Ratings based on 242 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Affordable and great location

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: A 5 min walk to downtown, affordable price, great staff
Cons: Have a meeting with housecleaning staff, front door doesn't self close
Location: Walk to town
I really wanted to love this hotel. Very 1920s looking from the outside with awesome-looking lobby. Staff is top notch. However once I got to the room, I found hair (not mine) and spider webs everywhere. In my bed, on my pillow, on the shower curtain, on the floor. Everything else was pretty clean otherwise. I liked the window A/C unit to help drown out noise. My visit was during low season so hotel was pretty quiet but floor would shake every time someone walked by.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Great Bed

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Nice little hotel that is in a great location; only a 5 minute walk to downtown and short drive ADK Loj. Would recommend staying there if your looking for a place to sleep with a really comfortable bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Staying in History

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: The owners are keeping it rustic and throwback, but also clean and fresh.
Cons: You website :)
Location: Super close to downtown main street but just back enough to have peace.
If you like history, old things, and living life the way it was, this is a great place to stay. Sure you can hear people walk in hallways, sure there is wall paper, ya there are physical keys to open doors, but hey... that's what life was like. Anyone who likes Wes Anderson will enjoy this spot. Negative reviews had me scared but once I arrived... I was happy. If you only like 21st centre hotels with goddy marble back-light walls and doors that unlock with your iPhone... this won't be your place. I have abandoned a few hotels upon arrival in the past... this is not one of them. Just remember, it's romantic history... not yaggerbomb sleek.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and very comfort

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Very clean
Location: Nearby main part of town
Great staff very helpful would recommend to stay if you like good food and good location
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg, MB

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Cons: hotel is very old in need of upgrading, including a breakfast would be nice as there are no restaurants close enough for breakfast. No elevator
Location: location is a little far from the main street
for the price we paid, hotel was a major disappointment
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Walking distance from resturants and marina.

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Pros: Location. Rate.
Cons: clean-up.
Location: Boat tour. Resturants, Night life.
Staff friendly but room dirty. The retrofit of water sprinklers and plumbing is not attractive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

It is a great hotel with a distinctive history.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: It has a distinctive history; is well-located, within walking distance of shops and restaurants; and is more 'economic than many of the other hotels.
We had a fabulous time. It is a very friendly and welcoming family-run hotel. We were well looked after and enjoyed the conversations with the owners.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Nice old style hotel.

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Overall ok with no elevator so problems carrying luggage. Old colonial style common area. Nice owner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mountain Charm

Posted Aug 1, 2017
If you are looking for world class furnishings and amenities, I suggest you look elsewhere. This hotel has a lot of charm and is beautiful in it's simplicity. The room and bathroom were clean, the bed was comfortable, the hotel staff were pleasant and welcoming, and it was an overall enjoyable experience. It is an old hotel, but rather than scoff at what it may lack compared to more modern chains, enjoy it's rustic charm. The hotel does not have elevators, but I called 2-3 weeks ahead of my arrival and the front desk was able to secure a room on the first floor for me.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2017 by Jill, Hotel Management
Thank you so much - We would love to welcome you back! Be sure to come visit soon!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scarsdale

Comfortable, Friendly, Convenient

Posted Jul 30, 2017
The Pines is a convenient way to experience the Lake Placid area. The staff was friendly and the rooms were adequate for our needs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2017 by Jill, Hotel Management
Thank you Jeffrey - We are so happy you enjoyed your stay - hope to see you again!