Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not a hotel

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: central location
Cons: this was a room, one of many owned by a family or company in the town, so shouldn't really be called a hotel.
Location: central location, about 100 metres from main piazza. ferries to san guilio island and round lake ferries from main piazza. lots of restaurants.
this was a room 2 floors up steep stone steps, above a shop.
4 out of 5
by Helen from Yeovil

Basic but great stay in a beautiful location.

Posted Jun 24, 2016 on Hotels
Make sure you check how to find the parking before arriving as our sat nav took us down cobbled hills that only the locals use! Found the office for the various rooms used by Hotel Piccolo Olina and then went back to main paid car park which was closer than the free hotel one at top of hill. Shown to our room by very helpful young Italian and despite the downpour of rain enjoyed every minute of our stay! Room was rather basic with somewhat safari feel but real bonus was window with view of the lake, do ask for this on booking. Breakfast and wifi was in a restaurant round the corner but it was the best breakfast we had on our trip across Italy with fresh slices of pineapple and melon making it extra special. Lake Orta will not disappoint and it is a truly beautiful location. Wish we had had longer to explore.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad sofa bed...great breakfast.

Posted Aug 9, 2015 on Hotels
The sofa bed was horrible...the bed frame was so bad we slept with the mattress on the floor...the mattress was flimsy. There is no A/C or fans so beware in the summer that the room does not cool off until after midnight. Also, there are mosquitoes if you leave the windows open. The best part was a great breakfast with a hardworking staff.
3 out of 5
by Benjamin from london

good basic accommodation

Posted Jul 22, 2015 on Hotels
i chose this hotel due to its location and price. I was staying for one night and needed something quick and simple. The hotel was hard to find - I was driving, not being familiar with the area it would have been useful to know it was a pedestrianised area. The office is in a separate building to the rooms. The rooms are apartments in an apartment building. Rooms basic but clean. No AC just a fan. Breakfast is in a different hotel but was basic. This was good value for money but below the standard I'm used to.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing room with a view

Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels
I understand there are several rooms in various locations under this hotel and we were part of a wedding party with several staying at this hotel. I understand some rooms were not great but ours was fabulous. We had a very large room overlooking the main piazza and the lake. It was stunning. Breakfast in a nearby restaurant in the same square was fantastic too. We had a wonderful stay.
4 out of 5
by kfc from dunstable

Good not great

Posted Jul 9, 2014 on Hotels
Good for the price.But be careful, as well as the main building - which looks nice- there are further rooms in an annexe which are a bit hit and miss.And you don't check in at the hotel but an office next to their restaurant 100 yds away - confusing if you arrive late! Initially put in an anexe room - dark and pokey, small bathroom, not very nice. Complained and staff very very helpful, moved to a nice tidy bright room. Breakfast taken at a cafe in the square - lovley in the summer and staff very nice.
2 out of 5
by John from Colorado

Careful lots of misrepresentation

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Breakfast was good.
Cons: They could be honest about the rooms and impossible parking.
Location: Nice lake, cute tourist town and beautiful monastery at the top of a mountain, a very arduous climb.
"Free" parking is totally unusable at top of a mountain a mile away and no parking anywhere near hotel so forget about getting luggage to the rooms. They tried to put us in an awful dark, damp room and we had to argue to get a decent room with a window. This hotel was grossly misrepresented on Expedia and very overpriced, although town is cute, lake is nice and breakfast (in another hotel) was good. Be careful with this place. Expedia customers are low priority for this hotel. We needed to park (10 Euros/day) at a private garage and drag our bages 500 meters down steep cobblestone paths or steps, then up rwo flights of stairs.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location, bed hard as a plank

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels
Very friendly and helpful staff who helped to explain the layout of the hotel, the annex and the parking. It's not simple! The parking is either a 15-20 minute walk away from the hotel, or a 5 minute walk to the multi-storey carpark for 10Euros overnight. Access by vehicle is difficult everywhere in this village, but that is the charm of the place. The reception and main part of the hotel is just opposite the restaurant of the same name. Our room in the annex, about 100m away was very plain, dark and small. The bed was as hard as a plank. Not as nice as expected. However it was nice to be in the centre of the village and be able to walk around at night and eat out without having to drive anywhere afterwards. A good breakfast in the morning took place at another location on the main square. Probably the best part of the stay. In summary nice staff, but rooms not good enough to want to go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Victoria from Canterbury Kent UK

Lovely quirky hotel

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Pros: I have a soft-spot for the Piccolo Olina having stayed there three times in the past thirteen years
Cons: Nothing - there are lots of steps but then it's in a medieval town
Location: Lake Orta is lovely but now spoiled by too many tourists so selfishly I'd say don't go. I'm glad I've seen it at its quiet best
Rooms vary hugely but ours was great. Best breakfast in Italy
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Difficult to find, but good location near square.

Posted Aug 25, 2013
Pros: Location near main square. Good value for money. Good choice of breakfast.
Cons: Signage so its easier to find.!!
Accommodation was very difficult to find, we arrived by car and struggled to get close by so had to find it on foot, which was still a challenge as the hotel reception is just a doorway and the accommodation is then elsewhere so we were taken several streets away to our rooms and then had to carry the luggage along cobbled streets. We later saw cars driving along the cobbled streets but they are very narrow so when we checked out we decided it was easier/safer to carry the bags back to the car again which was a pain as we were travelling with a toddler so also had a buggy etc. the hotel's free parking was also a bit of a distance away so we ended up parking on a street but there are limited free spaces so you need to ensure you are parked in the white bays which are free, or pay to park. The accommodation was in a good location just a few minutes walk from the main square however there wasn't anywhere close by to swim in the lake and we had to walk about 20 mins to the "beach" area. The rooms themselves were basic but were clean. there were tea making facilities but no fridge which would have been handy. they also forgot our towels and a fan but we got them when we asked. Breakfast was served in a separate building on the main square, plenty of choice on a serve yourself basis - they even had a frying pan and hot stove so you could fry your own eggs etc, but they need a new toaster as everyone wanted to use it at the same time and it was the slowest toaster ever!