Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to the main drag and piazza, like 50 yards.

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: location and service
Cons: the breakfast buffet selection
Location: it is is the center of everything but yet you do not hear any noise.
excellent facility, arrange our airport transport, even made us a cappuccino as we left befor e the buffet breakfast. very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Excellent hotel & staff

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: Comfort, cleanliness and close to everything
Cons: ?
Location: Many sights on the water and in the little town the hotel was close to most everything
The staff will make your experience exceptional. We left a C-PAP machine on the train. Marina took much of her time filing reports in Italian so we could locate and pick up the device. The kitchen staff greeted us each morning and remembered what kind of coffee we liked. The manager, Luca, was most helpful upon our arrival giving us directions and suggestions as we wanted to visit the islands. The cleaning staff provided extra pillows when they realized we had used extra blankets to prop ourselves up for reading the first night. We just felt cared for and enjoyed our stay immensely.
4 out of 5
by carlos aganzo from newcastle upon tyne

Great location and fantastic service

Posted Nov 3, 2013 on Hotels
loved it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Omi from Bern

city center Hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2013
Pros: Front desk always helpful, as concierge should be
Cons: The breakfast Buffet needs improvement. WIFI doesn't work on 4 th floor, but happy to say it worked perfectly in Lobby
Location: Drinks at Grand Hotels along the promenade in Stresa. Nightcup at " Massimo's close to Hotel Moderno, people watching. Drive along the lovely coast
Stresa Friday Market a must for 1.time visitors. Restaurants from touristy to excellent. Our 2 nights in a row return to the Restaurant " Piemontese "for dinner speaks for itself, dinner excellent, wine recommendation nicely guided, service top notch, and the ambience charming especially in the Patio part.. The fratelli i.e Brothers Bellossi owned and run Restaurant is a true gem.. For the fish lovers amongst us the " Il Clandestino" somewhat more pricey, but definitely worth it. Try the suggestions by the chef and pair each course with the appropriate wine, selected by staff. A truely unique experience and my guess this place is a contender for a Guide Michelin star.
4 out of 5
by Jeremy

Clean, quiet, close ....

Posted Oct 17, 2012 on Hotels
Hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful. Bedroom was basic but of good size and very clean. Hotel is on a quiet street a few metres from the Lake and close to bars, restaurants and free parking.
2 out of 5
by Megan

Stay elsewhere

Posted Oct 3, 2012 on Hotels
Nice location, but the hotel was overrun with a loud tour group. Service at breakfast was indifferent, bed was awful. Not a good value for the price. Stay elsewhere.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Africa

Great location

Posted Aug 21, 2011 on Hotels
We stayed at Hotel Moderna initially for 2 days and extended it for an additional 4 nights as it was the ideal place to use as a base to explore Lake Maggiore and surrounding areas At night it was close to the main Piassa in Stresa 2 minutes walk but far enough away not to be disturbed at night The breakfasts were great under a vine covered patio
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Naples, Italy

Location great, beds terrible...

Posted Aug 3, 2011 on Hotels
Sorry, I really wanted to give a good review of this hotel. The staff were so polite and kind, the location is great - a block to the water and the hotel itself is cute. But, the beds are so hard that you cannot sleep on them. If you want to be close to the action, and you can sleep on a rock, go for it. Otherwise, I'd advise this hotel to invest in some new beds and they'd get a great rating from people like me!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newport Beach CA

Hotel Moderno

Posted Jun 22, 2011 on Hotels
A great hotel in a super position in the town near to restaurants, ferries and shops.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 13, 2011 on Hotels