Ratings based on 1,346 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful views of the high peaks and Great Buffet

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Highly recommend ! We will stay there again for our next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Excellent hotel and amenities

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Pros: Large rooms and gorgeous dining room and foyer areas. Enjoyed the rustic architectural look including the "scary" hallways similar to move The Shining
Cons: Possibly upgrades to closet and room doors.
Location: Perfect since close to downtown. Didn't have to drive and walking was safe.
Excellent hotel right in downtown Lake Placid with perfect walking distance to restaurants and stores. Enjoyed the breakfast and courteous staff. Room with a walkout faced Mirror Lake / mountains and the view of the immaculate grounds was outstanding. Would stay again and well done Crown Plaza!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

BIG hill to walk back from beach & shopping

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful views (if you get that side of the hotel). Good breakfast (at extra cost). Nice pool. Clean.
Cons: Free breakfast should be included. Bigger room refrigerator.
Location: Good location to downtown and area attractions, and within walking distance to plenty of area resturants (but beware, there is a big hill to walk back
BIG hill to walk back up from beach & shopping and the refrigerators in the standard rooms are soooo TINY that it was almost worthless for anything more than a 6-pack of soda or beer. The hotel is very clean, and offers beautiful views of Mirror Lake, Olympic ski jump, and the mountains IF you get a room on that side of the hotel. I did feel the rooms were a little over priced, but being it was the week of Ironman, I guess it's almost expected that they jack up the rates. The breakfast buffet was really good, but should have been included with the stay like most other hotels, not at an extra price. All and all, this was a nice, clean, friendly hotel, with a nice pool, great views, and helpful staff, but there is room for some improvement. I would stay at this hotel again, BUT, I would take a closer look at some of the other local hotels also before making a final decision.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2017
The hotel has a very appealing exterior. It is quite convenient to Mount Marci and Mirror Lake.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Syracuse, NY

Views of all around

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: Needs a few updates in the rooms such as USB ports.
Location: Quaint village below with many shops and great food. Olympic activities to watch nearby year round. From water falls to white face mountain climbing.
Needs a few updates in the rooms such as USB ports. But overall great experience. Relaxing at the fire pit overlooking the lake was super. Our balcony also overlooked the lake and I would recommend those rooms the most if there for a romantic stay. Anywhere you came out of the hotel you had beautiful views. After a nice in door swim we would go out on the rear terrace to enjoy the sun. Also there was free coffee or lemon water just off the lobby when needed. Meeting people from around the globe was also a great experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2017
A/C Unit very noisy, but otherwise excellent hotel! the best !
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Hotel sits on hilltop overlooking town and lake.

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: Location and lots of disabled parking spaces. Views from the balcony. Staff friendly.
Cons: Ice machine on third floor. CBC and christian programs on TV.
Location: Boat cruise of Lake Placid.
Room number 2 was not quite ready when we arrived but staff very helpful and ran up keys to room 1. Ice machine on 3rd floor failed to work so when to 4th floor. Bed frame had lots of dust on it. Food was terrible. Ordered two French onion soups and both tasted like dishwater without the soap. Chicken Quesadilla was dry and burnt. Beer was good and service was fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

Close to town and Mirror Lake

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: convenience
Cons: Due for some updates
Location: Very convenient to town and activities
Went to train for IM Lake Placid.....swam in Mirror Lake, biked the Ironman bike course twice, and run around the lake.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2017
Beautiful hotel with excellent location. Standard rooms however might be noisy or face concrete roof . You need to ask for 3rd or 4th Floor. Lake view rooms must be booked in advance. Very good restaurant for Dinner. Breakfast buffet is not very good, but convenient . Not sure if buffet is open on week days . Hotel is dog friendly
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2017 by Evan B, Hotel Management
Thank you for the very detailed review about your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza in Lake Placid. I will be sure to let our restaurant know of your positive feedback and kind words. It is wonderful to read you found our location perfect and the hotel beautiful, thank you. Future guest will find this review very detailed and informative about a future visit. We hope to see you again, thanks! Best Regards, Evan Bickford Guest Services Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great view and location in Lake Placid.

Posted May 23, 2017
Love being perched on the hill above the lake with easy access to all area attractions, etc. Food was good, room was good, pool/gym were good, there wasn't anything about this hotel that we didn't like. Great for kids, etc. Comfy, cozy, nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Evan B, Hotel Management
Thank you for the taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Hotel. We are thrilled to read you and your family had such a great visit. Your ability to relax and be comfortable during the stay is one of highest priorities. Thank you!