Ratings based on 189 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New England

Gemutlich with a capital G.

Posted Feb 16, 2016
Pros: Friendly.
Cons: Please serve a Euro/German breakfast in your lovely front room.
Location: The Bear Restaurant is a great advise.
It's a great old school classic small hotel with terrific staff/owners. Easy walk to main street even when it's minus 22. It's pre hipster which is a requirment to be hip.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Reasonable value.

Posted Oct 31, 2015
Appearance from the street misleading. Rustic and attractive inside.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A classic that could use some recharming

Posted Jul 15, 2015 on Hotels
had a pleasant experience. appears to be a bit run down. classic hotel. our room could use some freshening and decorating.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from syracuse, ny

Unique hotel!

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Great bed! Brand new temprapedic mattress and linens felt very rich. The room is small but perfect for me and my man. The bathroom was large; bathtub was double rimmed clawed foot. Very relaxing after climbing 16 mtn. miles. The only downfall is that there are no elevators. They had only four floors but after the weekend I had - I needed it!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 4, 2015 on Hotels
Pleasant stay at the Inn. Staff is very friendly.
4 out of 5
by Chris from NY

Very Basic

Posted May 28, 2015 on Hotels
This room is very basic, so if you just looking for a cheaper place to crash for the night and to shower in the morning, in a location close to downtown Placid, this is your place.
4 out of 5
by Alma from St. Johnsville, New York

Saturday, May 23rd.

Posted May 27, 2015 on Hotels
My sister-in-law and I had a beautiful day and night. Friendly staff, room was clean, comfortable bed. The only thing the room lacked was refrigerator, but everything else was fantasic. Thank you.. We'll be back :)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Building Condition

Posted May 25, 2015
The building is too old, sound proofing is poor. Water pipe and heating system are old too.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in placid

Posted May 21, 2015
We had a wonderful time at the pines. The staff were helpful with showing us local bike routes and they even let us change into our bike gear after we had checked out. We will recommend the pines to anyone looking to stay in lake placid!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ski Weekend

Posted Mar 27, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed at The Pines for a ski weekend. Hotel is basic and kind of funky. Served us well. Owners are delightful!