Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Jean from Worksop

Would highly recommend.Good & very clean.

Posted Jun 17, 2016 on Hotels
Massimo was the perfect host and the place was beautifully maintained and very clean. It had a good view of the lake. The breakfast was very good in fact cannot fault the place at all and would recommend it to anyone. There is a very steep hill down to the town and would not advise walking as the road is narrow and has no paths.
2 out of 5
by Steve from Hampshire

Not the room expected

Posted Sep 12, 2015 on Hotels
On booking the choice of room was with lake view or garden view and we booked a room with a garden view. On arrival we were given a room in the basement with a window that only had a light tunnel to the pavement above. There were no garden rooms available and we were offered another room with lake view at extra cost which was in the attic but it had a very low beams which we had to wrap a towel around to avoid cracking our heads and no shower that you could stand up in because of the low roof. I would advise when booking you clarify the type of room you are getting as there is no mention of basement rooms. Whilst the owner is very pleasant and helpful we would not return to this particular accommodation
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely setting

Posted Jul 14, 2015 on Hotels
The room we stayed in was at the top of the house with a big balcony. The two loungers for sitting in on the balcony both had broken arms.It was very difficult to stand up straight in most of the room due to the rafters. We had to walk around bent over a lot of the time so that we didn't bang our heads. It was also very hot in the room (30 deg) which made it very uncomfortable for sleeping. I did ask if it was possible to get a fan but there wasn't one. The room was very clean & two free bottles of water were provided each day. The B&B is about a 20 minute downhill walk into Stressa but a steep walk back which is normally fine if you are fairly fit & it isn't unbearable heat. Breakfast was okay but it would have been nice to have some fresh fruit. This was our second stay at this B&B. The first time we were in a room which looked onto a brick wall which was okay for the one night. I thought that a room with a balcony would be better for our second stay but unfortunately this wasn't the case. There are rooms downstairs that looked alright which perhaps would have been better.
4 out of 5
by elizabeth from Florida

Good

Posted Jun 12, 2015 on Hotels
Pleasant staff, good breakfast, nice garden, the place its 15 minutes uphill from stressa
3 out of 5
by Joseph

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 30, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Matos Clan from NJ

Hospitality - Well Done

Posted Sep 18, 2014 on Hotels
Massimo was outstanding in providing excellent quality customer service. He will meet all your needs. Tough walk down to Stresa with little or no sidewalks. There are some short cuts but coming back up the hill in the dark could be a challenge. Would definitely return.
5 out of 5
by Robert Béliveau from Montreal

Paradise in Lago Maggiore

Posted Sep 11, 2014 on Hotels
Everything was perfect. Massimo did his best to provide information, is very generous and kind. Breakfast is great, the place felt very secure. Easy to find if you have a GPS.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales UK

Beautiful house for B&B in convenient location

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: its character and lovely rooms. Lovely breakfast!
Cons: sat nav code
Location: only stayed 1 night but Stressa was very vibrant with plenty of shops and restaurants
Slightly difficult to find... but when we did we found a beautiful house, had a lovely welcome and wonderful room/suite overlooking the lake (allbeit a little distance away). The room was full of character and the bathroom was lovely though the low ceilings were 'entertaining' for my 6 foot 2" husband! but it really didn't matter. We had a lovely 1 night stay, drove into Stressa and enjoyed our evening. Would definitely recommend and would love to go back, MANY THANKS to the helpful man (Sorry unable to remember his name)who looked after the house for the owner - he was very friendly and helpful about places to visit etc. Thank you for a lovely stay. Breakfast was very nice too!
5 out of 5
by Greig from Scotland

Fantastic views

Posted Aug 1, 2014 on Hotels
We only stayed overnight but the B&B was in a stunning location at the top of a hill where you could see the lake. It is a 20 minute walk down into Stressa but is uphill all the way back which wasn't a problem for us. The B&B was very clean but our room had a slightly damp smell about it when you first walked in. The windows in our room looked onto brick walls therefore the curtains were kept closed. There was a nice seating area where you could sit inside or outside & a fridge where you could keep drinks cold. Breakfast was the usual continental, croissants, breads & jams with juice & tea/coffee. Stressa is a beautiful town & if we ever visit again we would stay at this B&B.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by World Travelers from Champaign, IL

Cozy Bed & Breakfast on a hill above Stresa, Italy

Posted Jul 12, 2013
Pros: The location is a little removed from the city, which can be noisy sometimes, and the atmosphere cozy. The host is especially helpful and friendly.
Location: The Lago Maggiore location is great, and there is no shortage of things to do. We simply reveled in the views of the lake, islands, and mountains.
We (a mature couple) stayed at this B&B for 3 nights. The B&B is located on a hill above Stresa - a 10 minute drive up a winding road, or a half hour hike on fairly steep stairs/paths. The view of the lake and surrounding area, standing on our private balcony, was spectacular. The room was very quiet. Our room was on the top floor, and the ceiling was sloped over part of the space. This made for a very attractive architectural effect, but also required some care when moving in that part of the room. The continental breakfast was good. The host, Massimo, is very friendly, and helpful, and speaks good English. He lent us wine glasses and a corkscrew for the duration of our stay, helped with planning exploration of what the Lago Maggiore area has to offer, and recommended local restaurants that we would not have discovered on our own, and which we really enjoyed.