Ratings based on 263 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not enough parking places on Friday night

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
Not enough parking places on Friday night. Very old furniture, not so clean room (spa building). Good breakfast, friendly service, very central. Slightly expensive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello, thank you for your review and for your visit to our hotel. I am very sorry about the faults in room cleaning. Cleanliness is very important to us as it is such a big factor in comfort of the stay. I will pass on your feedback to our cleaners. Furniture will be replaced soon in Standard rooms. Spa Superior rooms are now newer and I recommend that for your next possible stay. Nice to hear you liked breakfast, staff and location. I wish you warmly welcome again. Best regards, Marianne Partanen / Front Desk Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Historic castle hotel right next to the river dam

Posted Sep 20, 2015
Pros: I love the castle ambience, the history, the location and the breakfast.
Cons: Housekeeping only comes in to change towels, empty the trash, and make the beds. The bathtub, sink, toilet, and floor need to be cleaned daily, too.
Location: The hotel is right by the river and you can walk to the river dam, shopping, and restaurants. There are nice trails for hiking and biking.
We stayed at the beautiful castle hotel that's connected to the spa hotel via a tunnel. There are 2 saunas for ladies (only 1 for the men), a steam room that was so warm I could not stay for more than a few seconds because it was too difficult to breathe in there, 2 hot tubs, and a small pool. The river view from the third floor was lovely and the small balcony could fit a chair so I could sit and read. Across the street, there's a small museum. Restaurants and shopping are all within a 5 minute walking distance. Breakfast was better than the 4 and 5 star hotels in Heksinki with a delicious spread of fruit salad, fresh whole fruits, porridge, cheese, meat, breads, jams, sausages, eggs, pastries, salad, coffee, tea, and milk. We had dinner there once and it was fine. There are some bikes available for rent for 7 Euros a day and it's a great way to explore town and exercise at the same time. It's free if you take the bike out for only an hour or so. Our bed was made of two twin beds put together with medium firm pillows. The soft pillows were in the closet and you could request for firm pillows. We had a small desk and chair that was adequate for a laptop. There was also a winged chair and a telephone chair. They had a very cute kid's playroom with a castle and slide, dress-up clothes, train tracks, and duplos Legos.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woodland Hills, California

Attend a family gathering in Imatra.

Posted Sep 10, 2015
Pros: It was a nice experience, good location. I would stay there again.
Cons: Cannot think of anything.
Location: Did not spend much time in the area, but it was very convenient for our purpose.
Hotel was nice, well kept, clean room. Comfortable bed. We stayed in the Spa building. Dinner was nice, good food. I had a greyfish/avocado salad to start and then stroganoff, my husband had mushroom soup and then pepper steak. Restaurant service was slow, that is the only negative we can say about our stay at the hotel. I must say in their defense that they had a very large party in for dinner plus a couple of other large tables, but they should plan accordingly. Breakfast was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Historic hotel, well situated

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: Interesting history
Location: Central for the rapids
Nice historic hotel, very interesting and food was good (we had dinner and breakfast) but a bit disappointed to be in the less interesting modern spa rooms
1 out of 5
by Diego from Paris

4 star for this hotel is just a joke...

Posted Jul 19, 2015 on Hotels
Terrible hotel for a room at 165 euro! We stayed at the castle: room and bathroom super old and bad maintained. Breakfast just horrible. Personnel quite unfriendly. The spa is nothing special. The worst hotel I have been for a while...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

imatra visit

Posted May 26, 2015 on Hotels
Weekend getaway to visit the spa and the surrounding area. Hotel was okay, nice old hotel obviously has a long history - comment meant in a nice way. We however got a room in the new part of the hotel. The room was quite nice and comfortable with a balcony to enjoy the park like grounds and the river. No complaints about the room. Spa was just ok, quite small and were only a couple of people working. Pool and sauna area was also nicely done, however the hot tub was not actually hot but was only lukewarm at best. The front desk team was very helpful and polite as was the wait staff in the restaurant. Breakfast was adequate and kept well stocked although it was setup in a small room so it could get s little crowded. All in all a nice stay and good scenery in the surroundings but if you are looking for a true spa experience I'd suggest looking elsewhere.
4 out of 5
by Natalia from Saint- Petersbirg

Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels
Surrounding neibourhood and breakfast were wonderful. The furniture in the room of Spa-building was old. We enjoyed spa zone. There weren't many people in the spa during our staying
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Filthy hotel, not worth 4 stars, not even 3

Posted Jul 27, 2014 on Hotels
We stayed at the spa building. Room was really really filthy, everything was covered with thick layers of dust. We both got asthma and allergy symptoms at night. Also there was broken lamp and missing panels. Room was also really hot, over 30 degrees all the time. No air condition, there was only a tiny tiny fan, which just moved hot air little bit. Really uncomfortable room, we were happy to get out of there. Staff was really friendly and the castle building looks nice from the outside.
3 out of 5
by Dusty from Helsinki

Posted Mar 1, 2014 on Hotels
Fairly dated. Reception staff at check in was pretty unfriendly but then again that may be cultural differences. Check out staff were great.
5 out of 5
by jean luc from pori

great location wonderful view of the rapids

Posted Jan 1, 2014 on Hotels
Was great, very comfortable spa even the steam sauna was at this time out of order.