Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Nice views of Lake Maggiore...

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: View of lake, swimming in lake
We only stayed for one night at Hotel Camin Colmegna, and found that it was a nice hotel, with a decent breakfast. They have a nice 'beach' area to laze about and go for a swim in the lake, which is a grassed area with chairs and a bar, and stair or ladder access to the lake. Swimming in the lake was very refreshing as it was hot and humid when we arrived. The room was smallish, but had pleasant views to Lake Maggiore. The parking was good. The hero at this hotel are the views of Lake Maggiore. There is not much else nearby within walking distance. In fact you can't walk along the road very far in either direction, as it is a main road with no footpaths. It is walking distance to the railway station for access to Luino.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UAE

Bike hotel

Posted Aug 7, 2015
Fantastic location , stunning setting , comfortable rooms, secret gardens and romantic pathways and hideaways beautiful. Dedicated bike room with stands and washing machine a massive bonus .. We loved it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from UK

Great for families as a base

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Pros: Beautiful location and grounds.
Cons: Car parking was a bit tricky. Thye have three car parks, but they can get full
Location: Most places are a quick drive away, but there is a choice of supermarkets approx 2km away, fantastic swimming pools (both to the north).
Great hotel and staff. Perfect base for exploring the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Northeast WI

Lakeside!

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Flowery breezy lakeside
Cons: Manager gave me a snobby impression but she was only there for a moment.
Location: Very close to Yari family restaurant across street. Luino market on Wed 4 km away. Lakeside and swimming beach right outside.
This was a superior hotel and a bit upscale. View was spectacular from our room. The desk lady was unbeatable; sweet and cheerful as can be. Bed was one piece mattress but pretty hard. This hotel is a short train, bus, or car ride of about 4km from Luino and their market. Not recommended to walk it. Bike it ok.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bill from Martinez, CA

Idyllic location, rich history

Posted Sep 19, 2013
The elegance of this hotel may have faded somewhat, but it's still elegant. The secluded waterfront location is a treasure. The views are spectacular!! The property offers a spa, a grotto, a boat entry. The food is good, the service not quite together. There is a train stop at Colmegna, but we had to carry luggage from there to the hotel (.5km). It would have been nice to stay longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Geoff from Essex, UK

Perfect for a break

Posted Sep 13, 2012
Location: Outstanding, right on the lake. Stunning views and scenery.
Definitely the best we have ever stayed in. Beautiful setting, great room and view, very friendly staff, lovely food. We plan to return again next September and each September after that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from Leicester, UK

Fabulous views of Lake Maggiore

Posted Aug 5, 2012
Pros: The view, the balcony, the gardens and the food.
Cons: The position on a busy road.
Location: Fantastic views, huge grounds, right on the lake but also on a busy road.
We stayed for two nights at the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were lucky enough to have a room with a balcony overlooking the lake, ideal for sitting and enjoying the views. Our room was very pretty if a little on the small side. We ate in the restaurant both evenings and the meals were delicious and the staff helpful and friendly. Breakfast was served overlooking the lake and it included a really wide range of choices.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

In Colmegna

Posted May 4, 2012
Pros: The people were very helpful and friendly and most spoke English.
Cons: The distance from everything else.
Location: Lovely but hard to travel to anywhere else without a car.
This is a lovely location and the hotel has very nice service, however, it is not in the town of Luino and is not within walking distance to the ferry. We had many challeneges getting from the hotel to anywhere else. Weekends and holidays have limited train and bus schedules and we could not find a car to rent. There was only one taxi as far as we could tell. It is imperative that you rent a car or be very diligent about using the train (which is very close to the hotel, but limited in schedule). I expected the ambiance to feel as ancient and historic as its pedigree, but the hotel really felt more like 1960, with American music and a menu to go along with it. The grounds are stunning and full of fun little things to discover. There is only one other restraurant in Colmegna, and Itlaian Pizzeria across the street, and no other amusements beyond the grounds. While we enjoyed our saty, I would choose a hotel in Stresa where you can easily link to nearly all the other sites.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Brighton, UK

Wonderful hotel on Lake Maggiore

Posted May 23, 2011
This hotel delivers quality beyond the prices it charges. A dreamlike location on the eastern shore of Lake Maggiore; probably the best view from any hotel window in Europe. The grounds/gardens are wonderful, with an unending choice of the perfect place to sit at any time of day. Fantastic welcome and continued great service from a staff team that reflects the passion and attention to detail of the owner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles CA

best location

Posted Sep 19, 2008
We LOVEd this hotel because of it's location. It has a beautiful restaurant right by the Water and a private beach with bar-service, beautiful walkways and amazing private gardens, a hidden gazebo (or Green house) where you can go and chill out .... simply beautiful and very romantic. The rooms are not too fancy but very clean!!... If you are planning to stay in your room all day with room-service...this is not for you! This place is perfect for people who enjoy the out-doors, a beautiful setting, I would and will return to this beautiful place some day!!