Ratings based on 228 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Grand old hotel. Great owners

Posted May 23, 2017
Beautiful old hotel. Excellent location! The great room is gorgeous. The rooms are adequate, updated bathrooms. Overall, the hotel is a little tired looking, but the beds were decent. The walls are thin, so you could hear your neighbours talking. The owners are super friendly and helpful. The onsite BBQ place was pretty tasty, but is only open for lunch and early dinner (closes at 8:30). Parking was easy, WIFI was great, hot water was on point, and free morning coffee.
1 out of 5
by Deborah

Posted Mar 1, 2017 on Hotels
disappointed, inn keepers did not go out of way for anything
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Truly awful hotel.

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
This is a truly awful hotel. I arrived late, so arranged for key to be left on checkin desk. Key didn't work for my room. When I checked, the key was for a different room to the one listed so I went to the correct room and to my horror walked in on other guests. I went back to reception and climbed over the desk to get a key out of the pigeonholes for correct room. Awful experience for me & other guests, which shows hotel in v poor light and also highlighted the complete lax security. The room was very poor, I suspect it hadn't been renovated since the 1932 Olympics! Very old damaged wooden furniture, awfully weak shower, horrible bathroom set-up. Lake Placid is amazing, this hotel is at the other end of scale.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice classic hotel.

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: The staff was very friendly and helpful with questions and requests. The hotel was quiet and the beds were comfortable.
Cons: I wish there was a desk in the room.
Location: it's a few block walk to the main downtown strip, there is great shopping there and lot's to do.
The staff was very nice and helpful. The hotel has charm with it unique design. It has a large sitting room lobby with a fire place where people can gather.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orono, ME

Classic Hotel

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Owners on site at a classic hotel - incredibly friendly staff. Rooms are cozy, newly renovated bathroom, comfortable bed. Walking distance to town. Loved the lobby seating area. We got in at 1 AM, our key was left in the front desk for us. Walking distance to downtown Main Street. Hands nice meal at the on site restaurant. Would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Mark

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
Best room I ever had at the pines
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff was extremely nice

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Very riendly staff, clean room. Rustic but needs some modern updating.
5 out of 5
by William

Great place to stay!

Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
My wife and I visit family in Lake Placid every year and always look forward to staying here. Wonderful hotel with very nice owners that is super conveniently located and full of charm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Great value and super location

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: Location and old charm
Cons: Quietness of the plumbing
Location: A 5 minute walk to town
We enjoyed the old charm of this vintage hotel. A wonderful common room / living room off the lobby and a great front porch. A very friendly and welcoming owner / hostess. It is a dated facility, but it has everything you need and it was a great bang for your buck.