Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Shabby needs some serious upgrding and cleaning

Posted Sep 24, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was shabby and in great need of a full upgrade. The floors in the breakfast area looked like they had not been cleaned for months. Cobwebs between cereal canisters turned me off my 12Euro breakfast. The bed was uncomfortable and I felt like I would fall off the edge when I turned. The staff were friendly and dressed beautifully, as you would expect in a 5 star hotel - a real contradiction to the condition of the property.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grantham

Right on the lakeshore in a quiet resort

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: right on the shore. Parking outside. Hotel staff.
Cons: decor maybe a little dated, but that's more my personal taste than a criticism
Location: on the water, affording wonderful views at dawn. Only about 3 miles from Stresa, the main hub for cruises and sights
Warm welcome from hotel receptionist, to a nice hotel right on the water. Parked outside the door. Room was fine, with a balcony overlooking the lake. Clean, pleasant, a nice place stay. Standard buffet breakfast was perfectly good.
4 out of 5
by miriam

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 3, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

The hotel was near the lake with good view.

Posted Jun 11, 2016
Pros: The friendly staff members especially the very helpful receptionist.
Cons: Lift, lift, lift and a standard breakfast please.
Location: Overall, I believe it’s a beautiful little town with great sceneries that sadly lacks basic things like proper, reliable, transportation system.
The staff members were helpful and friendly. Unfortunately their breakfast menu was the worst ever for what they charge. What does it take to include few choices of fruits for those who are vegetarians or vegan? Not everyone is interested in having only sausage/ham. We had to settle for plain bread with tea in the mornings, for all the 5 days we stayed. Their old lift could hardly fit 2 people let alone to carry your luggage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice quite town, midway on lake maggiore.

Posted Sep 17, 2015
Weather wasn't too good on our visit. Sunday has little public transport available and unless we want to call taxis which I was not sure the cost. Though there is a tourist information office nearby, u need to ask the right question before u get the helpful alternatives in transport such as train service etc..But in general staff are friendly. But it will be good if they can provide some shuttle services or more proactive in helping customers to get around the towns nearby.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good staff, but uncomfortable rooms.

Posted Jun 6, 2015 on Hotels
The staff was most helpful and professional, particularly, Walter, Alessio and Francesca. The hotel in general was rather disappointing and in need of upgrading and repair. The bathrooms and beds were substandard.The internet never worked in the rooms and only sometimes in the public areas. The back of the hotel is quite noisy at night as it is right on the road.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, Florida

Great hotel by the water's edge in lake Maggiore

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Everything!!!!
Cons: The wi-fi reception
Location: At the water's edge, close to Milano (1/2 hour) Go to the islands in the lake, go to nearby towns full of charm and character.
Our room was in the 3rd floor and the view was awesome. We could walk everywhere. The atmosphere was one of elegance and music to go with it. The staff was the real deal. There to make your stay as pleasant as possible. You don't see that often. We will be back for sure.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful location, average hotel

Posted Jun 3, 2014 on Hotels
Hotel Milano is situated right on the lake and has wonderful views (the road runs just behind the hotel). Staff at the hotel are very friendly. The rooms are fine (they may seem expensive for their size & condition but in comparison to prices in the area they are just fine). The breakfast was very average for the area (i.e. nothing particularly wrong with it, you just would expect a little more given the price you are paying). Overall we enjoyed our stay at the hotel due to the great location and friendly staff. However, there are a couple of downsides to the hotel that detracted from our stay (and I am not sure we would return). Firstly, they do NOT have internet available in the rooms (despite what it says in their hotels.com description), the internet is only available downstairs in their lobby/bar area. Also beware of the bottles of water in your room, you will be charged for these. The rooms have small fridges which are empty apart from two bottles of water, which we assumed were complimentary as there was no note to say these were to be purchased and no other drinks in the fridge which would indicate that it is a mini bar. However, on check out we were charged 2 euro per small bottle, this was disappointing given the price you pay per night at the hotel.
5 out of 5
by Claudia from Switzerland

Wonderful stay

Posted Apr 23, 2014 on Hotels
We had a wonderful stay at Hotel Milano. Our room had a beautiful lake view. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The restaurant also has a great view and the staff is very attentive and efficient. We stayed for Easter Sunday and my kids were very happy to find a chocolate bunny and chocolate eggs in our room for them. Nice touch! We took the ferry and visited the islands and also drove through the little towns. Beautiful. Everything was very close to the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gen from London

Traditional with beautiful lake views

Posted Sep 2, 2013
Pros: Cleanliness, friendliness of staff
Cons: Breakfast selection
Location: Small village location a few restaurants and bars nearby. Also bus to stresa is from outside hotel
Traditional and quirky hotel with a unique character. Staff were extremely helpful and the whole hotel was spotless including the rooms.