Ratings based on 154 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Garni Nessi Experience

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: The hotel staff in the dining room. The pool area. Variety in options for continental breakfast.
Cons: Hairdryers in room. Clean fridge. Larger bath and a better shower. Access to additional television channels in English.
Location: The numbers 1 and 7 buses take you into the centre of Locarno and it doesn't take long. They stop outside the train station.
I visited the Garni Nessi Hotel in Locarno, Switzerland from 11th-15th April, 2017. On arrival the swimming pool had no water in it but that was sorted immediately when I highlighted my son was looking forward to using the pool. I asked for extra towels and a pillow because there were 3 of us and we were given them without any problems. The room was very basic. The tv only gave access to news channels in English which was disappointing. The fridge was dirty. There were no coffee and tea making facilities which, in this day and age, is not common. There was no hairdryer either. The bath was only suitable for a child. If your are over nine stones you can forget about having a bath as it is a tight squeeze. The shower head does not point in a downward direction so it had to be held in your hands to have a shower. The staff in the dining room in the morning were always very helpful and pleasant and made the experience better. I was quoted a price of £518.00 with Expedia for the room for four nights but when I checked out and wished to pay for the room I was charged £539.18. When I queried this with the owner, he was not interested and said it was nothing to do with him and to contact the bank or Expedia. I think that when you are quoted a price in line with your budget, that is the price you should pay and that should be honoured by the hotel. You can get easy access to the main area of Locarno by a short bus ride but I wouldn't stay again.
5 out of 5
by Rohan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 11, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Paula from Geneva

A place to be

Posted Aug 6, 2015 on Hotels
Welcoming staff ready to be of service. Wonderful view even for the fireworks. Good breakfast, a real home away from home
2 out of 5
by Sarah

Not for us but depends what you're looking for

Posted Jul 11, 2015 on Hotels
Room was basic, but clean. Mini bar was a surprise bonus. No ac or a fan during 30+ temps made it quite uncomfortable. Hotel rooms are accessed from outside, motel style and hotel is located above a auto-body shop. Staff was extremely nice and when they saw us outside looking for parking the manager came out to greet and assist us immediately. Very clean room and pool looked nice. 15 min walk to town. Would be nice to have a safe in the room. 3 stars should be interpreted loosely.
4 out of 5
by Crewy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 30, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by roesty from new zealand

Handy hotel

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Reasoneble priced hotel in walking distance from city center i would stay again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J from G, Florida

Decent hotel for a good price

Posted Nov 5, 2013
Considering the incredibly high prices for tourists around Locarno and Ascona this no frills hotel is like a fresh breeze. The room was comfortably sized with decent beds, mattrasses and a good bathroom. Internet coverage and speed was very good. A few cable channels were available as well. Reception staff speaks English pretty well. They were also very friendly and went out of their way to help.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Matt from novato, ca

Reasonably priced, clean

Posted Sep 9, 2013
Pros: Reasonably priced for Locarno, clean, friendly staff, good breakfast
Cons: Location is a little poor, not a lot of restaurants in the immediate area. WiFi was weak, room lacks outlets.
Location: Not a lot nearby. Restaurants are not too far though, north and east of the hotel. You can walk on the trails near the river, down to the waterfront
Chose the Nessi due to cost, found it reasonably comfortable, location was OK, staff were friendly and helpful, parking was a little rough.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

clean and nice !

Posted May 29, 2013 on Hotels
The place and hotel were very clean and it was a new construction (not an old house modified into a hotel). Very comfortable and worth the price. Good value for money.
3 out of 5
by Colin

Very Basic

Posted Dec 30, 2012 on Hotels
This hotel is very very basic but it was clean and that was all we needed for a one night stopover. The manger tried to overcharge us on an upgrade away from the busy street but after that he was very helpfull