Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Fine for one night

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: It was a close walk from the train station and to the downtown area.
Cons: The wifi--it didn't work in the room.
Location: Close to all the major activities in the downtown area.
The room was fine for a night. The beds were comfortable enough, but the wifi did not work in the room. The air conditioning worked, which was nice because the windows do not have screens on them.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Value Hotel Clean and Comfortable

Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Hotels
Good location set back one road from the lake where the hotels are 4 and 5 star. Ask for a room with a balcony and lake view. Breakfast is OK if nothing exciting and the wi fi didnt work in the bedroom. Comfortable 6 ft bed (two twins pushed together) Stresa is the perfect location for a stay at Lake Maggiore
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel, Good Location

Posted Sep 18, 2016 on Hotels
If approaching by car, do so from the East as it's much easier. When you enter the traffic restricted zone, take note of the time, you'll have 24-hours parking from then. Drop your bags off at the Hotel and get a parking ticket from the hotel. The parking offered by the Hotel can be used within the white lines (blue is pay and display, yellow is for residents). Parking is a nightmare, you'll have to drive round several times to find a space. Display the ticket on the dashboard, and enjoy! The Hotel is very well located, and is suprisingly quiet. Rooms are nicely decorated, a decent size, and our bathroom/shower was the best of all the hotels we stayed in. Breakfast nicely presented (pastries, meats, cheese etc.), and good quality. Would stay again!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a great hotel

Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Hotels
Awful little hotel. Do not cross the elderly woman behind reception. Our room was very small and we asked to move but because I posted a check in review that mentioned the poor check in, Mould and damp in the bathroom and the small room I was told by her that they would not move us because of my comments on hotels.com!!!!!!! One further point, we were in Italy, the home of coffee and at breakfast which was included but was basic and cheap, they actually wanted to charge for an expresso coffee. In addition, in the four nights that we were there we never got any replacement soap and there was only one glass for two people cleaning their teeth. Will not stay here again, very very poor.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 10, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 22, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: Had a nice balcony with a table and two chairs
Cons: Add an option for a late checkout. There were lots of spare rooms, my flight was at 22:00 it would have been nice to have been able to stay longer.
Location: Not too far from the center. Close to the sky bar and the lido
Nothing bad but nothing great either about this hotel. No late checkout and if they keep your bags after you have checked out, these are just left in the lobby for anyone to take. Breakfast buffet is OK a few croissants, bacon, ham, cereal, juice etc
3 out of 5
by Ahmed from Luzern, Switzerland

Good value for money

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
Good location, clean facilities, friendly staff, very quick checkin and checkout. Room was a bit small for a single person, and walls a bit thin. I would definitely stay there again, but with a double bed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Fife

Excellent location

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: All but one of the staff were very cheerful and helpful. Bedding always crisp, fresh changed daily
Cons: Breakfast adequate but needs to be replenished more often as on a couple of occasions there was no water while we were having breakfast.
Location: Excellent location, very relaxing holiday not a lot to do apart from trips to the islands and train journeys to Milan and surrounding towns.
Very close to the lake and only a few minutes walk from the centre of town. All staff at the hotel were very pleasant and helpful (except one young girl who didn't seem to want to be there). I would say the positive points outweigh any negatives. Don't expect lots of bars as there tend to be lots of restaurants rather than our type of pubs. All staff seem to be very friendly and keen to give advice on types of wine etc. If you go out at the right time you get little tasters of foccacia, pizza, sandwiches etc which were always of great quality. No wild nights out, more of a relaxing holiday. Absolutely spectacular scenery, so many photo opportunities
2 out of 5
by Graeme

Disappointing

Posted Jul 20, 2016 on Hotels
Very disappointed with this hotel. The room was extremely small with 2 suitcases you couldn't move in the room. The walls were super thin. We could hear entire conversations on either side of our room and whatever TV show was on. Breakfast was poor, stale bread, not much choice. The bathroom was renovated which was good however the towels were old and thin. On the positive side the location was excellent near the station, ferry terminal and town.