Ratings based on 167 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, Illinois

Lovely Hotel on the Banks of Lake Lugano

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: Location, Location, Location. Great Staff, Fantastic Breakfast.
Cons: It would be nice of the hotel rooms has a few convenient electrical outlets. A couple of outlets near the headboard of the bed would be great.
Location: Please see above.
The Hotel International au Lac has a fantastic location right by the banks of the lake Lugano. Its also right next to the "Cardio Way" walkway - an excellent exercise opportunity in the morning. The hotel staff was very courteous, helpful and friendly. The breakfast service is excellent, with a wide selection, and generous hours (from 6:30 AM - 11:30 AM!) The location of the hotel was the prime reason for my choice. There are a number of restaurants near the hotel, lots of gelato shops, and many boat tour providers. The hotel is also not far from the Funicular that one can take to go up Monte San Salvatore. All in all a great stay. Would recommend this hotel, without any reservations, to other travelers who are planning a vacation in Lugano.
5 out of 5
by Stefan

Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
The stay was excellent, I would definitely recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
by Sandra

Lovely old hotel

Posted May 5, 2017 on Hotels
Lugano is very beautiful, and this beautiful hotel fits right into the ambience of the area. It's an old hotel that's obviously been lovingly maintained. There's plenty of art and history on the walls in the corridors to admire. The breakfast buffet was very good. Lunch selections at the hotel are very limited, and you'll need to go out for dinner. But that isn't a hardship since there are plenty of restaurants in the area. Get a room with at least a partial view of the lake to really enjoy your stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania, USA

Posted May 4, 2017
Location is great, Service was great, Breakfast was wonderful, Room size for two people is perfect. No complains at all. Highly commanded!
4 out of 5
by jamie

Great location, tired rooms

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
Great location right on the lake front and at the end of pedestrian shopping street. Free parking in underground garage. Probably very grand in its day the hotel is now slightly tired looking. The rooms really need a refresh. Breakfast was fine. Not bad, not remarkable. Overall I would be happy to return and would recommend the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bew York

Nice hotel, perfect location

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: Location, staff, cleanliness. Staff was very helpful.
Location: Central location, walking distance to all the major attractions
Hotel is centrally located, right in front of the lake and close to the train station.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
Great location and a wonderful view of Lake Lugano.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great breakfast, sparse rooms

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel rooms themselves were very dated with scratchy towels and sparse linens. But the location could not have been better: right across the road from the lake and near lots of restaurants/shopping. Also the breakfast buffet was wonderful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Avoid this hotel

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Having travelled extensively throughout Europe and the USA, this is one of the worst hotels I have stayed in. For the price paid I expected far more however was left severely disappointed. The rooms are clean,albeit very small with no fridge or tea/coffee making facilities and the pillows on the bed are shocking. The staff are unfriendly, particularly Gerrard at breakfast time who is downright rude - I heard many guests complaining and hopefully they will follow up with a bad review
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2016 by Roberto Schmid, Hotel Management
Dear Mr David, we sincerely regret your feelings about your stay with us. We have deeply inspected your room after your departure and could not find anything wrong with the beds. What makes you say “shocking”? Our staff is available 24 hrs and ready to assist in case of need and we are sorry you did not make use of this possibility during your stay. We advertise in the room that tea and coffee making facilities are available for free on request, guests just need to call reception and the complete set-up is delivered within minutes. We will internally address you comment with regards to the restaurant staff; online ratings on our staff are by other customers extremely positive and our guests do rate friendliness very high. I do hope you will give us another chance to convince you and we would be pleased to welcome you soon again at the International au Lac. Sincerely yours Roberto Schmid Hotel International au Lac, Lugano * * *s Fam. Schmid, propr. dir.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great location and price

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: location and charm
Location: Everything is nearby - Lake Lugano, old town, restaurants and bars, churches and other historical sites, luxury shopping, etc.
This hotel is walking distance from everything (train station, bus stop, town, lake, etc.). The interior maintains old world charm but is still comfortable and updated with all necessary modern conveniences. Furthermore, I sprung for a lake view room and spent a lot of peaceful time on my balcony where I could take it all in. Great spot!