Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location

Posted Feb 9, 2017
For this hotel you are basically paying for the location. The hotel is right on the strip and you can walk to the shops and restaurants (for breakfast I would recommend the Breakfast Club). The room I was in had a Kcup coffee maker, mini fridge and microwave. The view of the lake was nice. The walls are thin and you can hear other people's televisions and people in the hallways. There is free hotel parking, but the space is very limited, don't count on finding a spot. There is a municipal lot only a minute walk away. When parking there make sure to pay attention to when free parking ends. The hotel staff told me that there is free parking until 11 am, this is not the case during the week and I received a ticket.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2017 by Pam S- Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hotel North Woods, and for providing your candid feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed the location of our hotel as well as the lake views. I'm so sorry that you ran into issues with our limited parking. The free parking in the municipal lot ends at 8am, not 11am. Had we known that our miscommunication caused you to get a ticket we would have gladly reimbursed you for it. I hope that this did not detract too much from your stay. Reviews such as yours are vital for improving the service and quality we offer our guests. We hope that you will come back and stay with us again the next time you are in Lake Placid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from rochester, NY

Great location in the center of town!

Posted Jan 30, 2017
We had a great experience here! Even the small parking lot wasn't a huge deal, our second night, there were no spaces left in the hotel lot, but a municipal lot was almost as close and no charge overnight.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2017 by Pam Simmons- Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel North Woods. Our team is very pleased to hear that the accommodations offered were the perfect choice for your recent visit. We look forward to hosting you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right in town!

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Right in town, with in walking distance to everything. Staff was friendly and efficient. Elevator was rickety but hey there are stairs! Room was spacious. Could have been cleaner. Would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by Pam Simmons- Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guests. We hope to see you again next time you are in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice, top 5 in lake placid.

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Could steam clean all the carpets in the hotel, slight smell. Otherwise no complaints
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2017 by Pam, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for reviewing your experience at Hotel North Woods. We strive to provide you with the best possible experience. We are very sorry that you noticed a slight smell in the carpets, and hope that you understand that is not what we would expect you to encounter here. We take pride in the cleanliness of our hotel and will address the issue immediately. Thank you again for your business, and we hope that you will give us another chance to show you what an amazing experience we offer to our guests. Pam Simmons-Front Office Manager, Hotel North Woods
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Smelly elevator!!

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Pros: Location
Location: Restaurants are right outside the hotel.
Elevator smells really really bad!! Hotel is very small but it's on main street and there are choices of restaurants right outside.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location.

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Right next to the lake. Seconds away from shuttles.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel in the village

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Older hotel, well maintained. Good size rooms. Reasonable price. Location in the middle of the village.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Venue! Get Lake View!

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff. Great room. Clean. Free parking.
Stayed there for a weekend.The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. We arrived 5 hours before check-in, staff still gave us a parking pass and asked for our room to be prepped immediately. Staff gave great food recommendations as well. The lake view was unimpeded and very nice. The front office staff helped with any question and or recommendation. Great location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Nice hotel, poor staff (check-in and housekeeping)

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Location and cleanliness
Cons: Better training of staff!
Location: Right on the main strip. Many stores and restaurants. Free parking
Started off with bad service at check in. Initial person at desk was rude and completely uninterested in helping us. Then he proceeded to give us a room that was already occupied. Luckily when we walked in, the other people were out. Had to go back to the desk where the manager was very apologetic and helpful. The following day we left the room at around 10am and returned at about 5pm, to find our room had yet to be serviced. We found a cleaning lady, who we told to never mind cleaning our room, but could we get some clean towels. About 1hr later we opened our door to find that clean towels had been left outside on the floor in the hallway. Although the hotel was very well located, and the room was very nice and clean, I would hesitate to stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampton Bays, NY

Super convenient

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: The location, the breakfast, room size.
Cons: Cleaning staff, the elevators (seemed old and made noises of death)
Location: In the center of Main Street. All restaurants, bars steps away.
The location is great except for the lack of parking. The restaurant/bar and breakfast restaurant are both plusses. Our room was not well cleaned when we arrived (old cups and napkins were down the side of the dresser) and our room was not cleaned during our stay even though we were gone all day. Rooms are very large and comfortable. Staff seemed very friendly and when we had a plumbing issue were very responsive. Overall, I would stay there again and with a few tweaks I would give it a much higher rating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2016 by Tracy Smith, Hotel Management
Dear Kammy, Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel North Woods. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the size of your room, our great location on Main Street and breakfast in our Cabin Grill. However, I apologize if the cleanliness of your room did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and services we offer to our guests. We take pride in our cleanliness and will address the issue immediately. Your loyalty to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon so that we can provide with with a true Hotel North Woods experience.