Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quirky hotel

Posted Jul 27, 2017 on Hotels
We are an older couple who like to find quirky places to stay. This fit the bill. The only way to get to the hotel on top of a mountain overlooking Lago Maggiore was to have a 20 minute ride being pulled up in a bucket! The ride was special with a fabulous view of the lake and mountains. The hotel is old and tired and needs a good clean up of things they no longer need such as the torn flag decorations outside. Our suitcases came up,the mountain in a bucket also and to reach reception we had to drag them down 2 flights of stairs with no offer of help. On our departure I knew it would be very difficult to get our suitcases up 2 flights of stairs to the funivia so I asked for help.Bingo! They have a service elevator for goods direct from reception to the funivia. Why could they not have offered this to us before? We had dinner in the hotel restaurant one night. The service, food and view were good but why have a noisy karaoke during the meal? There is no kettle in the room but they gave me cups and a pot of hot water when I asked The manager and staff were pleasant
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful, unique location, good hotel.

Posted Jul 16, 2016 on Lastminute
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the ride up the gondola to the hotel was great and the vista is second to none.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Utah, USA

Isolated in the fog

Posted Sep 29, 2015
Pros: Probably a greeat view on a clearer day. Staff were pleasant when they were present.
Cons: alternate arrangements with a hotel in Laveno Mombello when the premises were fogged in and virtually deserted.
Location: Wait. Wait. Wait
Non-cancellable reservation… arrived at dusk in the fog with no lighting to the entrance. Fog did not lift but increased. I had a mostly thawed lasagna for lunch and decided to skip dinner. I was the only guest in the hotel until a couple arrived down the hall. Awoke to find fog, absollutely no one at the desk, in the kitchen, outside. Waited for two hours until a kithen worker arrived and told me where the breakfast room was located (I had walked around calling for anyone but did not go around to the back of area by the funicular) There was coffee and rolls and the couple i had heard previously were there. There was no way to gett off the mountain until the funicular was started (how did the cook and the breakfast room attendant get there?). I was snot pleased to find a 35 Euro charge for the lunch on my bill but foggy resignation had set in. A pity that alternate arrangements in Laveno Mombello could not have been offered.
5 out of 5
by James

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 31, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yeovil

Lovely views, shame about the accommodation

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: The views are spectacular.
Cons: It all needs updating.
Location: Near the lake, once down from the mountains.
On arrival we had to pay 10 euro per person to use the cable car to reach the hotel, this information is NOT included on your website. Whilst the views are fantastic the accommodation is very basic, and we had no hot water to shower, but were able to use another room. Had to eat in expensive and basic restaurant, as cable car doesn't run in the evening. Friendly staff if you can find them!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Information

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: Karaoke.setting .staff
Location: Amazing location
Good staff ,very helpful but no information regarding rooms,meals,tariffs,sightseeing in rooms or reception.
2 out of 5
by Glenn from West Malling

Needs a make over!

Posted Jul 5, 2014 on Hotels
The hotels location is amazing but unfortunately is let down by extremely dated rooms and generally messy surroundings. Staff are great and if the weather is kind to you the views are beautiful.. Worth a visit but only for one night! Also don't book it if you need to get away early the following morning as the cable car may not be running!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canberra, Australia

Fantastic views and nice staff

Posted Aug 25, 2013
Pros: Location, views and staff
Cons: Shower was a bit frustrating to manage - but this is Italy after all!
Location: Great location. Much better than staying in the town.
Fantastic views from high above Lago Maggiore. Friendly staff and good service. Great to spend time on room/bar/restaurant balconies. Easy to catch fun "bucket" lift up and down to Laveno. Hotel was very flexible with lift hours to fit in with our requirements. Room condition was ordinary, but we were not there for the room.
2 out of 5
by Yaniv

Amazing view, nothing else

Posted Oct 2, 2012 on Hotels
Funivia hotel is located on the summit of a mountain, hence need to be reached by cable car. this cable car is closed at 6 pm. we got there exactly on time (6 pm) and needed to convince the operator man to let us go up. once we got there, we found antique hotel, with very old furniture, bed and very uncomfortable bath (less than 50cm in length I assume with nothing to stop the water from getting out of it), so we gave up on taking a bath that day. The only option to eat is in the restaurant of the hotel which serve only few dishes which were very small and expensive, doesn't worth it. nothing to do later on. no minibar, very small TV. The view is amazing indeed but nothing more than that. wouldn't go there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Annie from UK

A piece of heaven overlooking Lago Maggiore

Posted Sep 14, 2012
Pros: The view is spectacular.
Cons: A bit confusing when you first arrive.
Location: Easy access to ferry to explore Lago Maggiore.
Friendly and efficient staff. Adequate room. Good restaurant. EXTRAORDINARY views from balcony and restaurant. However be aware that it is only accessible by cable car with limited hours.