Ratings based on 185 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location, Good Facilities,

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: It has a wide range of facilities in a lovely park like setting.
Cons: Units need updating.
Location: Centrally located to Lewis and Clark college and easy access to downtown Portland. Trader Joe's is across the street.
Residence Inn provides a great location set on lovely grounds. The units themselves are a bit tired and need updating . The full kitchen units are excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, It looks like the hotel was a great location for your needs, we are glad to see that. You are correct, the property is beautiful this time of year. Please look to stay with us the next time you find yourselves in the Lake Oswego area. Sincerely,
3 out of 5
by Wilberta

Waste Not Want Not

Posted May 30, 2017 on Hotels
We were looking for a two bedroom suite with two bathrooms. Perfect! Except one of the toilets did not work properly-major fail. Waste and toilet paper did not go down, the water rose to the top of the bowl, very scary and disappointing situation. Reported it the first day and maintenance came to look at it. They said it has been a problem and needs to be snaked to the main line but they couldn't do it while we were there, however, maintenance acknowledged the toilet bowl showed signs of having a history of being snaked. The problem has not been resolved and they continue to rent out a room where the toilet doesn't work!!! We found this to be extremely poor service and incompetence on the part of Management. We had four adults but the room was advertised to hold six people. That would truly have been unmanageable with only one bathroom. I know it was a busy weekend but knowing the problem they should have tried to change our rooms. On check-out we encouraged the Desk Supervisor not to rent out the room until it was fixed but knowing the rooms history I would guess it was rented out the next day. As a side note, the bathroom waste container was still full of the previous clients trash. Poor service from Housekeeping.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2017 by Todd, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at our hotel, we loved hosting you. We are so sorry to hear about the maintenance issues in your rooms that caused a problem for you during your stay. Our engineering team and entire hotel staff works hard to make sure your rooms are at top quality 100% of the time. We are working on fixing the bathroom in hopes that no one will have the same experience you did. We hope that in the future you will be a guest with us again so we can prove the excellent service we provide without any issue! Thanks again for your stay, hope you have a wonderful day”.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake, UT

Wanted two bedrooms but this was crazy

Posted Apr 18, 2017
What they don't tell you is all two bedrooms start out on the second flight of the building. That's 20 steps up the stairs. Then when in the room you have to go up Another 20 steps to the bedroom. Not good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
You are correct, all the 1 & 2 bedroom suites are on the second floor. I have shared your comments with our reservations team. Thank you for taking the time to complete a review and we do hope you enjoyed your stay other than the second floor suite concern. Sincerely,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

last min stop

Posted Apr 9, 2017 on Hotels
great!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by Todd, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great rating on your review. We hope to see you the next time you find yourself in the Lake Oswego area.. Sincerely,
4 out of 5
by martin

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2017 by Todd, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete a survey. The information is used to help gauge our performance. We hope to see you the next time you're in the area. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
by Francisco

Great everything

Posted Mar 1, 2017 on Hotels
My stay eventhough was for just a night,It was the most amazing one. The personal go up and beyond to make you feel as family and welcomed. Upsolutly loved it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are happy you had a great stay, please conceder us again the next time you're in the area. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great survey score, we thrive on delivering the best service possible. Thank you and we hope to see you the next time you find yourself in the area,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose

Nice place to stay. No good for rewards

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Good ambience and helpful staff.
Cons: NA
Location: Location is good.
This is the nice place to stay. Staffs are friendly, cheerful and helpful. Clean and nice rooms. But the only issue I had was that Marriott doesn't consider your stays towards your points if you do it from third party like Expedia or any other booking agency. This I found to be bizarre. To get rewards do we need to pay price on Marriott site? Or choose the cheapest once available. It feels like I am getting rewards by paying higher amount on Marriott site. Which I see it be equivalent to pay higher so that you dont have to pay later for your stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear VJ, Your review has been shared with our team, also with management. Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. We hope to see you the next time you and your family are in the area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and clean hotel.

Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Hotels
Room was nice and clean. Front desk, housekeeping and breakfast teams were friendly and helpful. Beds were very uncomfortable. The beds hurt our backs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. We are very driven for results here and want to hear the feedback you provided. Please look for us the next time you're in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auburn, WA

Feels like home.

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: Looks like an apartment. The fireplace is comfy.
This is the 2nd time we stayed here. It feels like home away from home. We'll be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
We are very happy you returned. Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. We looking forward to the next time you and your family are in the Lake Oswego area.