Ratings based on 277 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, reasonably priced.

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Staff was friendly, cottage was great Was in a great location. Close to everything Lake Placid has to offer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Location: Our suggestion would be to buy the Olympic passport, it makes good economic sense if you're planning on doing more than a couple of attractions.
We enjoyed our stay, it wasn't fancy, but we didn't need it to be. It had great curb appeal and parking and we enjoyed having our own porch to sit out on at night. The staff were pleasant and check-in was super easy. It was in a good location, we weren't right downtown, but the free trolley service did come out to the Lodge. Our only concern was there were 3 resident cats which we didn't know about and my husband, although he likes cats, is allergic to them. He had no issues with his allergies while we were there, we thought about watching tv one evening, but we didn't because we figured his allergies would definitely bother him in the living area.Other than that, it was a great experience and we'd certainly go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Quiet, clean B&B

Posted Jul 5, 2017
We only spend one night at the Spruce, but it was a nice stay. Our room was nice and clean, and we had a private bathroom right next door. Breakfast in the morning was perfect to get some energy before our hike, and we had the chance to sit around the table with other guests and have a nice chat. Lovely stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Nice cottage in the mountains close to town

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Comfy, clean cottage that is close to Lake Placid. It is exactly what it purports to be.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 'Tween 128 and 495, MA

It's a good value; I got a good rest.

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: Convenient, economical, quiet, clean, good bed, hot shower.
Cons: Fine as is. A few maintenance things need to get done, but they're all minor and esthetic, nothing functional.
Location: Great hiking, climbing, biking, water sports. The Lake Placid Olympic Training Center is a half-mile away.
I needed a bed for one night, so I wasn't looking for a place that would "wow" me--just a good place to rest, and this was exactly that. Not perfect, not luxury--sure, there is some peeling wallpaper if you look for it, and a stained ceiling tile or two--but everything you need to be comfortable for a night and a morning is there. If you're used to a chatty, exuberant host at B&Bs, you may be disappointed: here's your keys, here's your room, there's our book with all the answers to your questions--bye. Hey, I get it: it takes work to run a B&B, and at times chatting is a luxury. Things were much more congenial after breakfast; got some good conversation, and then it was time to leave.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VT

Nice B&B, convenient location

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Cozy basic B&B with good sized room and bathroom. Continental breakfast with delicious homemade breads. Three friendly cats downstairs.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Paula

Posted Jan 25, 2017 on Hotels
First time at a B&B and was great. It was a perfect location for our activities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great B&B

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Exactly what I needed for a weekend stay, and the homemade bread was amazing!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good points, will stay again. Two peeves

Posted Dec 11, 2016 on Hotels
I like Spruce Lodge, the owner and staff, have stayed there before and will stay there again. Pet peeves however are the late breakfast start (8am) and lack of bedside lighting in both of the last two rooms I stayed in.