Ratings based on 196 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ledyard, Ct

Hotel perfectly located

Posted Dec 1, 2017
Wonderful view, located in center of town, in easy walking distance of ice arenas.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2017 by Olivia Z. Director of Marketing, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for your fantastic review. I'm very glad you enjoyed the wonderful view and location of the hotel. I hope you will stay with us again soon. Cheers!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny

perfect stay

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Lake view room, 4 th floor, view from balcony of entire lake with sunrise. Extremely comfortable bed, best hotel bed I’ve ever slept in. Clean, pretty. On site restaurant had good food. Bar was understaffed considering a large event happening in the arena. Awesome location across from Olympic arena, easy walk to all shops and restaurants on Main St., will be my first choice when returning to lake placid.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2017 by Olivia Z. Director of Marketing, Hotel Management
Kelly, thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of the Golden Arrow. I'm very happy to read that we will be your first choice in Lake Placid. Your photo is gorgeous! Thank you so much for sharing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Lakeside location on the main street

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Pros: location, attractive and good size pool, right next door to a fun bar/restaurant
Cons: Bathroom ceiling tiles changed to remove evidence of leaking from upper floors.
Location: Trivia Tuesdays at the adj. bar/resto where you play against locals and travelers alike. Food(YUM!) at Top of the Park-must see Giovanni-Mixologist =)
Beautiful. open foyer with fireplace and huge windows onto lake. We paid a mandatory $100 pet fee but no complaints there as the hotel does use the fee to deep clean the room; our pet did not soil at all as he's prone to when visiting pet stores. Comfy pillows, good size fridge, microwave, Keurig machine with actual stoneware logo'd mugs in the room, extra fleece blanket in the closet, upholstered chairs and bistro size table to easily pull up to balcony door/windows to view the lake when it's too cold to sit outside.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2017 by Olivia Z. Director of Marketing, Hotel Management
Hi Alice, thanks so much for taking the time to review the Golden Arrow. I'm very happy that you enjoyed our great location and trivia at Generations among other things. I hope you will stay with us again soon! I wish you safe and happy travels in the future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel beautiful location.

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff.
Cons: Needs a little updating. Had a broken toilet paper dispenser in bathroom. Sound proof. Could hear people in upstairs room and hallway was noisy.
Location: Lovely location close to all restaurants and stores.
We like to hike in the adirondack mountains so our stay was hiking related. We enjoy the outdoors. It was nice to rest in a comfortable room after a long day hiking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2017 by Olivia Zeis, Director of Marketing, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review the Golden Arrow. I'm glad you liked our location as well as friendly staff. We are constantly updating and upgrading our rooms and property (with big plans in the spring) I hope you will stay with us again and am sure you'll notice different renovations. Thanks again for the great review. Cheers, Olivia Z. Director of Marketing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from saratoga springs

Nice hotel in the center of everything

Posted Oct 14, 2017
It’s a very nice hotel, pet friendly and great staff! It’s a little old and needs a little TLC. It’s in a great location right in the center of everything! The staff are wonderful and provided great service to their guests. I personally go there every year with my dad and my dog Angus and will continue to do so
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2017 by Olivia Zeis, Director of Marketing, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I'm thrilled to hear that you, your dad and Angus stay with us every year. We truly appreciate your business and hope to see you at the Golden Arrow again soon! Cheers!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

On Mirror Lake and in heart of Lake Placid

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: Location
Location: swim, boat, hike
Clean comfortable hotel in heart of Lake Placid Village and literally steps from Mirror Lake. Highly recommend. Staff wonderful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2017 by Olivia Z., Hotel Management
Thanks so much for rating us 5 out of 5! I'm thrilled to read that you enjoyed our wonderful staff as well as convenient location.I hope we see you at the Golden Arrow again soon! My Best, Olivia Z., Director of Marketing Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kingston ny

Dirty carpets and funky smells

Posted Sep 6, 2017
The carpets in this hotel need to be replaced. There are funky smells in the hallways and rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Olivia Zeis, Director of Marketing, Hotel Management
Hi Ed, I'm sorry you found that some of the carpets smelled poorly. We are often replacing and shampooing our carpets. I will definitely tell our housekeeping department to go through the hallways and see if there are any noticeably smelly sections. I appreciate your comments and we will certainly do our best to remedy the situation. I wish you safe and happy travels in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hastings on Hudson, NY

perfect family resort

Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: proximity to lake placid, lake access and boat selection, restaurant on site, board games and comfortable atmosphere
Cons: pool shut down one night for cleaning-smells like chemicals too, chaotic during check in with not enough carts
Location: Olympic sites, hiking, mirror lake, restaurants
The staff was so helpful and friendly and went out of their way to make sure we were happy. The kids loved the lake access and the pool. The hotel is so close to everything, we were able to walk into town and walk to some hikes and sight-seeing areas too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Olivia Zeis, Director of Marketing, Hotel Management
So happy to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us! We love being able to offer lakeside boats and activities for our guests in the summer time. Our location on Main Street and directly on the Mirror Lake is definitely one of our biggest assets and we're very thankful for it. Thank you for taking the time to review us, I hope we see you back soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Great stay. Right on Mirror Lake and walk right into best part of Lake Placid. Restaurant was great!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Olivia Zeis, Director of Marketing, Hotel Management
Thank you for rating us 5 out of 5! I hope we see you back at the Golden Arrow soon and wish you safe and happy travels until we meet again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great lake side resort in Lake Placid

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Our second stay at Golden Arrow. Wonderful location right at Mirror Lake, plenty of watersports equipment and friendly and attentive staff - who could ask for more? Lakeside rooms offer beautiful vista of lake and Whiteface Mountain.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Olivia Zeis, Director of Marketing, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for returning to stay for a second time with us! I'm so happy to hear that you enjoy our location as well as friendly staff and lakeside activities. I hope to see you for a third stay soon!