Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Most disappointing Relais I have ever stayed in

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: the room and bed
Cons: The staff, their attitude
Location: Awful on a noisy roundabout, no direct access to lake, too far from townj
Arrived to discover the restaurant was unavailable owing to a function - which is when we realised what a poor location it is - 20 minutes walk to town (can't drive in, town is pedestrianised), on a busy roundabout, no direct access to the lake). No apology. Then at breakfast, the (Michelin *) kitchen failed to produce a poached egg - we waited 45 minutes. Again no apology. Staff were very poor, rude and unhelfpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2016 by Cinzia Primatesta Cannvacciuolo GM, Hotel Management
Dear Lestyn We are very sorry you were unable to dine in our restaurant which was due, not to a function (in just one room of the restuarant), but to the fact you mitted respond to our request to book a table. Unfortunately, it can be difficult to get a table at Villa Crespi due to demand and we apologise for this but also ask our resident guests to book in order to avoid issues of this kind. We regret you did not like the location, ourside our control, and that there was a misunderstanding regarding your breakfast order. We feel we have to mention that erroneously you say you did not receive an apology for your disappointment when in order to try to make up for any inconvenience and disappointment, your one night stay, bar bill and city tax payment were all waived. Best regards
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Special villa overlooking lake orta

Posted Oct 7, 2015
Top reataurant (2 star michelin). Great staff. Matheo did an excellant job in arranging water skiing.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2016 by Cinzia Primatesta Cannavacciuolo, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed our restaurant and Matteo's attention for your water skiing adventure. We hope you will return to Lake Orta and Villa Crespi and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you once again.
5 out of 5
by stephane from Los Angeles ÇA

Perfect :-)

Posted Aug 26, 2015 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Stephane thank you for the fantastic review, we hope to see you again at Villa Crespi.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: Locations and unique structure of the hotel, fine cuisine in the restaurant with the celebrity chef. Friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: Nothing,
Location: Lake Orta and the Isola Guilio, world heritage park and the lovely scenery.
Fantastic hotel, worth a try and the friendly staff and location and the surrounding is absolutely gorgeous.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from singapore

Beautiful and unusual decoration

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Excellent hotel and the restaurant is amazing, very conveniently located to Lake Orta. Staff were kind enough to upgrade us to a suite. Only downside was the rooms were a little old and the shower in one of them did not work well.
4 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Deal, UK


Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Atmosphere, architecture, excellent staff
Cons: Fitting out of rooms with modern conveniences
Location: Lake Orta is a hidden gem among the Italian lakes - quiet, picturesque, has a private feel
A magnificent near-eastern folly, bursting with mujedar stucco work, topped by a minaret. The conversion to a boutique hotel has been done without marring the feel of the place, but there are some drawbacks. Our room had silk wallpaper and a four-poster bed - but few power points. There was an occasional table theoretically lit by a standard lamp with nowhere to plug it in; we moved the table to the window. Great shower and bathroom. There were no easy chairs in our room and the ones under the big chapiteau on the terrace were downright uncomfortable. There isn't a pool (though you could be driven down to the lake to swim). There was no corkscrew to open the wine in the minibar. The staff were superb - welcoming, helpful, charming. The restaurant lived up to its billing - I will review it elsewhere. We were happy to be dining with other individual couples and groups, rather than the large party who virtually took the place over the previous night; it might be worth asking if there is a big group on the date of your intended visit. Overall we had the impression of a famous restaurant where the accommodation aspect played second fiddle. But despite this, the overall experience was a memorable way to mark our special occasion, and so it might be for others.
3 out of 5
by rich from Boston MA

think twice

Posted Jun 18, 2013
Pros: location was good 15 minute walk to town and sacro monte di orta
Cons: see above
Location: We enjoyed the hotel's recommendation of venus restaurant although it seems to do tour groups too we ate at the restaurant. Nice meal but too hot
The building is like a museum. The hotel staff numerous, courteous, and competent. The physical plant needs work We were there two nights in early june. Not especially warm days but the lobby restaurant and halls were all pretty hot and humid. The restaurant was uncomfortably warm. Even the waiters were sweating The in wall ac in the room works but you have the call reception to have a receptionist come up with the remote control to turn it on, off or adjust the temperature. I bet I could order a remote on line and get it in a day or two for them... The elevator cabin has been renovated. The underlying mechanism seems old - the elevator is very slow, bouncy and takes a long time to level out with the hall floor And there's only one elevator for the guests and staff. Hotel seemed pretty empty but we spent a long time waiting for the elevator multiple times. The wonderful reception staff would pitch in and walk down to the basement to ask the staff to shut the elevator door. You could ask why not walk to a third floor room. It was hot for one thing and the ceilings are very high so the third floor is more like the fifth or sixth floor in a normal building. Beware the pebbles in the driveway. Don't even think of wheeling luggage. Drop it off at the front or ask the staff to get it for you.
5 out of 5
by C&C from Australia


Posted May 6, 2013 on Hotels
This place is simply amazing!! Worth a detour any day! We were here for two glorious nights of our honeymoon and were spoilt beyond our expectations. We received a complementary upgrade to the gold room which was absolutely stunning and very spacious. We loved the breakfasts and the dinner at the hotel restaurant was well worth a trip from Australia in itself! The service was the best we have ever had and the staff were very knowledgeable and provided good advice for our wine and meals. Great wine, spectacular food and incredible service - what a memorable experience! We also enjoyed a walk around the area and the lake is stunning. The hotel is across the road from a hill with 'The Sacro Monte of Orta'. It is made up of 20 chapels containing statues and paintings that depict important scenes from Saint Francis of Assisi's life. Really incredible and worth the walk. The staff were wonderful and so friendly and helpful! Thank you to everyone at Villa Crespi.
5 out of 5
by David and Christine

A special place.

Posted Jun 7, 2012 on Hotels
This is unique and an experience. The staff are fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble. The building us uniquely beautiful. We had a lovely walk to restaurant Venus on the lake's edge which complimented a wonderful evening. We would recommend this to everyone.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent! Wonderfull service & food!!!

Posted May 31, 2012 on Hotels
Really wonderfull! The hotel is excellent, the service is perfect and the restaurant (food) is very very very special (one of the best that I have been in my life)!!!