Ratings based on 121 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: Location and Cleanliness
Cons: Breakfast choices
Location: Right next to the Port, Square and Shops
Friendly Staff and a Nice breakfast. It was a great 3 Nights stay with my Daughter
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the Lake with Views.

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Spotless hotel with very helpful staff. Would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Wales

Excellent all round!

Posted Sep 22, 2015
Pros: The rooms are modern, spaceous and clean. The staff are so friendly and welcoming. Breakfast offered a vast selection. Absolutely fabulous!
Cons: A minor detail would be a few more British channels on the TV.
Location: Boat trips island hopping (Isola Bella / Isola Madre and Isola Pescatori) across the lake. Stresa and Intra markets. Botanical gardens Villa Taranto
We hired a car from Bergamo airport which was very easy. We had a wonderful stay on Lake Maggiore (Intra, Verbania). The hotel location was perfectly situated just across the road to the ferry terminal... though we did have a fabulous lake front/view room, this did mean that we experienced a lot of traffic noise The hotel breakfast offered a great selection for all tastes. The room was brilliant, spaceous, modern and clean. The lake itself is so beautiful and trips by boat island hopping are fantastic even when the weather was poor. Stresa has a market on a Friday and Intra market is on a Saturday...one of the best markets we have ever been to. Plenty of places to eat around the lake.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Better than Stresa

Posted Sep 4, 2015
Pros: 5 star room ... italian design .. friendly
Cons: nothing
Location: Fantastic location.
Much better than staying in those tired old mega hotels in Stresa.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fairfax stati

Nice hotel with lake view

Posted Jul 28, 2015
The hotel is nice but rooms are tiny. The breakfast was very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from tel aviv israel

great lake view and good variety for breakfast

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Pros: the hotel is is in an old building but inside everything is new
Cons: we heard what was going on in the adjacent room
Location: the hotel is close to the port and the center
we stayed 2 nights at the end of march. the room has great lake view. the bed was comfortable and big. the staff was helpful and speaks good english. the breakfast buffet has good variety
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fabulous breakfast

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Breakfast at this hotel is worth staying for alone!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Weekend Visit

Posted Sep 21, 2014
I went to Verbania for a long weekend to attend a wedding. I stayed in a single room, modest in size, but suitable enough for my needs. The water pressure for the tub/shower was good which was nice. Warning: bring your own toilet paper because the hotel uses cocktail size single sheets of hard paper towel in their dispensers. The noise from the hallway or outside might annoy the unseasoned traveller. The location is about a 30min walk along the water front to the centre of town, but I preferred that because I like the exercise. The lakeshore path is directly across the street from the hotel. There is a grocery store 1 block away to get beverages and snacks...great place to go if you want to have a picnic. I didn't eat or use the bar at the hotel, so I can't comment on the food/service The hotel staff was super friendly and spoke English fluently. Note: you need to book your return shuttle to malpensa 48hours in advance, or you could be subjected to 2hr+ bus/trains. A taxi will cost you 120euro incl tip.
2 out of 5
by Vanessa from Totnes

Disappointing hotel despite great staff

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Pros: Great view, ferry boats outside, bus stop, some local restaurants and bars, helpful staff, internet access in reception, good shower room.
Cons: Air con in room not working, noise from rooms above and below, mini bar did not cool, too close to main road so very noisy, small room.
Location: Good for boats and buses, Intra which is only one of 3 areas to Verbania - this was not clear, we preferred more attractive towns like Cannobia.
This place is too expensive for what it has to offer. Stayed in much better hotels in Italy for the same or less. Weird lack of attention to detail like air on and minibar not working, total lack of noise insulation, half the minibar items listed not actually in it, and no-one really trained to do the bar downstairs. One couple left whilst we were there saying it really wasn't what they had been led to expect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cornelia from Stone Ridge, NY

A fine hotel in a beautiful location

Posted May 8, 2014
Pros: Our room looked out over the waterfront -- a beautiful view.
Location: We loved visiting the Botanical Gardens nearby, and the magical town of Orta on Lake Orta a short drive away.
We enjoyed the location of the Hotel Ancora, right in the middle of town and an easy walk to the ferry boats.