Ratings based on 175 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel

Posted Jun 16, 2017
Pros: The evening meals and Italian wines were really good. In fact we only ate in house.
Location: It is also very close to the rail station and the cable car.
The hotel is ideally situated with superb views of the lake and within easy reach of both the ferries and the town
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Great view and location, that is about it!

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Very disappointing, even more so that we booked the junior suites. Not the level one would expect: rooms need a makeover, feels 60/70ish. Needs new rugs and beddings (so uncomfortable). Desolate roof terrace. Breakfast offer quite ordinary.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location and free on site parking

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is great and Stresa is a lovely town on the Lago Maggiore. Be aware that driving in and out a bit challenging since you are negotiating very narrow and twisting mountain roads. Stresa is small but has a lot of things to do like visiting islands and cable car ride!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

Beautiful hotel, disappointed with the room

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Location: As I said, the location is excellent, but there are not many things to do nearby, unless you drive to Switzerland and visit Lugano.
This hotel can't be placed in a better place, the staff is second to none, the restaurant is above average, the parking is only for a small number of guests, but the rooms, at least the one I have (305) are extremely small. Whit a King size bed, is not more than 75 centimeters around the bed of walking space. on that space, try to put 3 suitcases, a computer carry bag, and my wife handbags. In the balcony side, is a very small desk, just big enough to put my laptop, and not a chair to sit at the desk. the bathroom was not much different, biggest problem was the shower, there was not a curtain, only a folding door that cover half of the bath tab, making almost impossible to take a shower without getting a lot of water in the bathroom floor, and the space beside the sink, it's only enough room for to accommodate all the necessary elements. Beautiful location, nice people, but I will not go back, unless for some reason I got the smallest room in the hotel, and next time I get a normal one.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A bit of luxury

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was a real treat, a bit of luxury and fabulous views of the lake. Right on the lakeside and easy walking to the town centre, with plenty of places to eat and drink, and the boat terminal. Breakfast was good with a huge choice. Evening meal seemed a little mass produced so we only ate there once. The pool are was lovely. The hotel was very elegant. Inly one unfortunate incident, check you have been hiven back you passports (not someone elses) before you leave
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincs UK

Beautiful Hotel and very closed to town

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: None
Location: Great. Went to Switzerland/Matterhorn and 3 Lakes. Full days tours. Plenty of tours to choose from. Great travel agents 2 mins from hotel.
We were originally booked into the annexe which we hadn't realised. The room was large, a bit dated but ok but we were on the 2nd floor(which meant 6 flights of steps) and as we are over 70 we just couldn't do it so asked for a room change. The manager Franco was wonderful and arranged us to move into a lovely room inside the hotel which had lifts. We had to pay a supplement but this we didn't mind. We had a wonderful 10 days and would certainly go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Good location close to centre.

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Lobby, lounge area & spacious room. Location.
Cons: Update decoration & furniture in bedrooms & around pool area.
Location: Easy walking to ferries, train. Loved the trip to Domodossala & on ferries especially to Isola Bella. Promenade flat for walking.
Lovely lobby, lounge & dining room area. No information in room or lobby about the hotel facilities. Bedroom outdated decor needs a redecoration & new furniture/fridge. Lovely spacious room & balcony. Pillows hard. Bathroom clean & shower was great. Breakfast good choice. Loungers around pool need renewing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, UK

Great position

Posted Sep 7, 2016
The hotel is in a great position overlooking the lake and only a few minutes walk from the town centre and the ferry terminal. It is a very traditionally run establishment which means that it can be a little too formal at times and sometimes lacks the personal touch. Having said that, the service was always excellent, fast and efficient and some of the staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room was a good size but needed updating as did the bathroom and the beds were very hard. The restaurant is lovely and bright with wonderful views of the lake. We didn't eat dinner at the hotel but the breakfast had a good variety and the service was excellent. The bar and lounge are also very pleasant, relaxed and comfortable The pool area had a charm and a peaceful atmosphere but again, could do with some upgrading. We preferred the area in the gardens at the front of the hotel where there were sunbeds as well as tables and chairs.
3 out of 5
by Bharti from Northampton

Don't book a room in the annex!

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
We booked an expensive room as a treat and knew that it would be an annex room. We did not expect it to be a completely separate building which was not in keeping with the rest if the hotel and. There was no tea/ coffee making g facilities which I would have expected for the price and the room was smelly and shabby with old furniture which had seen better days. Very much a reminder of ' upstairs, downstairs ' with us being in the servants quarters. Very disappointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mass

beautiful views of Lake Maggorie

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: The location is great and staff are excellent
Cons: update the décor.
Location: located close to downtown, shops and restauarnts
Hotel Astoria is a lovely hotel that overlooks lake Maggorie. The property is older but fairly well kept. The staff were friendly and helpful with information. We choose to upgrade to a lake view room which was well worth the money. We used the balcony every evening to enjoy the view and a glass of wine. The rooms have all the basics needed for a comfortable stay but could do with some updating. That being said for the money we would stay there again. It is located close to the town center, a five minute walk. The hotel also has parking which is convenient and safe. The breakfast is good with plenty of choices and great service. although we did not use the pool area it was really nice with plenty of seating. The property has a front patio and lawn chairs on the front lawn with great views of the lake. Many guest have an afternoon tea or drink in this area, a great way to meet others traveling in the area.