Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not a hotel

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: central location
Cons: this was a room, one of many owned by a family or company in the town, so shouldn't really be called a hotel.
Location: central location, about 100 metres from main piazza. ferries to san guilio island and round lake ferries from main piazza. lots of restaurants.
this was a room 2 floors up steep stone steps, above a shop.
2 out of 5
by John from Colorado

Careful lots of misrepresentation

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Breakfast was good.
Cons: They could be honest about the rooms and impossible parking.
Location: Nice lake, cute tourist town and beautiful monastery at the top of a mountain, a very arduous climb.
"Free" parking is totally unusable at top of a mountain a mile away and no parking anywhere near hotel so forget about getting luggage to the rooms. They tried to put us in an awful dark, damp room and we had to argue to get a decent room with a window. This hotel was grossly misrepresented on Expedia and very overpriced, although town is cute, lake is nice and breakfast (in another hotel) was good. Be careful with this place. Expedia customers are low priority for this hotel. We needed to park (10 Euros/day) at a private garage and drag our bages 500 meters down steep cobblestone paths or steps, then up rwo flights of stairs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Victoria from Canterbury Kent UK

Lovely quirky hotel

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Pros: I have a soft-spot for the Piccolo Olina having stayed there three times in the past thirteen years
Cons: Nothing - there are lots of steps but then it's in a medieval town
Location: Lake Orta is lovely but now spoiled by too many tourists so selfishly I'd say don't go. I'm glad I've seen it at its quiet best
Rooms vary hugely but ours was great. Best breakfast in Italy
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Difficult to find, but good location near square.

Posted Aug 25, 2013
Pros: Location near main square. Good value for money. Good choice of breakfast.
Cons: Signage so its easier to find.!!
Accommodation was very difficult to find, we arrived by car and struggled to get close by so had to find it on foot, which was still a challenge as the hotel reception is just a doorway and the accommodation is then elsewhere so we were taken several streets away to our rooms and then had to carry the luggage along cobbled streets. We later saw cars driving along the cobbled streets but they are very narrow so when we checked out we decided it was easier/safer to carry the bags back to the car again which was a pain as we were travelling with a toddler so also had a buggy etc. the hotel's free parking was also a bit of a distance away so we ended up parking on a street but there are limited free spaces so you need to ensure you are parked in the white bays which are free, or pay to park. The accommodation was in a good location just a few minutes walk from the main square however there wasn't anywhere close by to swim in the lake and we had to walk about 20 mins to the "beach" area. The rooms themselves were basic but were clean. there were tea making facilities but no fridge which would have been handy. they also forgot our towels and a fan but we got them when we asked. Breakfast was served in a separate building on the main square, plenty of choice on a serve yourself basis - they even had a frying pan and hot stove so you could fry your own eggs etc, but they need a new toaster as everyone wanted to use it at the same time and it was the slowest toaster ever!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid at all costs!

Posted Jul 30, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Air conditioning in the room. Replace worn towels and bedding.
Hotel is in an excellent location. Unfortunately that is the only good thing I can say about it. We stayed in a family room. There was no air conditioning so the window had to be left open. Unfortunately we were across from a restaurant and the noise particularly at the end of the night when the restaurant was closing was terrible. The condition of the room was very poor. There were holes in the wall where things had been removed and the holes not filled. The bedding and towels were threadbare. The cheap furniture in the room was very tatty. The TV had a 10 - 12 '' screen. Unless you were directly in front of it the picture was distorted, consequently only 1 person could watch the TV at a time. Overall I felt that the owners of this hotel know they can rent the room due to location and do not care about the experience of their customers. The sad thing is that it would not take a lot to transfer this from a drab unwelcoming room to a lovely experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2012
Excellent, friendly staff. Great location. Overall excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pauline from Cardiff

!

Posted Jul 10, 2012
Pros: Typical Italian charm.
Cons: Would have liked a better view of the lake
Location: Centre of medieval towm of Orta San Giulia, 1 minute from main Piazza.
The hotel ois made up of various appartments and although not luxurious the rooms are very comfortable, rustic and typically Italian. The restaurant is superb and the breakfast bar is great, help yourself to as much as you like. Lucky enough to have a small view of the lake, would have been fantastic if we could have had a room overlooking the lake, that would have been the icing on the cake. Cafe Jazz bar below the hotel is fantastic and Alex the bartender made everyone welcome. Would definately return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Yvonne from Essex, UK

My experience

Posted Jun 9, 2012
Pros: The array of breakfast selections
Cons: Bin men waking me up early
Location: Good location within reach of main square, shops and tours of lake
Not the set up I was expecting being dis-jointed accomodation but still perfectly adequate. We arrived after the deadline of booking in. If my contact hadn't have picked up the key then I don't know what would have happened.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Bergen, Norway

Good quality hotel

Posted Aug 22, 2011
We were very satisfied with our stay. The hotel has one of the best breakfasts we have experienced in Italy. They are also closely tied to one of the best restaurants in town. The hotel is located in several different facilities in town. This is a little confusing and not all facilities are easily reached by car. The hotel has free parking facilities outside of the town. The only small downside was that the room we (house?) we were in lacked air conditiioning. The town also is small and can sometimes be too full of tourists.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Aberystwyth

Mmmm!

Posted Jul 5, 2011
I made my booking based on previous reviews but non of them seemed to deliver the reality of this hotel. The location for this hotel is brilliant- situated in the beautiful village of Orta. However there is NO vehicular access to the hotel and this involves carrying cases about 500 m down some steps and a steep hill. the hotel provided a free car park which was even further away - about 1km - 15 min walk. I transferred my overnight needs to a small bag and left my suitcase in the car to save trekking through the village with a large case. The reception was based in a very small office on the main street where very helpful receptionists explained that the accommodation was about 100m away and guided me to the building and room. which was basic but clean and comfortable. breakfast was in another hotel in the opposite direction and was wonderful with excellent choice and all you could eat. Although this seems unconventional, All establishments were under the same management and , due to restricted space in the village , the arrangement works quite well if you are prepared to put up with moving to different places. The restaurant next to the reception was good also and worth a try. It's not as romantic as the setting but nevertheless I would go again.