Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

had a beach view - darn it was COLD outside in Nov

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Lighting in the bathroom could be brighter.
Location: Everything within walking distance and hiking trails are a short drive away!
Coming to Lake Placid is always a great time! We enjoyed this hotel and the staff. Loved that it was so close - within - walking distance to all the restaurants and stores.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Perfect location. Great price

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Beautiful location on Mirror Lake with so many amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great In-town Location and Amenities

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Location: For us, the hotel is located within walking distance to great restaurants, shops, and many of the Olympic facilities.
We had a room that opened up to our own private beach on Mirror Lake. Beautiful and peaceful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Surprisingly disapointing.

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: two of three staff members that I dealt with were very courteous and the bathroom in our room was exceptional.
Cons: We left after one night even though we paid for two. Here's why. #1. Deluxe room was deceivingly pictured online. There are two styles. One is vastly different than the other. We got 'the other'. #2 Ceiling paper and wall paper were tearing/pealing. (I have pictures) #3. There was no armchair at all in the room. #4. There were two appliances and a lamp all plugged into a 3 way in a single outlet. #5. The floor is not level. You can see the refrigerator tilting. #.6 The deck is 2 1/2 ft wide, only wide enough to stand, not sit. #7. Direction signs in motel are very unclear. One was actually in back of you as you got off the elevator. Like a maze to find the restaurant. #8. Once at the restaurant, upon entering, there was a horrible burning electrical type smell throughout. We left the restaurant. #8. The curtains in the motel room were filthy. #9. The rugs throughout the motel in spots were not vacuumed. #10. One of the staff members acted like she was in a hurry and anxious to get me out of her hair. On a positive note two other staff members were very courteous and the bathroom in our room was exceptional.
Location: The location is good but the parking is cramped and minimal. There is always plenty to do in Lake Placid; shops, restaurants, beautiful landscape.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great food

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Confusing room set up
Location: Great shopping
Nice pool and hot tub Nice restaurant Would go again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Upstate NY

Amazing view of the lake and mountains.

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: What's not to like.
Location: Main street...shopping and good restaurants within walking distance. Also, main entrance to the Olympic stadium/od skating rink..
If I get back to Lake Placid the Golden Arrow is where I will stay. The staff is wonderful and if there is a problem they take care of it immediately. The only thing I would do differently is ask for a handicapped room. I feel safer if I have grab bars in the bathroom. Also, the restaurant at the hotel was very good and so was its wait staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Great location right on the lake

Posted Sep 18, 2016
The hotel is very convoluted because of lots of additions. Easy to get lost. The best part is being on Main Street ,which is very cool and having a beachfront on Mirror Lake. Boats,paddle boards , etc are available free. Beautiful lake. Helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central New York

Relaxing and hassle free

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: View, cleanliness, decor, accommodations.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Centrally located and within walking range between the Olympic Arena complex and downtown shopping strip. The Lake Placid Boat tour is nearby.
From the moment we entered the lobby and reported to the desk I knew our stay was going to be pleasant. The receptionist was kindly and helpful, and not prone to giving orders. Guest services were great as was the Generations hotel restaurant. Our lake view upper floor room was just what we requested when booking our accommodations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Pros: Location, lake behind it, rooms were fine
Cons: Update rooms a little, I don't know how they would increase bathroom counter space. Pillows could be more fluffy. Internet was a little slow
Location: Olympic museum very close, many restaurants within walking distance and shopping is there too. Lake is lovely and relaxing
Check in was quick, room was fine, beds were comfortable. Bathroom counter was a bit small for toiletries for four people. Bathroom fan had dust encrusted on it. Mini fridge and microwave were convenient as well as the keurig coffee maker. There is a tiny balcony looking out onto the parking lot. The lake is right behind the hotel, a beautiful view in the lobby, cute beach behind hotel, lake is beautiful. You can try the kayaks and canoes on the lake, complimentary. There are comfortable chaise lounges on the small beach. Room was quiet and maid service was good. Overall was a good experience if a little pricey, it's convenient to many eateries and the Olympic museum. Lake placid is beautiful
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2016 by Olivia Z. , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review the Golden Arrow. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed our fantastic location and beach. I will definitely take all of your notes to my managers here at the resort. I hope you will stay with us again soon! Cheers, Olivia Z. Director of Marketing Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Decent hotel on the lake!

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Hotel was okay! We stayed at other hotels in lake placid that we liked better.... The room smelled like vomit! The decor is old and needs an update. Place was crowded and loud. Service at the restaurant was horrible no wonder it was always empty. We waited for 20 minutes to be seated while the restaurant was empty. We only ate there twice both times had to wait forever to be seated and for the waiter to come and take our order.... I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE!!! Price was not cheap!