Ratings based on 154 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great hotel and awesome location

Posted Apr 15, 2017
I definitely recommend this Hotel North Woods, the room was amazing, I didn't request for a room with a view to the lake, but I got it (I believe due to low season but still awesome) Hotel located in the heart of Main St. which is where everything is located. Amazing sunrise, great staff!! Also there is a bar downstairs and the bartender is really cool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by Pam Simmons-Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review of your recent stay. We appreciate your kind words about our hotel and fantastic staff. We work very hard to give every guest an exceptional experience, and I'm delighted that we were able to exceed your expectations. We hope that you will stay with us again next time you are in Lake Placid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Perfect location, nice rooms

Posted Apr 4, 2017
First time staying here and I would most likely stay again. Only had a slight issue in the bathroom, but otherwise the room was clean and comfortable. Dogs are welcome at the hotel and Lake Placid is very dog friendly. LP is a great little town with a lot to do; shopping, outdoor recreation, great restaurants and bars. The hotel sits in the middle of town so it's easy to walk everywhere. Just be warned though, there is very limited parking at the hotel....There are municipal parking lots very close.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by Pam Simmons-Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your great review. I'm so glad that you appreciated how dog-friendly the hotel is and what a quaint village we are located in the middle of. Thank you for being understanding of our limited parking. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us gauge what we are doing right and areas we can improve upon. We hope that you will come and stay with us again the next time you are in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Good choice and well located

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Great location and good value hotel. Out room was comfortable but needed a bit of maintenance. It was renovated and very functional. We were there on a ski trip. Staff was helpful and check in/out was quick with no complications. Housekeeping was good. I have stayed at this hotel 3 times and I've always been satisfied. It is actually improving over the years. I recommend this hotel and will go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2017 by Pam Simmons- Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. We also appreciate your continued business and your valuable feedback. It helps us know what we are doing right, and ways that we can improve our facility and our services. We look forward to hosting you again next time you are in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kitchener

Right in the middle of town.

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Hot water seemed to be at a premium but might have been a issue somewhere I didn't ask. Overall not the plaza. Just a great place to kick off your boots and relax with a couple of drinks after a long day skiing or boarding.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by Pam S. - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of your recent stay. We are delighted that our central location and on-site restaurants were able to create the perfect environment for your trip. We hope that you will stay with us again the next time you are in Lake Placid
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

presidents weekend

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Room was cold and heater was very loud, other than that out stay was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by Pam Simmons-Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for providing your candid feedback for our hotel. I am sorry that your room was colder than expected, and our heater was too loud for you. We always keep a few space heaters around for those who desire an extra toasty room. I'm sorry we didn't get one of those up to you. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality that we offer to our valued guests. Thank you for choosing Hotel North Woods for your stay. We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location

Posted Feb 9, 2017
For this hotel you are basically paying for the location. The hotel is right on the strip and you can walk to the shops and restaurants (for breakfast I would recommend the Breakfast Club). The room I was in had a Kcup coffee maker, mini fridge and microwave. The view of the lake was nice. The walls are thin and you can hear other people's televisions and people in the hallways. There is free hotel parking, but the space is very limited, don't count on finding a spot. There is a municipal lot only a minute walk away. When parking there make sure to pay attention to when free parking ends. The hotel staff told me that there is free parking until 11 am, this is not the case during the week and I received a ticket.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2017 by Pam S- Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hotel North Woods, and for providing your candid feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed the location of our hotel as well as the lake views. I'm so sorry that you ran into issues with our limited parking. The free parking in the municipal lot ends at 8am, not 11am. Had we known that our miscommunication caused you to get a ticket we would have gladly reimbursed you for it. I hope that this did not detract too much from your stay. Reviews such as yours are vital for improving the service and quality we offer our guests. We hope that you will come back and stay with us again the next time you are in Lake Placid.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location. No parking.

Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Hotels
The Hotel is perfectly located right on Main St. Parking is non existent unless you arrive during the week and never move your car. Had to pay to park in municipal lot which is not far but was very inconvenient as we were there for a ski race and had lots of skis, equipment, etc to carry. Room itself is nicely updated but the smell from the BBQ downstairs can be overwhelming.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed our centralized location. I'm so sorry that you ran into issues with out limited parking. Parking has, unfortunately always been an issue here. The hotel pre-dates the widespread use of automobiles and as such wasn't designed with a large parking lot. It is something that we are working on, but haven't been able to solve yet, due in part to our fantastic location. I sincerely hope that this didn't detract too much from your stay. You would always be welcome to pull up to the back entrance for the purpose of loading and unloading your equipment. I hope that you will give us another chance to show you what an amazing experience we offer our guests. Pam Simmons Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
by Andrew

Posted Feb 5, 2017 on Hotels
Need to plow the parking lot. 2 feet of snow made parking dangerous.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hotel North Woods. I'm so sorry that you had issues with our parking lot. We've had a difficult season so far as snow and ice build-up. We try our best to keep on top it, but when the lot is full it can be very difficult to maneuver in order to clean out the lot. We hope that this didn't detract too much from your stay. We will continue to work diligently to maintain the parking lot., and hope that you will join us again the next time you are in Lake Placid. Again thank you for your review. It is vital to us for improving the service and quality we offer our guests. Pam Simmons Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from rochester, NY

Great location in the center of town!

Posted Jan 30, 2017
We had a great experience here! Even the small parking lot wasn't a huge deal, our second night, there were no spaces left in the hotel lot, but a municipal lot was almost as close and no charge overnight.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2017 by Pam Simmons- Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel North Woods. Our team is very pleased to hear that the accommodations offered were the perfect choice for your recent visit. We look forward to hosting you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right in town!

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Right in town, with in walking distance to everything. Staff was friendly and efficient. Elevator was rickety but hey there are stairs! Room was spacious. Could have been cleaner. Would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by Pam Simmons- Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guests. We hope to see you again next time you are in the area.