Ratings based on 95 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jersey

Hotel with grounds leading to the edge of the lake

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Given an upgrade to very comfortable top floor two tier room with views over lake and mountains. Quiet position easy short walk into town and ferry to the islands. Very helpful reception staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Irvine, CA

Truly Majestic!

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: Clean, Classy, perfect location and beautiful breakfast buffet and so much more!
Cons: Nothing, really!
Location: We went to the adorable town square, the nearby botanical gardens, and mostly relaxed on the expansive lawn with a phenomenal view.
From the moment of our arrival and check in, I was in love. Location, Cleanliness, Decor, Breakfast Buffet, Staff - It was all beyond lovely. This Grand Hotel is not a disappointment, it was truly GRAND!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Royston, Herts, England

A really Majestic hotel!

Posted May 8, 2016
Pros: Everything!
Location: The location is great, in walking distance of the town, with resturants shops and bars, market on Fridays. And near to water taxis and ferrys.
We had a wonderful time at the Grand Majestic Hotel. On arrival we were given a up grade to a junior suite, it was great, we had a lovely large and comfortable room with 2 balconies and a superb view of the lake and mountains. The room was very clean and tidy. The hotel staff were all great, very friendly and helpful at all times. The restaurant La Beola was amazing! The food was of top restaurant quality a very good chef, and the waiters were very efficient and friendly, and the views over the lake watching the sun go down was wonderful. The facilities (pool, sauna, Beauty treatments) were good as well. And of course the location is the best in the area. In all it was a great holiday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Quiet and comfortable

Posted Sep 8, 2015
Pros: It is very gracious and restful
Cons: The prices in the bar and restaurant are not reasonable compared to other hotels and the surrounding area.
Location: There are lovely walks around the lake and ferry trips to nearby Stresa and the Borromean Islands.
The hotel is in a lovely position close to the centre of Pallanza. The welcome was gracious and the facilities are excellent, well kept gardens and indoor pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel and location, service exceptional

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Second visit and not disappointing. Staff remembered us from 3 years earlier. Could t do enough. Hotel beautifully kept. Nothing too much trouble. We plan another visit before too long
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Beautiful hotel but...

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Beautiful hotel with fantastic garden and views. Truly unique. Unfortunately has some major flaws. The rooms for a 4* are very basic and need renovation. The small shower consists only of a curtain and water spills all over as you wash. When we came A/C didn't work and it required three calls before being fixed. So did our request for extra pillows. The hotel badly needs more professional staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by June from London

Nice hotel, very well appointed on the lake.

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: location, comfort and sense of stability and reassurance.
Cons: Would love a kettle in the room to make a hot drink!
Location: Isola Madre and Isola Superiore and Isola Bella a must! Villa Tranto a very pleasant and calm place to visit. Ill Burchello restaurant lovely
Friendly welcoming staff with competent English which was a reassuring start. Comfortable room, well appointed. very pleasant dining room with generous breakfast and attention to detail.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Traveller from Surrey

Wonderful location on the lake.

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Pros: The location, the staff and the pool are definitely the best assets but the building itself is impressive too.
Cons: The restaurant is expensive and the menu is very restricted. The food was fine but we would not recommmend it at these prices. Breakfast was only OK.
Location: Great little town nearby with lots of cafes and bars along the lakeside.Good for walks, cycling, boat tripsand train rides in the mountains.
This is a beautiful hotel in a superb setting on the lakeside. You do need to make sure your room has at least a side view of the lake. The terrace bar overlooking the little island nearby is a great place to sit with a drink (not too expensive either) and the gardens are lovely. The staff are unfailingly friendly and helpful, especially at reception and at the pool. The indoor pool set in the gardens with its view of the lake is a wonderful bonus and the gym looked good though we did not use it. Room was quite big and very comfortable.
2 out of 5
by Peter from England, UK

Wonderful views - quite expensive!

Posted Jul 7, 2013
Pros: The views over the lake.
Cons: The over priced 'extras' - the drinks that add to the ambiance of an evening by the lake.
Location: Wonderful.
We had stayed at the Majestic before and knew how expensive it could be. The location is wonderful and the gardens beautiful. The hotel may look a little tired - it is an old building and one could say that this adds to the charm. The restaurant has great views over the lake and is quite formal. The choice of food was rather limited on the night we were there, particularly as I'm not a great fish eater. It was expensive - we knew it would be and have no complaints. The price of a glass of wine - in the restaurant or on the terrace may shock some people. It did us. Our room was at the back (we expected this) - it was clean, but rather tired and in need of a 'make-over'! Somebody had 'blocked' us in the car park when we came to leave - the staff sorted this, but there was no apology from anyone. Value for money . . . no. I don't think we'll return.
4 out of 5
by Caroline from Cambridge, UK

Room with a view

Posted Sep 29, 2012
Pros: The views from the balconies
Cons: Chambermaids knocking every night around 7pm to check if we were happy with the room. We found it rather invasive.
Location: One of the few hotels that are right on the lakeside with no noisy road running infront of it. Good walking distances for restaurants in Pallanza
Our experience of this hotel was very good on all fronts. The staff were always very helpful and prepared to go 'the extra mile' for you. We arrived and found we had been upgraded to a junior suite with a marvelous view over the lake. The room was well appointed in terms of comfort of the bed, quality of the furniture and decor. The breakfasts were adequate but there is room for improvement. Tea & coffee making facilities in the room would have been nice. Hotels restaurant was of a high standard in terms of quality of food and presentation and atmosphere very pleasant. The views of the lake from the balcony was relaxing and beautiful. Overall it was a very good experience and I would have no hesitation recommending the hotel to anyone. We did not use the spa but the swimming pool looked very nice and well kept.