Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Amazing location, amazing food.

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Right in the centre of the Centro storico. In the central Piazza. Walk to the lake to take a swim in the morning. This hotel (and their restaurant Olina) do everything their own way. They are original, but everything they do works perfectly. Amazing breakfast on the Piazza. Please Don't dine anywhere else than Olina. (And try the Filete or the polpo grillata!!)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Belfast

Family Wedding in Orta

Posted Oct 1, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was very well situated, but the reception itself was not in the hotel. After arrival it took me a little bit of time and stress to find the reception, but the room was (almost) worth the money I paid. There is only a few things I would change about the room itself. With the minimal features I understand there being very low floor beds, but I can't reconcile the fact that there were no seats. Having a bad back I found this particularly troublesome, getting up and down off of the bed was hard .... as was attempting to fasten my footwear. Also, the showers (yes, plural, there are 2 side by side) are not entirely enclosed meaning that the floor surrounding the shower area was soaked and presented a danger. The hotel staff however were polite and friendly; the continental buffet was fresh and varied (cake and apple pie included); general cleanliness was good to excellent. I would recommend staying in the hotel if you have cause to be in Orta, San Giulio. Be aware though that there is a language barrier and most locals appreciate even an attempt at speaking Italian.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Center of town, but funky renovations in old bldg.

Posted Oct 4, 2015
Cons: New beds, maybe a shower curtain, comfortable chair, bigger tv.
Staff pleasant and helpful, as they manage 3 properties. Don't rely on GPS as roads are very narrow and two way. Hotel situated on the central piazza, good for eating, shopping and access to ferry, but late eating crowds can make lots of noise if you plan to sleep early. Hotel very old and rooms renovated in modern design. Our bed was a king sized soft futon, which was not so comfortable. Our shower appeared to be added on, and was on one of the walls in the corner of the living room/bedroom. No closet, but a few shelves in the room for clothing. Breakfast was an unexpected feast! Cereals, meats, cheeses, quiches, hard boiled eggs, fruit, yogurt, coffee, espresso machine, juices and a variety of coffee cakes. Here, the hotel was outstanding!
4 out of 5
by Douglas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 12, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from istanbul

Great location, plan ahead if arriving by car.

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Interesting and quirky room, lovely breakfast. Top floor room called 'a room of ones own' has a great view of Lake Orta and the stone roofs of the city. The shower is certainly one of the oddest I have come across, in a good way.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Right in the centre of things

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Better quality bed linen.
Location: You can easily go to the island in the middle of the lake and easy walking to the top of the hill for great views. Loads of lovely restaurants nearby.
You can't beat this hotel for location. It was right on the central square and a footstep away from everything you'd want to do in Orta. It was a little complicated checking in as you have to go to another office and although it says 'free parking' the car park is 1km up a hill, so we used the paying underground car park closer to the town instead. The room was clean, but for the price it wasn't quite up to the quality I'd expect. It had a nice balcony looking onto the square and they provided tea/coffee and juice, which we didn't get anywhere else. The sheets on the bed were a bit worn and the bed was a bit uncomfortable. Everything seemed to come from Ikea which surprised me! It seemed like they'd gone for style over substance - an open shower, for example, in the main room, but cheap linen! The breakfast is really good, lots of choice and really tasty.
2 out of 5
by Kate from London

Don't expect English standards

Posted Jul 25, 2014 on Hotels
This hotel is in a great location right to the side of the main square albeit for this reason rather noisy at night. My room was run down and not to a great standard however it has air com which many in Orta don't! No onsite reception and help yourself breakfast. I wouldn't stay again when I return next year but perfect if you want a basic room with aircon (and are a heavy sleeper).
1 out of 5
by lugano from uruguay

Too Noisey

Posted Jun 14, 2014 on Hotels
Too Noisey...
5 out of 5
by N & J from Chichester

Funky room

Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels
We picked the hotel as the picture appealed and the room met our expectations of something really different. The shower was brilliant! Breakfast offer nice and varied.
5 out of 5
by Niall from Dublin

Excellent place to stay - perfect location

Posted May 7, 2014 on Hotels
Cool rooms and great breakfast. Excellent value.