Ratings based on 152 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

had a beach view - darn it was COLD outside in Nov

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Lighting in the bathroom could be brighter.
Location: Everything within walking distance and hiking trails are a short drive away!
Coming to Lake Placid is always a great time! We enjoyed this hotel and the staff. Loved that it was so close - within - walking distance to all the restaurants and stores.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Perfect location. Great price

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Beautiful location on Mirror Lake with so many amenities.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great In-town Location and Amenities

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Location: For us, the hotel is located within walking distance to great restaurants, shops, and many of the Olympic facilities.
We had a room that opened up to our own private beach on Mirror Lake. Beautiful and peaceful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Surprisingly disapointing.

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: two of three staff members that I dealt with were very courteous and the bathroom in our room was exceptional.
Cons: We left after one night even though we paid for two. Here's why. #1. Deluxe room was deceivingly pictured online. There are two styles. One is vastly different than the other. We got 'the other'. #2 Ceiling paper and wall paper were tearing/pealing. (I have pictures) #3. There was no armchair at all in the room. #4. There were two appliances and a lamp all plugged into a 3 way in a single outlet. #5. The floor is not level. You can see the refrigerator tilting. #.6 The deck is 2 1/2 ft wide, only wide enough to stand, not sit. #7. Direction signs in motel are very unclear. One was actually in back of you as you got off the elevator. Like a maze to find the restaurant. #8. Once at the restaurant, upon entering, there was a horrible burning electrical type smell throughout. We left the restaurant. #8. The curtains in the motel room were filthy. #9. The rugs throughout the motel in spots were not vacuumed. #10. One of the staff members acted like she was in a hurry and anxious to get me out of her hair. On a positive note two other staff members were very courteous and the bathroom in our room was exceptional.
Location: The location is good but the parking is cramped and minimal. There is always plenty to do in Lake Placid; shops, restaurants, beautiful landscape.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Séjour de qualité et de repos.

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Location: Visite aux divers sites olympiques; randonnée au mont Whiteface Mountain. Magasinage sur la rue Principale; visite à la bibliothèque.
Le personnel à la réception est très accueillant et sympathique; on prend le temps de bien expliquer les services de l'hôtel, les places à visiter, les restaurants et salles à manger,... La chambre est très grande et d'une propreté remarquable. avec toutes les facilities nécessaires: micro-ondes, frigo, cafétière; aucun bruit des autres chambres. Le personnel, tant à la réception que sur les étages, est très professionnel, prêt à répondre aux questions et à offrir des suggestions pratiques. Un séjour sans problèmes, un séjour reposant. Pas besoin de prendre l'automobile pour magasiner et se render aux divers restaurants.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great food

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Confusing room set up
Location: Great shopping
Nice pool and hot tub Nice restaurant Would go again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Upstate NY

Amazing view of the lake and mountains.

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: What's not to like.
Location: Main street...shopping and good restaurants within walking distance. Also, main entrance to the Olympic stadium/od skating rink..
If I get back to Lake Placid the Golden Arrow is where I will stay. The staff is wonderful and if there is a problem they take care of it immediately. The only thing I would do differently is ask for a handicapped room. I feel safer if I have grab bars in the bathroom. Also, the restaurant at the hotel was very good and so was its wait staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Great location right on the lake

Posted Sep 18, 2016
The hotel is very convoluted because of lots of additions. Easy to get lost. The best part is being on Main Street ,which is very cool and having a beachfront on Mirror Lake. Boats,paddle boards , etc are available free. Beautiful lake. Helpful staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Central New York

Relaxing and hassle free

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: View, cleanliness, decor, accommodations.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Centrally located and within walking range between the Olympic Arena complex and downtown shopping strip. The Lake Placid Boat tour is nearby.
From the moment we entered the lobby and reported to the desk I knew our stay was going to be pleasant. The receptionist was kindly and helpful, and not prone to giving orders. Guest services were great as was the Generations hotel restaurant. Our lake view upper floor room was just what we requested when booking our accommodations.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels