Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Lauren

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Nick from VB

Like your grandmother's house

Posted Oct 12, 2015 on Hotels
Staying here is like staying at your grandmother's house...the decor is very old and outdated, the rooms very basic and in need of an update. That said, everything is clean, the people who work here are wonderful and warm, and the fondue dinner served at the restaurant downstairs (in front of a warm fire at the fireplace) is fantastic. The surrounding area is charming and beautiful. The train station is right across the street but noise wasn't an issue with us.
2 out of 5
by Christine from Winterthur

very basic

Posted Jul 29, 2015 on Hotels
A very basic hotel close to the train station. There's no lift so we had to carry our luggage up to the third floor. The first night was a nightmare. The room was sooo hot, the air con was not working. Since we arrived at 11:30pm and the reception closed at midnight, we didn't have anyone to complain to until the next day. So, we opened the window to get some air in but the train is so loud, so I did not sleep all night. Then the soap dispenser in the shower was empty, luckily we had one for the baby which what we've used. We complained to the reception in the morning, which to be fair did apologize and got everything working. so the 2nd night was better, but still, for the price that you're paying, I would look somewhere else.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2015 on Hotels
Nice hotel, clean and friendly staff. Restaurant was very good. Hotel across from train which is noisy with the windows open but fine when they are closed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SF, CA

Good option

Posted Oct 10, 2013 on Hotels
Good location. Easy walk to all city locations. Helpful staff. Comfortable room. Provide free parking pass for street parking.
4 out of 5
by WVienna from Vienna, VA USA

Convenient 15 minute train ride to Lugano

Posted Jul 15, 2013 on Hotels
Good overall service. Breakfast buffet was very high quality, with meats, cheese, cereal, fruit, pastry coffee. Had dinner at hotel restaurant one night, with good food and service. Friendly staff has limited English, and staff at restaurant is also stretched a little to cover the front desk of the small upstairs hotel, but the experience was good overall, and we were OK despite no Italian or German skills. Rooms are small, which is usual for Europe, but very clean with a decent toilet/shower room. Needed to close window on Friday night due to loud music at the bar next door, but the windows blocked out all noise. We had rooms away from rail line (next to hotel is Milan-Zurich main line), so noise from that was non-existant. No AC, but fan OK for the weather we expeneinced in early July. This was lowest cost alternative to get rooms near Lugano on the main line, and met our expectations, exceeding them in terms of the included breakfast. Also recommend walking around the very pretty villiage of Riva San Vitale which is a few hundred meters away, with a number of historic buildings (a 5th century baptistry, for example). We would visit again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Posted Jun 10, 2013 on Hotels
I would say they have excellent food and good service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kath from Zurich, Switzerland

Great local flavour

Posted May 20, 2013
Pros: Restaurant, location
Location: A quick 15 min train ride from Lugano or a relaxing 45 mins by boat.
Great hotel, local experience, delicious food! Loved our night in Capolago.
5 out of 5
by ABIanchi

very good

Posted Oct 24, 2012 on Hotels
the people was very frienly and the service the same thanks
5 out of 5
by Niklas

very positive experience

Posted Apr 26, 2012 on Hotels