Ratings based on 196 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Saratoga, ny

rustically beautiful resort hotel

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Pros: the rustic beauty
Cons: breakfast buffet food's temperature
Location: winter sports and summer trail hiking;canoeing
We stayed one night for our anniversary and it was worth it;the appointments were superb. Would stay again when the opportunity presents itself.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bewdley ON

Whiteface Lodge

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Pros: Everything. The atmosphere was captivating
Cons: None
Location: Great location near water with majour amenities within 1-2 miles. Would be a lovely walk to town
This is an amazing place and is close to amenities that make life more comfortable. Rooms are outfitted with stove, oven, microwave, fridge and washer/dryer combo. Just like home. Could not be happier with staff- amazing people. We were recommended to go here by a friend who goes often and we cannot thank him enough. The extra cost per night to what is gained at the lodge is worth more than the dollar value when compared to some of the same experiences on the town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto Canada

Beautiful facility with many activities

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Whiteface Lodge is a beautiful property with so much to do. From the bathrobes and slippers and giant cookies waiting on your arrival to the complementary skate rentals and hot chocolate in the yurt by the ice rink with a cognac and cigar offering in one of the viewing 'cabins', there were many thoughtful details. The games room even has a bowling alley and the movie theatre provides popcorn. With a spa and hair salon, which we didn't get to try, and even a tunnel to allow you to walk around the lodge in your robe if you wanted to get to the indoor/outdoor pool and hot tubs without going complete family get away. The only shortcoming was the staff- while friendly and well-meaning some appeared to be new and not fully trained. The concierge and reception desk staff could have been more indormative about the local offerings and even the facilities on the property- but there were daily bulletins about events going on. There was no turndown service which was not an issue except it was highlighted on a card by the bedside table. And when we had the buffet breakfast one morning and my husband ordered his from the menu because he hates cold food - his omelette took about an hour and the rest of us had already finished our meal. We asked a couple times to be told it would be just a few minutes the second time and an apology offered only the third time and when the food came. Then the bill came with an error. But valets were very helpful, and overall a wonderful stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Honolulu, HI

Best hotel experience

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Best hotel I ever stayed in. 5/5 awesome experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jerawy

Excellent hotel

Posted Nov 15, 2017
What a wonderful experience .. Great place .. The rooms are great and the service is wonderful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Marlton NJ

Excellent Place to stay in Lake Placid.

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Lot of activities. Food was awesome. We stayed in 3 bedroom suite and was perfect for a family of 5. Kids enjoyed the game room, ice cream parlor, movie theater, pool, and s’mores every night. We would like to go back during summer time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous lodge with Fantastic Service.

Posted Nov 9, 2017
This is a Gorgeous family friendly lodge that has superb service. Will definitely be going back.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Very bad and old . Carpet is dirty and smells.

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything. Needs a lot of work and change to improve, is dark and old
This lounge is very expensive and old. The only thing is there pools outside and hot tub,and fireplace outside and you smell like you smoke all day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

2 nights in heaven

Posted Oct 31, 2017
This place is simply awesome. We can’t wait to go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ballston Lake, NY

Wonderful hotel with lots of activities.

Posted Oct 24, 2017
We loved the pool and hot tubs. The rooms are large and the furnishings gave the resort a feeling of being in one of the old large Adirondack Camps yet with all the modern conveniences. There are many other cheaper places to stay in Lake Placid, but this is a special place that provides a lasting memory instead of just a comfortable place to spend the night.