Ratings based on 143 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great food

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Confusing room set up
Location: Great shopping
Nice pool and hot tub Nice restaurant Would go again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Upstate NY

Amazing view of the lake and mountains.

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: What's not to like.
Location: Main street...shopping and good restaurants within walking distance. Also, main entrance to the Olympic stadium/od skating rink..
If I get back to Lake Placid the Golden Arrow is where I will stay. The staff is wonderful and if there is a problem they take care of it immediately. The only thing I would do differently is ask for a handicapped room. I feel safer if I have grab bars in the bathroom. Also, the restaurant at the hotel was very good and so was its wait staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Great location right on the lake

Posted Sep 18, 2016
The hotel is very convoluted because of lots of additions. Easy to get lost. The best part is being on Main Street ,which is very cool and having a beachfront on Mirror Lake. Boats,paddle boards , etc are available free. Beautiful lake. Helpful staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Central New York

Relaxing and hassle free

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: View, cleanliness, decor, accommodations.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Centrally located and within walking range between the Olympic Arena complex and downtown shopping strip. The Lake Placid Boat tour is nearby.
From the moment we entered the lobby and reported to the desk I knew our stay was going to be pleasant. The receptionist was kindly and helpful, and not prone to giving orders. Guest services were great as was the Generations hotel restaurant. Our lake view upper floor room was just what we requested when booking our accommodations.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Pros: Location, lake behind it, rooms were fine
Cons: Update rooms a little, I don't know how they would increase bathroom counter space. Pillows could be more fluffy. Internet was a little slow
Location: Olympic museum very close, many restaurants within walking distance and shopping is there too. Lake is lovely and relaxing
Check in was quick, room was fine, beds were comfortable. Bathroom counter was a bit small for toiletries for four people. Bathroom fan had dust encrusted on it. Mini fridge and microwave were convenient as well as the keurig coffee maker. There is a tiny balcony looking out onto the parking lot. The lake is right behind the hotel, a beautiful view in the lobby, cute beach behind hotel, lake is beautiful. You can try the kayaks and canoes on the lake, complimentary. There are comfortable chaise lounges on the small beach. Room was quiet and maid service was good. Overall was a good experience if a little pricey, it's convenient to many eateries and the Olympic museum. Lake placid is beautiful
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2016 by Olivia Z. , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review the Golden Arrow. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed our fantastic location and beach. I will definitely take all of your notes to my managers here at the resort. I hope you will stay with us again soon! Cheers, Olivia Z. Director of Marketing Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Decent hotel on the lake!

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Hotel was okay! We stayed at other hotels in lake placid that we liked better.... The room smelled like vomit! The decor is old and needs an update. Place was crowded and loud. Service at the restaurant was horrible no wonder it was always empty. We waited for 20 minutes to be seated while the restaurant was empty. We only ate there twice both times had to wait forever to be seated and for the waiter to come and take our order.... I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE!!! Price was not cheap!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Dogs ruled the place. Not that friendly a place

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: See above
Location: Good location
Took 25 minutes to check in while some staff stood there and did nothing, and I was next in line when I showed up. Guests were allowed to let dogs use up limited a amount of beach chairs and beach space. Not enough water sports equipment available or lounge chairs/tables. They skimp on all the easy stuff that would make it much more enjoyable to stay. No complimentary water or coffee or tea in lounge. We have two dogs and we love animals. Dogs are not humans and should not be allowed to sit on beach chairs while other guests have to sit on the ground. Spend a couple grand and get more beach chairs and let guests know that dogs sit on the ground.... LP in general is an overpriced, crowded in summer, pretentious town.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Clean, Good location and nice beach
Cons: Some of the beach equipment (kayak, paddleboards, ect.) would be taken out for extended periods while others waited a long time for their return
Location: Shopping, Food, Olympic facilities
Clean, comfortable hotel in a perfect location. Would return
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Liked Amenities, lakeside beach and clise to restaurants and shops.
Nice place. Weel kept. Staff is very pleasant. Rooms are a bit small for family of four.
5 out of 5

Annual trip to the Golden Arrow in Lake Placid

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is centrally located to shops and eateries but still offers quiet beauty of the lake. Lots of fun stuff at the beach. Good restaurant also. Stayed here the past three years and look forward to next year!