Ratings based on 145 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Enjoy all on offer

Posted Sep 21, 2016 on Wotif
We visited in September when the summer was threatening to depart. We were at the end of a four week visit so happy to spend time around the lovely pool extracting the last of the summer rays. Sun lounger views are gorgeous and if the weather inclement - go underground to the spa and sauna.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2017 by Daniela Tallarico, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Chris il Wolf, Thank you very much for your kind review and for spending your time in writing about us. The Owner, the Management and all the Staff hope to welcome you soon back at Villa & Palazzo Aminta! Warm regards. Daniela Tallarico Front of House Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Hotel as expected for a 5 star rating

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: Quality
Cons: nothing
Location: Outstanding Lake views
It was a holiday nothing more needed as I said it was a holiday nothing more needed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2017 by Daniela Tallarico, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. JC, Thank you very much for your kind review. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed the time spent at Villa & Palazzo Aminta. Looking forward to welcome you again, we remain with Best regards. Daniela Tallarico Front of House Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

piece of heaven!

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pristine view from every room in the hotel, walk out door to beach to swim or catch the boat to Borreamo island, or have a cocktail and play bocci ball or just sit and enjoy the beautiful flower gardens. 15 min walk into quaint town of Stresa or be more adventurous and hike in mountains. Teen age kids enjoyed Mottorone, alpland, and swimming in lake. Some options for water sports. Beauty of the lake is the setting in the mountains, sail boats, etc. not overrun with jet skis and party boats. Aminta staff all around was welcoming and helpful, breakfast was healthy and delicious with many options, hotel has beautiful Venetian glass chandeliers and furniture. We had two rooms which were very comfortable, clean, Etro amenities were exceptional and balconies with stunning partial lake views. Minimal counter space to layout your things but you really don't need much here. My family loved Aminta and Stresa, just wish we planned for a few more days. Spa looked beautiful but we did not have enough time to visit but a morning at the spa would have been perfect. Definitely recommend for a couple, family with kids of all ages if you are looking for some spectacular views, enjoy outdoor mountain and water sports, and some time to sit back, have a cocktail, and just relax and enjoy some perfect weather.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2017 by Daniela Tallarico, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. LSA, Thank you very much for your kind review and for spending your time in writing about us. The Owner, the Management and all the Staff hope to welcome you soon back at Villa & Palazzo Aminta! Warm regards. Daniela Tallarico Front of House Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Nice Views from the hotel.

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: Location . Not too big .
Cons: They could do with more variety on the Menu's
Had a wonderful time here. Exceptional SPA. One could visit this hotel throughout the year. Hotel owner was hands on.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2017 by Daniela Tallarico, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. YJ, Thank you very much for your kind review. Every suggestion is for us a way to improve and we hope to welcome you soon in order to show you our menu. Warm regards. Daniela Tallarico Front of House Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very attentive staff. Fabulous location

Posted Aug 6, 2016
A little way out of Stresa, but great location on Lake Maggiore. Staff were extremely helpful and facilities were great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2017 by Daniela Tallarico, Hotel Management
Dear Mrs. Ann, Thank you very much for your kind review and for spending your time in writing about us. The Owner, the Management and all the Staff hope to welcome you soon back at Villa & Palazzo Aminta! Warm regards. Daniela Tallarico Front of House Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Bedroom and bathroom tiny

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Hotel was beautiful but our bedroom and bathroom were very small. There's was barely any room to stand in front of sink without falling in the toilet. Hotel was located about half hour walk from Stresa. Hotel did lay on shuttle 5 or maybe 6 times in the day but none in the evening and charged you 12€ at other times (if you get a private taxi it only costs 10€) which I thought was a rip off. Also a cup of tea cost 7€ !
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2017 by Daniela Tallarico, Hotel Management
Dear Mrs. Heather, Thank you very much for your kind review. Being in the past a private Villa, rooms have got different size and different shapes. We have decided to keep the building like this in order to recreate the same atmosphere. Because we are a small boutique Hotel in a peacefully corner, we preferred to let our clients enjoy a wellness corner but well equipped. Looking forward to welcome you again at Villa & Palazzo Aminta, we remain with Warm Regards. Daniela Tallarico Front of House Manager
5 out of 5
by Herbert C

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Herbert, Thank you very much for your kind words about the property and the Staff. We really look forward to welcome you back at Villa & Palazzo Aminta soon. Warm regards. Daniela Tallarico Front of House Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Royal experience

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Intriguing structure, built for the privileged in 1800 or so, it seemingly has every 5 feet decorated with a close eye to detail, part hotel, part museum. Room was small but elegant. Hotel staff is helpful. The view towards the islands and mountains will stun. The banks of Lago Maggiore, especially in front of the hotel, will impress. Few places can match the view...on Earth. Thumbs up.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2017 by Daniela Tallarico, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Joe, Thank you very much for your kind words. We thank you very much from all our Staff and we hope to welcome again in order to pamper you again. Warm regards. Daniela Tallarico Front of House Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cotswolds

Timeless Elegance and Style

Posted Jun 19, 2016
Pros: See Above
Cons: If I thought anything could be improved I would contact the hotel in the confidence they listen.
Location: A stunning location on Lake Maggiore with superb views of the Borromeo Islands, five minutes from the delightful and charming town of Stresa.
This was my ninth visit to the Villa Aminta so "I am a fan". The hotel is exquisitely presented the view of Lake Maggiore from both the sea view rooms and the restaurant is utterly charming and romantic. The rooms are beautifully appointed with luxury toiletries and storage aplenty for 23K case passengers. The, staff who are immaculately turned out, provide excellent and timely service. The breakfast offering is fresh and inventive and caters for all European tastes. The pool area is elegant and the Spa cleverly hidden below ground without compromising the architecturally pleasing overall facade. There is a regular shuttle service into Stresa and the limousine pick up by telephone at a time of your convenience for the evening. I have a hire car for much of my stay. Stresa is well situated for arriving from Southern Italy or Switzerland by train or car and the railway station is less than ten minutes from the hotel. The hotel has its own private lake side garden and birthing for excursions on the Lake. Should you wish to you can eat in a restaurant (there are two) in the evening and on many evenings there is musical entertainment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2017 by Daniela Tallarico, Hotel Management
Dear Mrs. Michelle, No more words are needed! Thank you very much for your trust and for being such a good Guest of Villa & Palazzo Aminta. We are very excited every time you contact us and we hope to welcome you soon again in our Resort. Warm regards. Daniela Tallarico Front of House Manager
5 out of 5
by Slav from Subiaco

Beauty meets luxury and comfort

Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels
What an exceptional place! Facing directly the Borromee Islands with views of the mountains! Only 2.4 km from the centre of Stresa. During the day there is a regular shuttle and a night for an acceptable charge one can get a taxi. We had a suite. The bathroom was supplied with Acqua di Parma products and excellent linen. The cleanliness and order all through the hotel were exemplary as they were daily for our room. The staff and the service were of style and at levels of the best European traditions. And this applies from the front door through the remarkable front desk and to the cleaning staff. (Not to mention the daily presence and personal approach to guests of the proprietor, which was felt and appreciated.) The breakfast is nice but somewhat limited in choices although it is more than adequate. There is something small new thing daily. The choice of cheeses definitely could be better and more varied. The two restaurants are very distinguished but we used the Italian only once. Considering the level of the restaurants we did not think that the prices were high. We did not use the Spa. Through the hotel we hired a boat for a day to visit the three Islands. We believe this to be the best option to visit the islands at one's leisure. We would strongly recommend it and would be going back as soon as we can.