Ratings based on 171 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jersey

Hotel with grounds leading to the edge of the lake

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Given an upgrade to very comfortable top floor two tier room with views over lake and mountains. Quiet position easy short walk into town and ferry to the islands. Very helpful reception staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Irvine, CA

Truly Majestic!

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: Clean, Classy, perfect location and beautiful breakfast buffet and so much more!
Cons: Nothing, really!
Location: We went to the adorable town square, the nearby botanical gardens, and mostly relaxed on the expansive lawn with a phenomenal view.
From the moment of our arrival and check in, I was in love. Location, Cleanliness, Decor, Breakfast Buffet, Staff - It was all beyond lovely. This Grand Hotel is not a disappointment, it was truly GRAND!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 18, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Royston, Herts, England

A really Majestic hotel!

Posted May 8, 2016
Pros: Everything!
Location: The location is great, in walking distance of the town, with resturants shops and bars, market on Fridays. And near to water taxis and ferrys.
We had a wonderful time at the Grand Majestic Hotel. On arrival we were given a up grade to a junior suite, it was great, we had a lovely large and comfortable room with 2 balconies and a superb view of the lake and mountains. The room was very clean and tidy. The hotel staff were all great, very friendly and helpful at all times. The restaurant La Beola was amazing! The food was of top restaurant quality a very good chef, and the waiters were very efficient and friendly, and the views over the lake watching the sun go down was wonderful. The facilities (pool, sauna, Beauty treatments) were good as well. And of course the location is the best in the area. In all it was a great holiday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Quiet and comfortable

Posted Sep 8, 2015
Pros: It is very gracious and restful
Cons: The prices in the bar and restaurant are not reasonable compared to other hotels and the surrounding area.
Location: There are lovely walks around the lake and ferry trips to nearby Stresa and the Borromean Islands.
The hotel is in a lovely position close to the centre of Pallanza. The welcome was gracious and the facilities are excellent, well kept gardens and indoor pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel and location, service exceptional

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Second visit and not disappointing. Staff remembered us from 3 years earlier. Could t do enough. Hotel beautifully kept. Nothing too much trouble. We plan another visit before too long
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

must see location, northern Italia,

Posted Jul 25, 2015 on Hotels
The food was less than desired, had an issue with pre frozen snacks. Decided to eat at the local restaurant in Pallanza
2 out of 5
by Alex from Toronto

Dissapointing Service

Posted Oct 2, 2014 on Hotels
We were visiting for a wedding and expected a customer focused hotel. We were wrong. We had friend staying nearby and made arrangements for them to visit with us in the hotel gardens. When they arrived they were told that they were not guests and turned away. This was odd given the previous day the hotel arrange a boat tour for all of us. The reason for the refusal was they had a dog and there was a Ferrari tour so the hotel was busy (garden was empty and dog was allowed previous day). Our friends offered to not bring in the dog but were still refused unless we paid 50 Euro’s. This was upsetting and we decided to leave the hotel to go to the public beach. We were stopped when leaving and told that we were not allowed to bring the hotel’s towels to the beach. We spoke with the manager and offered to pay if we lost the towels. He refused our request and was extremely rude. His treatment of us was disturbing given we were paying guests. Marco proceeded to rip the towels from our arms. Frustrated, we left the hotel. On the way out we were asked for our car keys to move our car for the Ferrari tour. Guests with nicer cars get preferential treatment. We indicated we would be leaving early and to please not block in our car. Upon checking out, our car was blocked. This was frustrating given we were anxious to move on and this cause a delay. I hope this outlines the poor customer service. Marco needs customer service training.
3 out of 5
by JG from Manchester

Didn't meet our expectations

Posted Sep 21, 2014 on Hotels
There were too many irritating problems for a hotel of the apparent standard and price. The safe didn't work, the fridge was broken, there was no coffee machine and only 2 plugs with European fittings. The Reception staff were not friendly or helpful. We were expected to pay for two small bottles of mineral water every day. The breakfast buffet was merely adequate with no cooked options apart from a vat of lukewarm scrambled eggs. Would not recommend this hotel if you want a luxury venue.
4 out of 5
by David from Ireland

Majestico

Posted Sep 19, 2014 on Hotels
Though my stay was pleasant, staff could come of a little rude. On occasions had asked for services ie.hangers & ironing services etc. and the hotel never came through or were not very accommodating.