Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Ideally located for touring the region,

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Quiet location. Proximity to the lake and other tourist attractions.
Location: Adjacent to Lake Orta allowing for boating and swimming. Easy ferry and bus connections to the main tourist attractions.
On the lakeside allowing for swimming in the lake or sunbathing on the beach, Having it's own stop for the ferry which connected all the main tourist spots was a bonus. Much quieter than the more popular nearby destinations but close enough to visit these locations by car.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Corvallis, Oregon, USA

Very nice hotel, right on Lake Orta

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on CheapTickets
Pros: The room overlooking the lake and the great room top bar (open after 6 PM). The sun bathing deck, swimming dock, and swimming pool were very nice.
Cons: Nothing. It was a wonderful three day stay.
Location: Orta San Giulio is only 3 Km away. Parking, especially on weekends, is a nightmare. You can also drive up into the Alps and visit other lakes.
Our room over looked the beautiful lake Orta. There is a boat dock and hotel swimming area, so it is very much a resort. If you plan on going to the nearby town of Orta San Giulio, I recommend taking the public ferry that stops at both the hotel and the town. The travel times are limited, but very much worth the effort. You can then catch the other ferry that goes out to the island. If you drive to Orta San Giulio, parking is very restricted. Even with the "tourist train", you pay 5 Euros and have to walk down hill several hundred meters to the town. The walk back up the hill is challenging.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great views

Posted May 30, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing room looking over lake. The restaurant was also right on the lake which was lovely, food was not so great and over priced (pay for the view definitely not the food!) it's also about 1 hour walk from the town itself which we didn't mind as it meant it was very peacful and quiet but some might.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Lakeside hotel with lovely views

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: Location, terrace restaurant and swimming pool. Also good local restaurants nearby. Highly recommend Osteria San Martino about a 15 minute wall away.
Cons: Some of the general areas of the hotel are a bit dated and could be upgraded .
Location: Great spot on the side of Lake Orta, easy drive or ferry ride to Orta San Giulio. Water activities available. Some good local restaurants
Stayed here for 3 nights with my husband and adult son , as part of our holiday travelling through Italy and Switzerland. I had booked a triple room, which turned out to be quite small but it had a balcony which opened up right out on to the lake and the location more than made up for the size of the room. The room was clean and modern. The hotel has lovely terrace restaurant and coffee shop, a lakeside sundeck and a fabulous pool. There is a big reception and lounge area but the decor is a bit dated. Hotel is in a great location with ferry stop so great access to other places on the lake.
4 out of 5
by Joanne

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was basic, clean with friendly staff. It was a little run down and we were grateful to have had a balcony which overlooked the lake. The area itself was lovely and set in stunning surroundings.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great views from the lake shore

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
Il Giardinetto offers beautiful views of Lake Orta, and is right at the water's edge. It's convenient for those with cars (unlike hotels right in Orta San Giulio), but only a few minutes away from there and its selection of restaurants. Breakfast was quite good, too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Idyllic Lakeside Hotel --we'll be back!

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: Loved the idyllic lakeside location, the generous breakfast spread and that the hotel had a pool and offered yoga classes. (Reserve a spot ahead!)
Cons: It was impossible to get the shower water just right—it was either too hot or too cold. Also, the famous rooftop bar is closed on weekdays.
Location: We enjoyed the town of San Giulo and taking a boat to the island. We also loved Sacro Monte, 21 chapels dedicated to the life of St. Francis.
We loved staying at Hotel Giardinetto. We knew we were getting a double room with lake views, but when we arrived we were thrilled to find that our room (named Charlotte) not only had superb views, it had three little patios overlooking the lake, a kitchenette, two sofas, and two bathrooms! The kitchenette was equipped with a stove, a tea kettle, a small fridge, plates, wine glasses, etc. (We could’ve easily cooked meals there but ate out every meal instead.) The Queen-sized bed was very comfortable and the room was perfectly quiet, except for on our last night, when there was a thunderstorm. ;-) We also loved the refreshingly quirky decor--a change from the anodyne hotel decor you find in many U.S. hotels. We enjoyed two dinners at the restaurant, which also faces the lake. Both meals were memorably good: I recall an enormous super-fresh green salad (served with high-quality olive oil, of course, and balsamic vinegar), one of the richest, tastiest risottos I’ve ever had, and a substantial cheese plate with an unforgettable Taleggio. The service at the restaurant was excellent; I’ll never forget the kind Sicilian waiter who taught us how to properly eat the large prawns, shell and all. The wine choices by the glass were excellent and reasonably priced (5-6 Euro) and my husband loved his mojito, which we enjoyed during aperitivo on the outdoor patio. We loved staying here and are already plotting our next trip to Lago d’Orta so we can return to Giardinetto!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tel Aviv

Very Nice Hotel, by the Lake with divine views.

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: Everything that they offered.
Cons: wish the pool was heated.
Location: there are so many nice spots to visit and drive past.....and admire the views of this small lake, compared to Lago Maggiore....the village of Omagna.
It was a memorable visit, to a beautiful location, with a very nice Hotel, with extremely kind staff, and just makes you say that you want to return very quickly, also worth mentioning a great restaurante, with delicious food.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
Decent enough hotel, in a lovely location on one of the far quieter lakes. Felt like a family hotel. Was great for a relaxing few days though may get a little boring for longer.