check in early. Don't be in a hurry for the elevator...there is only one and it is slow. Room was well appointed and had a little mini-fridge, which is an asset in my book. Very clean. My wife loved the 6 foot long bathtub as she could soak completely in it when we arrived. I have to mention the bath further. Nice, clean, modern, long tub. But common sense took a back-seat to aesthetics when designing the tub / shower. The tiny, contemporary shower doors don't keep the water in, and the shower head can't be put in position to keep the water in, making you mimic the Hunchback of Notre Dame when showering. Only other complaints with our stay...we purchased the round-trip tickets to Mt. Pilatus directly from the hotel desk. They gave great directions on the trip, which is an all-day event. The one thing they did not communicate was the time of the last of the boat trip from the bottom of the incline railway back to Luzerne (something we were both looking forward to after a full day of sightseeing). When we got to the boat dock, we found out we missed the last one (1640 hours) by just a few minutes. Would have been nice to know this as we would have left the mountain sooner. Also, our bill showed 60 francs for a breakfast we didn't eat, which was happily refunded.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic location and friendly staff

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: Location
We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It was located across from a little park about 2 blocks from the lake and entrance to the old bridge that crosses into the old town. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The rooms were very nice with good air conditioning.