Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and affordable

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Location and cost
Cons: Facilities need updating
Location: Walk to town. Right on IMPL run and bike course
Querky but comfortable. Very affordable for Ironman
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Syracuse, NY

Sorry, no flat screen TVs

Posted May 3, 2016
Pros: Location, value.
Cons: All rooms need a facelift but they are clean and servicable.
Location: High Peak trail heads just up the road. Downtown Lake Placid is not a bad walk.
The Prague is a good value if all you want is a clean comfortable place to wash up and sleep after a long day hiking or skiing in the Adirondacks. They've been under new management for about a year now and are slowly making improvements to what was starting be look like a neglected travel lodge. Even under the old management, I always enjoyed the value of the Prague. There are no flat screen TVs but the ones they have work fine and there are plenty of stations. There is free WiFi and reception is mostly good. The pool is actually quite nice and is situated overlooking a beautiful wild area with a pond. The onsite manager is a great guy and will do everything in his power to make your stay comfortable. Located just down the road from the High Peak trail heads, and across the street from one of Lake Placid's finest restaurants, this is my favorite place to stay.
4 out of 5
by Jennifer from Coaticook

Nice getaway

Posted Jan 19, 2016 on Hotels
Although a little dated this property was super close to main street and shopping. The caretaker was very nice and went out of his way to make our stay perfect :)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Cons: TV could use a replacement, clean the microwave
Location: Everything. Lake Placid city was right at the corner
Our experience was quite lovely! It was a perfect room for three people, with a very well supplied kitchenette. We had a beautiful view of the little creek behind it. It is a rustic looking older inn but it was great! Slept very comfortably, we were able to hangout in the cozy room and loved it. Definitely would go back
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Poorly maintained old houses

Posted Dec 31, 2015
Pros: well. hard to say - nothing
Cons: hotel needs to be rated as 1/2 star
Location: you can drive to the mountain - 9 miles, or to main street - where all restaurantsa rae - 1 mile
That was my worst experience in several years. The only good thing anout room was a new renovated bathroom. Do not be allured by jacuzzi in the room, it is a 5 feet long tub with jets.I was not able to vit into it. Room equippe with >huge HD tv" - an old 25 inch analog tv that you cannot connect roku box ( no hdmi ports) . well you can use another piece of electronc - there is a Video cassette player connected to tv - i do not emember when i saw VHS tape last time. The thermostat is funny - there is a pem drawn arrows on the heater - + and - amd you need t guess... the nice view to the swamp from the window, that is called pond. The heated poll.... is closed for the season there is no walls next yo door entrance - renovation is in progress.. the kitchennete is "equipped " with dish wash - the two staff members can come sometimes and wash dishes. (if you do not foget to tip them in advance). if you need assistnce - well dress up and go to next house - there is no lobyy, no phone in the room, you need to find housekeeping by yourself
4 out of 5
by alan from ny

Relaxing in Placid

Posted Oct 2, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice staff. Great neighborhood. Make sure to go down to the stream behind it. Room is dated, but comfortable. Heat worked, we needed it. Well worth the $130.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet

Posted Sep 26, 2015
Our rooms were older but very clean. We were minutes from the main strip in lake placid but the setting was so quiet and serene. The pool was perfectly maintained. No shampoos or lotions were available and no telephones in the rooms but those are little things that don't matter to me. The manager greeted us as we came into the driveway and was amazing! We gave us great ideas of things to do. We are definitely going back
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A night in Placid

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Location: We had our own little bar crawl, which was nice because the motel was close to the main strip.
We enjoyed our room! It was very spacious, the full kitchen was very nice. Although we left our ice in the freezer. (sorry!) The bathroom was excellently stocked and the tub was lovely. The beds were also comfortable. The only issue was the central air wasn't working. Other than that it was a lovely little spot.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Haunted house

Posted Oct 12, 2014
The room was obviously from the 1950's, back then in better condition. It is a cheap stay with heat and hot water but that it is.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wilbraham

terrible experience

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: Nothing, except for the nice lady who showed us to our suite.
Cons: Everything!
Location: The location is great, and is close to main street, hiking, movies, golf, and shopping.
Well, where shall i begin. The outward appearance of the Inn was awful .Not very inviting. Needs paint like no tomorrow. Looks like it has not been painted since the 70's. Our room was the 2 queen and 2 double beds suite. the kitchen was dirty and smelled awful! the room with the 2 queen beds had cobwebs on the ceiling! the blinds looks like they have not been dusted since the 70"s.The bed spread was dirty but the bed sheets were clean though.The (lake) in the back view is gone, it is now a stream.(time to change your description).The bathrooms looked like they had some updating but unfortunately just paint.The shower curtain had mold on it and the surround in the bath was falling apart and had mold behind it.The whole place is still stuck in the 70's and it shows! The pool was also dirty and would not let my girls swim.