Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

Beautiful hotel, disappointed with the room

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Location: As I said, the location is excellent, but there are not many things to do nearby, unless you drive to Switzerland and visit Lugano.
This hotel can't be placed in a better place, the staff is second to none, the restaurant is above average, the parking is only for a small number of guests, but the rooms, at least the one I have (305) are extremely small. Whit a King size bed, is not more than 75 centimeters around the bed of walking space. on that space, try to put 3 suitcases, a computer carry bag, and my wife handbags. In the balcony side, is a very small desk, just big enough to put my laptop, and not a chair to sit at the desk. the bathroom was not much different, biggest problem was the shower, there was not a curtain, only a folding door that cover half of the bath tab, making almost impossible to take a shower without getting a lot of water in the bathroom floor, and the space beside the sink, it's only enough room for to accommodate all the necessary elements. Beautiful location, nice people, but I will not go back, unless for some reason I got the smallest room in the hotel, and next time I get a normal one.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincs UK

Beautiful Hotel and very closed to town

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: None
Location: Great. Went to Switzerland/Matterhorn and 3 Lakes. Full days tours. Plenty of tours to choose from. Great travel agents 2 mins from hotel.
We were originally booked into the annexe which we hadn't realised. The room was large, a bit dated but ok but we were on the 2nd floor(which meant 6 flights of steps) and as we are over 70 we just couldn't do it so asked for a room change. The manager Franco was wonderful and arranged us to move into a lovely room inside the hotel which had lifts. We had to pay a supplement but this we didn't mind. We had a wonderful 10 days and would certainly go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Good location close to centre.

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Lobby, lounge area & spacious room. Location.
Cons: Update decoration & furniture in bedrooms & around pool area.
Location: Easy walking to ferries, train. Loved the trip to Domodossala & on ferries especially to Isola Bella. Promenade flat for walking.
Lovely lobby, lounge & dining room area. No information in room or lobby about the hotel facilities. Bedroom outdated decor needs a redecoration & new furniture/fridge. Lovely spacious room & balcony. Pillows hard. Bathroom clean & shower was great. Breakfast good choice. Loungers around pool need renewing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, UK

Great position

Posted Sep 7, 2016
The hotel is in a great position overlooking the lake and only a few minutes walk from the town centre and the ferry terminal. It is a very traditionally run establishment which means that it can be a little too formal at times and sometimes lacks the personal touch. Having said that, the service was always excellent, fast and efficient and some of the staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room was a good size but needed updating as did the bathroom and the beds were very hard. The restaurant is lovely and bright with wonderful views of the lake. We didn't eat dinner at the hotel but the breakfast had a good variety and the service was excellent. The bar and lounge are also very pleasant, relaxed and comfortable The pool area had a charm and a peaceful atmosphere but again, could do with some upgrading. We preferred the area in the gardens at the front of the hotel where there were sunbeds as well as tables and chairs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mass

beautiful views of Lake Maggorie

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: The location is great and staff are excellent
Cons: update the décor.
Location: located close to downtown, shops and restauarnts
Hotel Astoria is a lovely hotel that overlooks lake Maggorie. The property is older but fairly well kept. The staff were friendly and helpful with information. We choose to upgrade to a lake view room which was well worth the money. We used the balcony every evening to enjoy the view and a glass of wine. The rooms have all the basics needed for a comfortable stay but could do with some updating. That being said for the money we would stay there again. It is located close to the town center, a five minute walk. The hotel also has parking which is convenient and safe. The breakfast is good with plenty of choices and great service. although we did not use the pool area it was really nice with plenty of seating. The property has a front patio and lawn chairs on the front lawn with great views of the lake. Many guest have an afternoon tea or drink in this area, a great way to meet others traveling in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel great location

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Lovely hotel with a great balcony overlooking the lake.. beautiful location. Really enjoyed visiting the islands and around Stresa. Concierge could've been a bit more helpful though when we asked suggestions of what to do in the area. Very nice breakfast in the hotel with friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Excellent hotel, fantastic lakeside position

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Pros: Just about everything
Cons: Nothing comes to mind
Location: Right on the lakefront. Ferry terminal is 5 mins up the road. Used to boats to travel all round the lake. Far too much to see and do in one visit
Staff very friendly and helpful. Super breakfasts with good variety of food and drink. Very clean throughout. Just the right distance from town centre with beautiful square and numerous good value restaurants. Overall our stay rates 10 out of 10 and will certainly return in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Fantastic location/view and close to all amenities

Posted Sep 11, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location (and the views!!) - as above
Cons: The bathrooms need updating and more comfortable beds, new towels.
Location: Stresa is perfect to explore Lake Maggiore by boat or train for the nearby area. Cute cobbled streets and square with quaint shops and restaurants.
The hotel was in a fantastic location, close to the quaint cobbled streets of Stresa, where the boat sails from and the train station (5-10 minutes walk along the promenade to each so couldn't be better). The views were amazing of the lake (if lake view room which would recommend) and over breakfast. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The hotel was quite grand in places but the rooms were a little tired (especially the bathrooms) and the beds were a bit hard and towels were old. However they were very clean and comfortable enough especially if you are out all day exploring Lake Maggiore and the views and closeness to the town and boat make up for any slight deficiencies.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

This hotel is all furcoat and no knickers!

Posted Sep 5, 2015
Pros: All the staff except the manager.
Cons: Seriously - the annex needs to be taken off the bookings system. It's not fit for accommodation.
Location: Hotel on front so the hotel's location is good. Stresa has little for anyone under 50 to do other than to take a ferry to other lake locations
This looks the part from the exterior but the annex round the back where we were put is dirty, dilapidated and thoroughly unacceptable. The beds are broken and the rooms were dirty, tired and had far less facilities than the rooms in the main building. There is no lift and there is a bannister to the 3rd floor which is loose and very dangerous. The manager put a disabled person on the 3rd floor of a building with no lift and a broken bannister. Yes, we complained and no, nothing meaningful happened to remedy anything other than that the disabled person was moved to the second floor of the building with no lift. So, don't book this dive and if you are unfortunate enough to have already booked it then just make sure you are not booked into the annex. A Youth Hostel would provide better, cleaner, safer and more pleasant accommodation. The other staff we encountered in the hotel were all pleasant however. I hope they get jobs in more deserving establishments next season.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkshire

Excellent location overlooking the Lake

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Pros: Conveniently situated
Cons: Hotel room comforts.
Location: Conveniently situated along the Lakeside within 5 minutes walking distance of shops and restaurants.
This hotel is situated overlooking the Lake and conveniently situated for the Lakefront activities, shops, restaurants and the train station in Stresa. The Hotel is clean, friendly and well run. The Management team could improve the service provided to their guests by offering information on what Hotel facilities are on offer. It was only by chance that we found a rooftop garden with a Jacuzzi and it wasn't until our last day that we realised that pool towels were available. We were expecting to find a safe in our room but were told that we had to access it via the hotel strong room down in reception which was not very convenient. The room was kept clean and spotless, but no added comforts were available which you would normally expect of a 4 star hotel in Italy. When we checked out and paid our hotel bill there was no thank you or hope you enjoyed your stay from The Management which surprised us. We enjoyed our stay but feel the hotel wasn't up to the normal 4 star standard of other hotels we've stayed in before.