Ratings based on 1,199 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice little town

Posted Nov 20, 2017
The resort was beautiful. The town was small but was great. Lots of shops, restaurants, and bars. All walking distance from the resort. Had a great weekend. Would definitely come back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 1000 Islands

Family friendly hotel

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Pros: The cleanliness; the bed comfort.
Location: Easy walk out of the hotel onto the main street of Lake Placid. Great location.
Our room was on the 2nd floor, facing the lake, but you couldn't see much of the lake. The room was clean, very comfortable, excellent lighting, had a mini fridge, all the amenities you'd expect and love. The bathroom was very modern and very well maintained/decorated. Kudos to that! The 4th floor pool was clean and easy to get to; elevators and parking area were well maintained. Didn't realize that this is a dog-friendly hotel...many dogs barking out in the courtyard, there was a dogfight, and people left their dogs on the balconies for extended times. Other than that, the stay was very relaxing and well worth the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montreal

Perfect stay

Posted Nov 12, 2017
The staff is perfect and did everything to make us enjoy our stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017 by Matthew, Hotel Management
Dear Steve, I couldn't agree more - we are so proud of our exceptional team and so pleased to see you enjoyed your experience as much as we enjoyed hosting you. I hope you'll visit again, soon! Warm Regards, Matthew General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from queensbury, ny

Waterfront rooms-very nice

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Location: Anything outdoors. GET OUTSIDE!
Nice views No "funny smells"! Clean room Friendly staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2017 by Matthew, Hotel Management
Dear Ed, Thank you for sharing your experience and spectacular photo. We truly had a pleasure hosting you and I hope we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Thank you again for sharing! Warm Regards, Matthew
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Westport,MA

Hotel has Great location .

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Pros: Breakfast at Dancing Bears restaurant and location of the hotel.
Cons: Quality of the equipment should reflect ratings and price. Cleanse of the room , moldy shower curtain is unecceptable !
Location: Great location ,easy acces to town . Walking around the lake,visit High Falls Gorage,visit Olympic Museum.
We have had good breakfast at the Dancing Bears restaurant .Room was dated and did feel unfresh.TV set quality was below standard , bed test of coffee from cheep mashine ,very disappointing . We requested the shower curtain to be replaced due to pink and black mold on it and it was the evening we arrived..Overol rating on the website and price per night is very misleading. We loved Lake Placid in the fall and would like to be back .
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2017 by Matthew, Hotel Management
Dear Tamara, Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent visit, we are disappointed you didn't enjoy your stay. While our team is proud to make sure our guest rooms are incredibly clean, we will certainly bring your experience to their attention as a reminder to always attend to it. Our property has recently switched our guest room coffee machines to Keurig machines and we provide our guests with decaf and regular Green Mountain Coffee, a local favorite. If this is not your preference, we also offer Gevalia coffee in our lobby to all of our guests. We hope we'll be able to provide you with a second opinion! Warm Regards, Matthew General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Can't trust the staff

Posted Oct 21, 2017
I like a place I can trust with my belongings. High Peaks Resort is not that place. I checked out at 11am on a Sunday and within a few hours I remembered that I left a favorite jacket hanging in my room closet. I immediately called figuring they could grab it and set it aside for me to pick up later. Instead, I received the run-around of web site reports and phone calls. Ultimately, 3 days later, they never found my jacket, despite no other check-ins in that room. Now I'm left to believe that they either recovered and lost the jacket or it was stolen by staff. It's a nice enough hotel but if I can't trust my belongings there, I'll stay at one of the many other beautiful properties nearby on my next trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice hotel but wrong room.

Posted Oct 7, 2017
The only negative is that we were given a first floor handicap accessible room with a shower that was very difficult. The reason given was that we booked through Expedia and that was why we got an inferior room. Other than that it was a well located and clean. No view because of the first floor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2017 by Matthew, Hotel Management
Dear Rob, Thank you for sharing your experience, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit overall. While we certainly don't consider our accessible rooms inferior we understand that special design features like roll-in shower and wall mounted vanity may come as a surprise if you are not expecting such modifications. It is our goal to ensure all guests receive the room they reserve and reviewing the reservation information we received from Expedia, it does look like the room you had reserved was one of our accessible rooms. Perhaps this is what our team member meant when they explained that you received a handicap room because of your reservation through Expedia? We do apologize if this was not clearly explained and will work with our team to ensure they are more clear when speaking with guests. I hope we'll have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon! We would love to share our incredible view with you! Warm Regards, Matthew General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't recommend

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Rooms weren't clean throw up in bathroom sinks plus garbage around the floor come on guys ..4 star hotel funny .. great view but bad management ..
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2017 by Matthew, Hotel Management
Greetings, Thank you for taking a moment to share your concerns. We are disappointed your experience did not meet your standards, nor our own. What you report is absolutely unacceptable and we will certainly work to ensure such an oversight does not happen again. I hope we'll have the opportunity to offer you a second opinion. Warm Regards, Matthew General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Perfect location in the town, room was the right size, washroom was perfect, new shower. out door pool was cool. short walk to the lake and all the boats and canoes were free with hotel purchase. no issues, excellent time. lots of parking space. booking in was fast and phone call to front desk was all that was required for check out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017 by Matthew, Hotel Management
Greetings, Thank you for sharing your experience! We are so pleased to read you enjoyed your time at High Peaks Resort and our facilities and hope you'll join us again soon! Even in winter, we make great use of Mirror Lake! Warm Regards, Matthew General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Ontario

Nice hotel close to everything good view

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Although we booked a king waterfront room on line, the check in staff recommended we stay in the main section of the hotel in a king room with a better view of the water. They were right.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017 by Matthew, Hotel Management
Dear Bill and Marg, Thank you for joining us and for sharing your experience! We're so glad we have the perfect room with a view for you! Warm Regards, Matthew General Manager