Ratings based on 97 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Front desk personnel could not care less.

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Nice old building to look at
Cons: Service, staff!!
Location: Upscale looking restaurants that provide so-so service and meals at high prices; Prada, Cartier, Louis Vuitton and similar stores are everywhere.
Charming building, fairly good location, close to the lake Lugano's waterfront and about a mile from Lugano's main square.Decent rooms and elegant, charming appearance of this old building are overshadowed by the front desk stuff that just does not care, nor provides answers to even important question such as parking for hotel guests. They just couldn't care less that we are from another country (or from another continent in our case :) ) and are not familiar with the city or with stiff Swiss regulations. Thanks to their ignorance we got gauged 52CHF ( roughly 50 Euro) for 24 hour parking.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 19, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Sri Krishna

Lake and mountains are close

Posted Apr 15, 2017 on Hotels
Great location right in front of park and lake and two min walk to the boats.Hotel is good but cleanliness needs improvement as room was having an old leftover pizza on checkin. Else is well worth the price. And close to the mt. salvatore funicular as well!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Lugano

Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Hotels
I enjoyed my stay. It was a good location and had a wonderful view. The service was great and the reception personnel were very nice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Construction noise a problem

Posted Oct 15, 2016 on Hotels
Disappointed. Construction around hotel started early and was loud. Very uncomfortable and no warning.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great view of the lake

Posted Sep 28, 2016 on Hotels
Great value for an outstanding location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the lake. Great views.

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Loved the location, only a 10 minute walk to Lugano and the Olive walk (one of the highlights of our trip).
4 out of 5
by dennis from San Antonio

Nice location on lake

Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels
Walkable down from train station but not return. Nice location in lake
4 out of 5
by Lev from UT

Higher rating with earplugs.

Posted Feb 15, 2015 on Hotels
Great. When people say squeaky floors - it's an understatement. The place is dated, but that is an experience in itself. The staff was awesome and very helpful, if I go back to Lugano, I will stay here again, mostly because I can't afford the nice the places. This would hold true for me, for most places though.