Ratings based on 131 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Cheap and cheerful.

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: Cheap but adequate. Very good breakfast. Helpful staff.
Cons: Quite a walk to the lake and old town. Car parking is some distance from Hotel. No Wi-Fi in rooms.
Location: Orta and the old town are a delight. However it takes about 30 minutes to walk from hotel to centre of the town.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from portsmouth

Good value for a week stay

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: Clean. Value for money
Cons: Better be bedding... Seemed very " washed" and worn.. But it was clean!
Location: Lido was 10 min walk away .. Down hill. But slight incline on return!!!
Old fashioned hotel. 3 star. But great Buffett breakfast, plenty of choice and fresh each day.. Nice touch of coffee, cold drinks and cakes and yogurts to help yourself to.. Free wifi, patchy and only near reception.. Rooms basic, but clean.. Old style hotel with comfortable beds.. Choose a balcony room facing downhill.. We booked last minute, cheap deal to the lovely lake.. But you can't see lake at all from here.. Up the hill from main square 15 min brisk walk.. Not for the faint hearted .. Hotel is downhill walk from train station, bout 8 mins.. But not really near anything.. We would choose to stay in the square area next time as the walk up hill to the hotel in the heat was wearisome ! Go for one with a bathing area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value for money

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel provides good value for money. Cleaning service was a bit slow (room done around 5 pm or so). A short walk from the city centre, but that was OK.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Hotel well situated to access Orta and surrounding

Posted May 27, 2016
Pros: The staff and services provided were excellent. Breakfast was plentiful with many fresh choices. surrounding garden and afternoon snack were good.
Cons: Not an issue for us bed is low to the ground this may pose a difficulty for some people. Consider stating in hotel description if applies all rooms
Location: A pleasant 10 minute walk along the lake to center of Orta. Lots of options for restaurants and sites to see in Orta and Lago Maggorie.
Hotel staff were very courteous and provided excellent choices for restaurants in the area. The hotel breakfast was very plentiful and many fresh choices were provided. Room and bathroom was large, clean and met all our needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gold coast. Q'ld Australia

A magnificent place to see

Posted Apr 17, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Good breakfast, and friendly and helpful staff. Afternoon tea room for refreshments provided free. Value for money.
Cons: More comfortable lounge chairs. Fridge and safe in room.
Location: Location a little out of way from main town centre, but a pleasant walk to there.
Many lovely walks along the Lake, with cherry blossoms, Magnolias, and camellias out in April. Ferry trip to the top of Lake Orta was wonderful. Would have liked to have stayed longer than 2 days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good value hotel with very helpful staff

Posted Sep 13, 2015
Pros: Good value, helpful staff, the breakfast, availability of soft drinks, cake etc. free wifi ( even if only in public area)
Cons: More drawer space in the room. Beds could be upgraded, although they were reasonably comfortable.
Location: It was possible to walk to the centre of Orta, however for the first part of the journey there was no footpath. Near the Sacre Monte and Villa Crespi.
We were very impressed with the welcome and the receptionist was extremely helpful, even providing us with pliers and a screw driver when we couldn't open the padlock on one of our cases. The room was adequate and clean and the shower was good. The choice of food at breakfast was excellent and we liked the availability of free water, soft drinks and cakes after 3 pm. The only downside was the lack of a path on the road outside the hotel.
4 out of 5
by Frank from Enzkreis/Pforzheim

Excellent Breakfast, nice hotel, will come again

Posted Sep 11, 2015 on Hotels
We got a better room for an upgrade of 10 Euro/day
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2015 on Hotels
It was a wonderful place to stay. Great breakfast and comfortable room. Very close to historic village of Orta
5 out of 5
by david from nsw australia

traveller

Posted May 22, 2015 on Hotels
an excellent hotel to start our holiday. A little way out of town but very comfortable
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Quirky hotel

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: Quiet and good value. Good breakfast buffet
Cons: Limited wi fi
My husband and I (50s) stayed 6 nights in September. The room was on second floor. It was adequate for our needs and clean. The bed was firm but we like it that way. The location is on the edge of the town on San Guilio and a nice walk into the old town by a path along the lake. The return is uphill at the very end, but we are fit so managed this fine. The breakfast buffet is expansive and there is a hospitality room open each day from 3pm where you can make yourself tea/coffee and cake.