Ratings based on 119 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from York, UK

Old fashioned elegance

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Its charm and slightly faded elegance. It has changed very little since our first visit 25 years ago, a continuity much appreciated by my wife and I.
Cons: It would be very difficult to change the hotel without threatening its essence and charm.
Location: We particularly enjoyed the gardens at Villa Taranto and the Lake Maggiori Express trip, to Locarno by train and return to Baveno by boat.
Our third visit to this wonderful hotel on beautiful Lake Maggiori. We have been to both Lake Como and Lake Garda but our favourite lake remains Maggiori. We hope to return to the same hotel next year- can't wait!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Surrey,UK

Baveno's Hidden Gem

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: Spent enjoyable mornings having a pot of coffee on the terrace overlooking the lake and also an aperitivo in the afternoon.
Location: It was a 15 minute walk to Baveno along the main road – there is no safe walk to Stresa – there is a path set back from the road however.
Lovely stylish hotel with a difference! It has a great history and has had visits by Churchill and Queen Victoria. It is a spacious hotel and quite awesome! Spent enjoyable mornings having a pot of coffee on the terrace overlooking the lake and also an aperitivo in the afternoon. The staff here are friendly,relaxed and always on hand. Our room was large and was over looking the lake giving us an amazing view, we had a large window with wrought iron panel, some rooms have a small balcony, the room was clean with period furnishings. The Pool area had several smaller areas, some grassed and was relaxing – the pool was clean and a joy to use. There is a small beach on the lakefront which is also very quiet and we enjoyed swimming in the lake – it does get deep very quickly so be aware if with young children. It was a 15 minute walk to Baveno along the main road – there is no safe walk along that road to Stresa – there is a path set back from the road however. We used the SAF/Alibus from Malpensa to get to Baveno – 1 hour and then the train to return with 1 change. We enjoyed this holiday so much that we are already planning to return next year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north Yorkshire

Great hotel overlooking lake

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Lovely hotel full of old world charm overlooking lake maggiore . Great staff extremely helpful. Would recommend and will be retuning.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel with great service.

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
Enjoyed every minute of it.
5 out of 5
by Patricia from NYC

Best hotel in the Stresa area

Posted Jul 8, 2016 on Hotels
We arrived late and they couldn't be more gracious. We came late for breakfast and they went out of their way to see we had coffee and something to eat. The owner Paolo cares so much about his hotel. It really was such a pleasure to be there.
5 out of 5
by shelley from Oviedo, FL

LOVED this hotel! ❤️

Posted Jul 7, 2016 on Hotels
There is SO much history at this hotel! How often do you get to stay in the same grand hotel that Winston Churchill spent his honeymoon night at, or Queen Elizabeth's great grandmother frequently stayed at? Not me, that along with the beautiful view of the lake & islands, plus our room was clean & comfortable, and within walking distance to the boat tours that take you to the islands across the lake!
4 out of 5
by Dan

Wonderful hotel in a charming place

Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel of great character. All the hotel's stuff did their best so that we enjoy our vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sussex

Family holiday to Baveno, Lake Maggiore.

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Pros: Not too big and the friendliness. It wasn't too modern and quiet hotel and location.
Location: Liked the boat trips to Isola Bella and Isola Pescatori. Enjoyed boat trip to Switzerland and bucket lifts in Laveno. Some nice restaurants to eat at.
Enjoyed the area and the nice friendly hotel. Hotel is only a short walk from the ferry terminal and railway station is not too far away at the back of the town. Some lovely lakeside bars and cafe's to sit and eat or have a drink.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2015 on Hotels
Great location and views, however the hotel is a little tired and outdated. Simple improvements like new towels and bedding would go a long way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hickory, NC

Elegant older hotel with breathtaking view of Lake

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, one of the best bargains we've had in Europe, the view.
Location: Lake Maggiore is in the foothills of the Italian Alps. The islands have old palaces and gardens and are the major attraction. We only spent one day.
We flew into Malpensa Airport (Milan) and it was less than hour drive to the hotel. Midweek in early June, we practically had the town of Baveno to ourselves. The hotel was just outside town, which helped with parking; but it was an easy walk to town where you could get ferries to the famous islands. Not all the staff spoke English, but the ones that did were extremely helpful. We had lunch outside, right on the lake. Dinner at the hotel was good (not great), but the view was spectacular.