Ratings based on 160 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Best location on the lake in Lugano

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Welcome at reception and location
Cons: a liitle dated but very pleasant for that
Location: On the lakeside and a short pleasant stroll along the lakeside to the centre of Lugano
A lovely hotel but great staff and location. good facilities and great view from our bedroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel near lake lugano

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Pros: Great location, clean rooms, friendly staff.
Cons: Air conditioning and iron.
Location: Lake lugano, san salvatore
Great experience, staff is very friendly and accommodating. Centered very close to lake lugano and san salvatore. The only drawback was old air conditioning which was not enough during day time. Would love to stay here again in future.
4 out of 5
by michael d

Great view, expensive and won't return...

Posted Aug 4, 2017 on Hotels
Lugano is a very beautiful town. The Hotel Hotel Eden is a bit a tired - the star rating is not really warranted and not not really worth the cost. Most of the staff were very polite and accommodating, though I was extremely disappointed that the evening duty manager for reception would not provide a complementary bottle of water and requested a $10 CHF payment, which I refused. I found his behavior very unprofessional.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, Ohio, USA

3 Star hotel with rude staff

Posted Jul 23, 2017
We had two rooms and all comments apply to both rooms so this was not an exception! Hotel appears as if it is in a timewarp with no evidence of renovation other than the bathrooms since the 1980s with clearly visible signs of deterioration on the outside and inside. Air Conditioning does not work! Ants on bathroom floors, hard mattresses and hard pillows. bar is a ghost town and not even staffed. Dinner staff rushed us through pricy dinner because we went to dinner at 10:15 even though the front desk told us upon arrival that the restaurant is open to receive guests until 10:30. Buffet beakfast was also rushed when we arrived at 10:15 and does not include omelettes. Upon checkout, front desk staff added taxes and more than 70 CHF in movie charges we did not incur. Would not believe that my taxes are supposed to be included and had to show my Expedia receipt to remove the taxes. Also refused to remove the movies and accused me of dishonesty in front of my children until I proved per their delapidated TV system records that the movie charges were incurred 45 mins prior to my check in time which made me wonder, why were there movie charges in my room 45 mins before my check in time at 11pm? Asked for the manager but front desk staff refused to call the manager and gave me a very hesitant apology after being proven wrong. Cannot imagine why a hotel like that is rated 5 stars in Switzerland! It should never be rate above 3 stars!!! Otherwise wonderful location and view
5 out of 5
by michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 18, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Vikash

Avoid..AC non functional

Posted Jul 2, 2017 on Hotels
Air conditioning was not working in the room. Staff was non-cooperative.. No service team / mechanical / technical staff was present. Had to haggle with the Front Office to change the room on a different floor although same result - non functional AC.. Hotel did not even have fans as backup
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

outdated

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: close to the lake and town center
Cons: Major hotel renonovation!
Location: downtown
Hotel is outdated. Found spiders in my room. The staff was not very helpful. Not worth the price.
1 out of 5
by Paras Jain

Worat experience of my life!!!!!!!

Posted May 12, 2017 on Hotels
Pathetic experience. Staff very very rude. Charged me a hefty amount without notice for not leaving the room clean. No air conditioner in room. Staff kept on lying that they would switch it on next morning. Overall a must no-no for me and my family.
5 out of 5
by Daniel

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
Great hotel!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels